We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Despina what a gal....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Despina's Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naxos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Despina's Rooms
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Despina what a gal....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the best things on arriving on Naxos is looking for Despinas Rooms, winding your way up and through the narrow alleys looking for the little blue arrows. When we arrived we were welcomed warmly. Shown too our room we initially booked one of the rooftop rooms (there are 3)....the room was perfect but unfortunately the weather not so the next day we moved too a room downstairs. Room 2 is a small but perfectly proportioned double with a small balcony on one side looking onto the sea and the other side the castle, en suite shower room and fridge. Exceptionally clean room with a comfortable bed. The owner Despina and her daughter in law Nina are two beautiful people who will spend quality time with you (including coffee and biscuits) and you never feel like your impeding on there time. The location is peaceful on the outside but corridor noise carries well. We stayed for 4 nights and considering the weather was cold and windy we still found plenty too do.......The rooms are close too everything but far enough too get lost in the wonderful alleys. If ever we ever return we could not return just too say hello as when we left we felt like family......thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

After an island-hopping holiday, we chose to return to Naxos and find somewhere in the old town. Despina's was the first place we came to. That was 15 years ago and we've never looked back. Despina and her daughter-in-law Nina are unfailingly welcoming and we quickly felt like we'd made friends. The rooms are spotlessly clean and excellent value - despite the change to the Euro, the price has only increased marginally in that period. Although not all the rooms have a balcony, most have a view of the harbour and the Portara. And if you're room doesn't have a view? The flat roof is open to all, and is the perfect place to watch the sun set over the Paros before heading out of the evening, just two minutes to the bars and restaurants by the harbour. One thing though: the breeze tends to gust through, so take care not to let the doors slam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

It is worth staying here for the beautiful bedspreads alone. Great location, views optional, but worthwhile - lovely people, neat, clean, in the heart of the old town, a short walk from the port, good wifi, aircon, fine shower, a patio with a killer view and a communal kitchen if you wish... The only drawback I can think of is that the tap-water, which was ok to drink, tasted and smelled slightly brackish - a hint of marshgas or sulphur... Either way, it won't kill you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HallifaxBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved the place! The owner are really friendly and welcoming! I felt home and I really do recommend this place to stay.
I wish I would have stayed longuer over there. + view from the roof top is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly-merr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Last Fall (October 2013) we spent a week at "Despina's Rooms" in Naxos town. This delightful spot is one of the most enjoyable hostelries we have ever experienced. Our room was small by North American standards but clean, convenient, with air conditioning and well sited in the centre of the old town.

From our window we could see a 2500 year old arch, the remnant of an unfinished civil project. Looking the other way was a well preserved Venetian castle. We started every day with this panorama as we ate our breakfast on the balcony. There was a tiny kitchen downstairs where we could brew our morning coffee. A baker perhaps two minutes away on
foot supplied our bread right from his ovens.The harbour was a few minutes away so transportation was close by. This includes the island's bus service, ferries and taxis.

Despina's is one of the few places we've stayed that would prompt us to return to a destination, just to be able to stay at the same place. Note that it is not a hotel, nor a B&B. Don't expect luxury. It does have Wi-Fi and a certain ambiance that we found delightful and the value received for what we paid is right at the top of the scale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesoupier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Family rooms by grandmother Despina, à lovely, sweet lady with a nice sense of humor.
Nice and clean rooms in the Kastro of Naxos with on the roof a georgious view over Naxos Chora and the Portara. Rooms are not too big but there is à kitchen with frigerator for commen use with the other visitors. Friendly family and beautiful located, so being able to discovery Naxos Chora by foot.

Room Tip: There is one room on the roof....it is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Perfectly located in the old town, you can enjoy all the fun of Chora without the noise!

The room we stayed in was simple, with a small en-suite bathroom and fridge. There was also a small balcony at the side with a sea glimpse although on the top floor there was a larger roof terrace with great views over the harbour.

Sure, the rooms are basic but it's all you need for exploring this lovely little town. Check out the bakery just a few alleys away - amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manwithspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Anixis
Hotel Anixis
#26 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windmill Naxos
Windmill Naxos
#18 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iliada Studios
Iliada Studios
#33 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anatoli Hotel
Anatoli Hotel
#16 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#5 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vakhos
Hotel Vakhos
#53 of 59 in Naxos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Despina's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despina's Rooms

Property: Despina's Rooms
Address: Venetian Kastle | Chora, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Despina's Rooms Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing