We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of Hotel Egli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Egli
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Andros
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Strategically placed in the best place in Andros town.
It is near everything, minimizing the number of stairs one has to climb every day to get to where the action is.
All is excellent. The rooms, the service, and the location. The only minus being the rather poor breakfast.
I will gladly revisit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNikolaidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We are a young couple living in Germany and just visited the island of Andros for the first time. Our stay in Aegli was fantastic and we would repeat anytime in the future. The hotels itself lies in the middle of the old town next to the main church of the city. It is an old house (previously a wealthy mansion) that has been active as a hotel since the 50s and has just been completely renovated and refurbished with a lot of love for the details. The standard of the rooms is closer to 5 than to 3 stars and that even with the eyes of experienced German travelers. The service offered by the family of the owners though is what makes the true difference. They will not stop short of anything you would like to have reviving greek traditional hospitality in its very best way, something you think Greeks tend to loose in modern times, well go visit this place and you will "find" it again... The island of Andros and especially the old capital are true jewels. Only 2h with the ship from mainland and then in 45 minutes you are within a neoclassic dream that has been renovated and maintained with moneys of the shipping tycoon families Goulandris and Empeirikos but also with the love of people like the owners of Aegli. Do not forget to visit the worldwide famous museum of modern art of Andros (Goulandris foundation) walk around the pedestrian zone of the old city and enjoy the walks to the mountains as well as drives through picturesque villages and ancient sites and the sunset in Batsi. Andros is an all time classic for all seasons of the year (recommending October-June) if you want to enjoy silence and Aegli is the place to be...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thegermantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel Egli is a real treasure. Situated in the middle of the Hora, it is close to all the shops, tavernas, cafeterias and the excellent Museum of Contemporary art.

It is a classical mansion lovingly restored, retaining all the original features, with meticulous attention to detail and with all the modern comforts. It is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms have been tastefully decorated, the beds are incredibly comfortable and the whole atmosphere is one of quiet gentility. It is furthermore, the only hotel I have stayed in that has scales in the bathroom. Mrs Harikleia will do everything that is possible to make one comfortable and nothing is too much trouble. We had room 4 with the double balcony, and it was bliss. It is a real pleasure staying in this hotel, and we have done so twice. I would unreservedly recommend this hotel - bijoux is the only word to describe it.

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully designed, extremely clean. The two rooms with balconies are to be recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EireneLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very nice, fully renovated, small (boutique) hotel just in the center of Andros city (Chora). Minutes away from museums, restaurants, bars, beaches. Spacey room (no.9), nice furniture, very, very clean, excellent service. With windows closed no noise from the road. But ... on Sunday morning you have to wake up at 7:00 because the adjacent church's bells start ringing stopless. Another thing is when you arrive to find a place to park. If you have not luggage , no problem, but if you have .... you will need extra courage to carry them to the hotel door. Then without elevator, if you stay on second floor another try, ....
As a conclusion, ivery nice hotel. highly recommended for a 2-3 days stay, with very polite and gentle owners and one of the cleanest I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: if you can afford stairs (no elevator) 2nd floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreas0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is a renovated hotel with just few rooms. A new-classic mansion, very elegant, extremely clean, very cozy. We stayed in room 6 and the view from the balcony was a square with a nice fountain. It is located centrally in Hora (which is really beautiful) and although it is a little noisy up to 11-12 o'clock, it is nice as there is no circulation of cars and the noise is coming from people talking and sitting in the coffee place / taverna nearby...if you do not like it you can simply close the windows and turn on the air-condition (during summer). People are really nice and helpful. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Very elegant and clean hotel like it has been just renovated.
Perfect location.
Owners very polite and helpful.
I surely want to come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katerinarodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We first stayed in Hotel Egli about four years ago, and didn't much like the shared bathrooms and gloomy rooms. It has since been gutted and it is now a wonderful hotel. The en-suite bathrooms are brand new, with thoroughly modern fittings and every convenience you can imagine - including bathroom scales. The room we stayed in (room 5) was at the front of the hotel, with two terraces, an amazingly comfortable custom-made matress and large bed, and it was very large and well-furnished - half the bedroom was in effect a sitting room, with sofa, coffeee table and TV, and very tastefully coordinated decor.. It was the cleanest hotel and room we've ever stayed in. The people running the hotel were delightful, and incredibly helpful. The hotel is located in the centre of Andros (the Hora) within very easy walking distance of all the main tavernas, bars, art galleries and beaches. This quality of hotel is quite hard to find on Greek islands, and anyone going to Andros would be mad not to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.5 mi away
Paradise Art Hotel
Paradise Art Hotel
#14 of 23 in Andros
61 reviews
11.4 mi away
Andros Holiday Hotel
Andros Holiday Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gavrion
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Micra Anglia Hotel
Micra Anglia Hotel
#2 of 3 in Andros Town
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Chryssi Akti
Hotel Chryssi Akti
#3 of 6 in Batsi
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anemomiloi Andros
Anemomiloi Andros
#1 of 3 in Andros Town
207 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aegean Castle
Aegean Castle
#1 of 1 in Paleopoli
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Egli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Egli

Property: Hotel Egli
Address: Main Road, 845 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Andros
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Egli 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Egli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing