We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #6 of 57 Naxos Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Initially, we had a reservation at another place in Naxos. At the last minute, though, the owner had to back out and she checked us in to this hotel. Turns out, the owner of Panorama was the Aunt of the owner of the place we'd initially reserved. We had no clue what to expect, but upon arriving we were blown away. The place has got to be the nicest place to stay in Naxos, run by some of the nicest people you'll find in Greece.

We arrived at the port and walked into the center of town to try and navigate the labyrinthine streets of the city (note: you can actually see the hotel from the port, jutting out from the hill. Big white building with arched windows and a blue sign reading "Hotel Panorama". This would have been nice to have realized when we arrived as the center of the old city is fairly confusing). After finally finding a sign towards the hotel, we ascended the steps up toward the castle. The climb is worth it, let me tell you. We arrived to a smiling owner holding two glasses of ice water ushering us to sit down and catch our breath. She then led us upstairs to our room. Down the hallway, you approach a veranda (with a table and two chairs...which were always free and available) with a breathtaking view of the water, city, and portera. Our room itself was beautifully lit and spotless. There is loads of space, a tv, a/c, fridge, and a table. The bed itself was two very comfortable twins pushed together. The bathroom looks recently renovated. Plenty of room with a nice shower and plenty of hot water. Rooms were cleaned and made-up daily.

Breakfast is 5 euro/p and is great. Consists of bread/butter/jam, biscuits, an egg, coffee, yoghurt with honey (so delicious), and orange juice. We tried to get breakfast elsewhere one morning, but found that 5 euro just got you coffee, orange juice, and bread at most places. Just remember to let them know you want breakfast the night before. We made that mistake the first day and had Markos running to get everything ready. Sorry!

Speaking of Markos, he deserves special mention. On your stay you will surely meet him and be thankful for it. On our first day he spent a while suggesting places to see and eat around Naxos Town. He explained how best to get around the island and which towns and areas are worth visiting. He also helped set us up with a rental car (25 euro/day; fiat panda). Finally, he brought us up to the rooftop terrace (which we didn't even realize existed until then--our last night!) for the sunset. We enjoyed the view, the conversation, and the citron (delicious!) he brought us.

During writing this I've been trying to think of any negative points of our stay, and I...simply can't think of a thing. Everything was absolutely fantastic: the room, the view, the people, the breakfast. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone planning on visiting Naxos.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glecoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I'm at the end of my vacation in Greece on the island of Naxos and I'm taking time to review this hotel which deserves a good rating. The lady who owns this hotel and Markos who is part of the staff have been very helpful and simply accommodating: we requested a kettle to prepare tea in the morning and they also lend us some plates and utensils for cereals at breakfast. The hotel is in the old city next to the castle. My room is spotless clean, quiet, equipped with a fridge and wifi connection, overlooking the port and sea. It is close to a mini market and traditional bakery, a short walk from the harbor. I would also mention that this is my third visit in Naxos, staying twice at the Panorama.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Italia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

panorama is delightful, the staff is extremely nice, the room for me, wife and two kids, was excellent, it had a very nice view over the harbor, the roof was a plus, with an amazing sight of the city and a wonderful sunset. It is just a bit complicated to come by and you have to walk with your luggage, but it is well worth. you can have a breakfast but more likely prepare your own and eat it at the top roof.
Naxos is a fantastic holiday place for the family with amazing sandy beaches south and rocky isolated inlets north
the island, the city the building in one word: beautiful

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giorobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Hotel Panorama is in the old town of Naxos. You get there by climbing through a maze of streets that lead up to a Venetian casle (Kastro).
The hotel was recently refurbished: new windows, paint, bathrooms.
The manager is eager to please and will answer any question and help if the need arrises.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.
Our room had 2 beds and was 35 euros a night.
It's just a few steps to restaurants, a grocery store and shopping. 10 minutes from the ferry.

Room Tip: Book ahead, this hotel is pretty well known.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ormstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

I stayed on the same floor as the reception. Window opened onto a wonderful view and next to a common area verandah, which was vacant most of the time.
The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was adequate (based on european standards).
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Internet access was being installed but was not available at that time.
The rate was extremely reasonable.
If you require and 'old town' hotel (and I suggest you do, for at least some part of your stay) I can highly recommend this one. I would stay there again without hesitation.
It is also not far to the local bus depot and trips to the interior and along the coast should not be missed.
From there I went to the Astir of Naxos, near the beach, also recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2009

The staff in this hotel were second to none. We had a our 5 month old with us, so we had a lot of luggage, which Markos was more than willing to help us with. The room was set up with a nice cot/clean sheets, air con, fan, and lovely view of the post/bay. On the roof upstairs is an excellent terrace for taking full panoramic photos of the bay .There's tables/chairs here also. Close to our room was a little balcony, where we had supper (takeway, plates provided by hotel), also a view of the bay. Hotel is in the heart of the old town, which has to be seen to be believed, its like a labyrynth. Its a challenge to find it , but so is anything in the old town. Contact the hotel to meet you if you have a lot of luggage, or don't feel up to the challenge, they'll come meet you at the port. don't get a taxi, and it can only bring you within 100m of hotel, (in these streets, you can't get lost many times in 100m!!)

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MyEventHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

This is an OK base to explore the delights of Naxos, but I wouldn't rave about it - and some of the rooms can be very noisy.
The location is great: right by the castle, in the warren of lanes on Naxos.

Despite booking months ahead I was given the room right opposite reception. There is no soundproofing, so I was forced to listen to the receptionist yacking from early morning - and the noise of everyone going in and out all day. The woman who runs the place is very friendly... too much in some cases and sits everyone down for a half hour chat before giving them keys. This seemed welcoming, until I heard the same conversations - through the door.

The rooms however are pretty good, if spartan. The aircon works wonderfully. Be warned however than the beds are very hard and uncomfortable, and only come with one tiny pillow. There is satellite TV with a couple of English channels, but only CNN not BBC. There is a fridge but no kettle. The shower in our room flooded, and the plumbing blocked: As a result there was a stench of dirty water though out the room.

There is however a great terrace on the roof of the hotel: this turned into a bit of a party zone as the sun went down, with many guests at the hotel bringing wine up to watch the sunset. It has some amazing views over the harbour and the old temple.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Flooding drains, noisy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#3 of 58 in Naxos Town
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#5 of 58 in Naxos Town
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
#6 of 58 in Naxos Town
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Zevgoli
Chateau Zevgoli
#24 of 58 in Naxos Town
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Naxos Town 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Panorama Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing