We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Hotel Tirreno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tirreno
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Parghelia
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were very happy at Hotel Residence Tirreno. Room was comfortable and service was excellent. When we asked for extra towels they appeared each day.Wi Fi signal wasn't strong enough in our room.It was a nice touch to get flip flops and a parting gift when we left. We enjoyed the pool and the beautiful private beach area.Staff was very helpful advising on areas to sightsee and restaurants in Tropea.We will recommend this hotel and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    114
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
154
210
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel, with excellent facilities and very helpful staff. Hotel has a good position just outside Tropea with large pool, good quality rooms and excellent food. A courtesy bus is available to take residents to the beach and the town and is used to pick up resisents from the local railway station. We fully recommend this hotel and would very much like to return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 169JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rende, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have organized our wedding in 2011 @ the Hotel Residence Tirreno and then we spent a couple of night at the Hotel. The unique location overlook the sea and Tropea coastline.
The staff has been fantastic - kind, professional, always smiling. The room was overlooking the pool and was spotless clean and quite ample.

Food in delicious (even when they have to cook for more than 120 people).
They are working with Germans' tour operators so most clients are coming from Germany.
The only minus is a certain lack of "socializing space" There is only a small bar by the pool (offering a limited selection of snacks, and popular ice cream brand. while they could offer more and maybe serve some "tartufo di pizzo) there is no lounge bar or indoor playing area.
on the other hand you are just 10 minutes away from a fantastic sea, and, if you have a car, no more than 20 minutes from Tropea and heading south you'll find Grotticelle beach and its fantastic scenario, while driving nord it is possible to hang out in Pizzo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jajahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Chose this property because we required the freedom of self catering apartments so this review is about the apartments and not the hotel. Both are kept very separate.
The apartments stand in one block overlooking the pool, 2 stories high. We were told we would have sea view from our first floor apartment which was not the case. Unfortunately the hedges have grown so high, this blocks out any lovely view over the pool, the sea and Tropea. BIG SHAME - its their unique selling point!!
The 2nd floor does have good views. The 2 bed apartments stand on each corner of the block, therefore 4 in total. When we first entered, we were shocked at how tiny the space was and rather 3* ish. The 'kitchenette' had a single bed in it and there were two tiny cupboards leading from this which were bedrooms plus bathroom (with no window). There were 4 of us so you can imagine how crammed we were, using the kitchen (maybe once per day for lunch) and bathroom constantly when onsite. The smells from the kitchen and bathroom permeated the air continuously, mainly damp or foodie smells (bin). It wasn't ideal and would have been better taking 2 x 1 bed apartments. The great point about Club Tirreno was its lovely swimming pool
(again shrubs too high so blocks sea view), closeness of the apartments to pool, the beach being just 5 mins drive and Tropea just 10 mins drive. This more than makes up for the tiny and basic accommodation. The kitchen was basic, we had to buy dish clothes, washing up liquid and sponge, kitchen roll, loo paper, cleaning liquid and basics like salt (!), oil, etc.
Shark Bay is the beach they use and its a real bonus to have free loungers and umbrella. Its beach was pale gravelley sand but the sea was crystal clear and warm. It had a large restaurant/cafe/ice cream place. What more do you need? The beaches are much nicer if you drive 20 minutes south to Capo Vaticano and its Groticelle beaches - beautiful with high green cliffs as back drops. Strangely, there was no bar/lounge area although there was a restaurant which we did not get to us as we always ate out. The only bar was the small circular one by the pool, we found this a little strange. There was a day of thunderstorms and it would have been great to head for the lounge bar, play cards and drink lots of cocktails but alas, this was not to be. The circular bar served a limited selection of snacks which were not very nice considering you are in the land of gastronomy. The hotel is used by 3 large tour operators in Germany so its predominately German clients. Overall, it was a strange experience that looked like it should have been a 4 star experience but only offered 3 star quality. Fantastic area for a holiday though, especially boat trip to Stromboli - well recommended although almost 2 hours to get there!

Room Tip: For the apartments, ensure you have 2nd floor to get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Tirreno half board in July which was great clean pool, rooms and the food lovely as well. The hotel staff Stephania, Antonio, Rosana can't do enough for you nothing is too much trouble big or small the bus waiting to collect us from the station was also a nice touch. There's not a lot in Parghelia lovely scenery and a trip to Shark beach is walkable and free sun loungers and umbrellas but if you dont fancy walking you can get the mini bus there and back designated times. If you want to go into Tropea the nearest town which is a bit more lively shops, bars etc fear not if the hotel bus gets full they will be back to get you. There are also a few shops, bars and restaurants in Parghelia which is a short walk from the hotel our bar of choice being the "American Bar" serving great cocktails (very strong) and also Ice cream good prices too the staff there very charming indeed especially the blonde man with a great sense of humour. Thanks we will be coming back at some point as do most of the people we were talking to whilst we were there...

Room Tip: Maybe go for a 1st floor rather than a ground floor we had a seaview but not that great and a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raveydavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Visited the hotel in July 2012 for 4 days with a big group of friends. The hotel does a few things very well but it is inconsistent in some aspects.

The good:
The entire property is spotless - rooms are grounds are so clean, wonderful. Service is very good as most of the staff is very helpful and friendly. Good location close to Tropea - beach is a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast was okay. Chose the Half Board option (good choice for a large group) dinner was excellent. We attended a wedding at the hotel which was impeccable - really wowed all of the guest. The bride and groom were really ecstatic with the results.

The bad:
The hotel needs a face lift, the rooms and the grounds are dated. Keep in mind that it does not look run down or abused, just dated. The lifeguard at the pool was brash and rude - we nicknamed him the "Pool Nazi" (you can imagine). It was so strange that lifeguard and the groundskeepers were tending to the maintenance of the pool on a busy Saturday morning at 11am. The pool was 75% full at this time and it was extremely distracting and inappropriate to be cutting the grass at that time. This only happened once but it still should not have happened.

All being said - this is a very good beach resort in southern Italy. Good value - go and soak up the local culture.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0r0nt0nianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is our second year in a row we checked in the Hotel Tirreno. 5 stars all the way through!. Food, Service ambiance and settings. The rooms are super clean!. We went with the "mezza pensione" breakfast and dinner and the meals were spectacular!.Every night was diverse choice and we were there for 14 nights! The beach is a short walk but the restaurant on the beach was also excellent!. The views are of an old town, beautiful sea and mountains!. What else can you ask for!. The hotel is family run and they offer the most dependable service in any aspect. They have a courtsey shuttle to the town of Tropea (1 km away) very frequently, This was great to avoid taking your car. They also offer excursions to various spots in the area and Sicily all in one day!.We highly recommend this Hotel for any family or coupe wanting to get the ultimate get away! For us, its worth the 10 hour flight from Canada to Hotel Tirreno!

Room Tip: Any room we found to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parghelia
3.3 mi away
BV Borgo del Principe
BV Borgo del Principe
#1 of 11 in Zambrone
516 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
982 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Village Eden
Hotel Village Eden
#2 of 21 in Tropea
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Residence
Hotel Piccolo Residence
#6 of 13 in Parghelia
101 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Ipomea Club
Hotel Ipomea Club
#1 of 2 in Santa Maria
222 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirreno

Property: Hotel Tirreno
Address: Contrada Cervo Snc, 89861 Parghelia, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Parghelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Parghelia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Parghelia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Parghelia
#2 Family Hotel in Parghelia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tirreno 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is situated in the district of Parghelia, just 1 km from Tropea and with a splendid view of the Tyrrhenian coast and the Aeolian Islands (Stromboli Vulcano). The resort consists of Hotel Rooms and Suites, both surrounded by voluptuous greenery. Some of the services offered: swimming pool with baby area and Jacuzzi area, private beach with umbrellas and sun beds, shuttle service to/from the private beach and Tropea city center, inside car parking, transfer from the railway stations of Tropea and Tropea and from Tropea harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Tirreno Hotel
Residence Tirreno Parghelia
Hotel Tirreno Italy/Calabria - Parghelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing