We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
9/26/18: Blowing Around Naxos Town in Storm Xenophon

On Sep 26 as we drove into Naxos Town, storm Xenophon hit with gale-force 35 MPH winds gusting to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
HappyKatya
,
Dana Point, California
Highlight

Wandering through the old town was definitely one of my highlights. It's extensive, and gorgeously... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jzdparis
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 1,887 reviews
  
Reviews (1,887)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveler rating
652
226
21
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
226
21
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow streets shops and restaurants alley ways interesting shops every corner walk around sea front venetian castle greek islands labyrinth naxos port stroll souvenirs waterfront corners homes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Sep 26 as we drove into Naxos Town, storm Xenophon hit with gale-force 35 MPH winds gusting to 50 MPH, so dangerous that schools were closed in parts of Greece. We followed a vague sign “Parking-->” to a parking lot on nameless street on a hill north of the port in sight of the Kastro (later we learned it's called “Parking Naxos.”) I got out to take a photo and a wind gust knocked me to the ground.
Naxos Town is a lovely place, and this was unusual weather, so we pressed on.
We were determined to see the Portara gate to the Temple of Apollo and headed down the hill, taking cover behind walls when we couldn't stand up due to wind. At the north shore by Mitropolos Museum we saw the Portara, but waves were pounding up over the causeway, too high to walk through. We took photos, got blown over again, and gave up on seeing the lovely views of the Portara and Old Port that I'd noticed online from the seaside cliff due east on Leof. Naxou Eggaron. Instead we turned west on Naxou Eggaron, hit the harbor, and ran into the bus station for shelter!
Hubbie got out his waterproof camera and bravely walked north to the foot of the causeway while I photographed him and the Portara (when the wind allowed). The colorful chairs of the corner cafe being blown around the pavement also made fun photos.
Next we backtracked south across Leof. Naxou Eggaron, heading out of the wind--and into the Naxos Labyrinth. We were concerned for the car in the wind and so worried how much time we'd be caught in this maze, built to confuse invaders. We sure got confused; we followed the signs for “Labyrinth” a while, only to learn that it's the name of a wine bar. We were completely lost.
Finally we found a path uphill to the Kastro, the castle the Venetians built by taking all the marble they could carry from the Temple of Apollo. Happily they couldn't move the three huge stones of the Portara.
After climbing a bit, I turned around, and Lo! There was the Portara in plain view, looking right down the middle of the Kastro hill. Somehow in the impossibly twisted mess of buildings, they had managed to keep direct sight-lines to the Portara, maybe for astronomical purposes? This went on all the way up the hill until we reached the Kastro's balcony. No matter where we stopped, as long as we were headed to the Kastro, there was the Portara sight line. Not all robbers have such impressive surveying skills.
Toward sunset we made our way back down to the harbor for excellent drinks and mezze (snacks) at Captain's Cafe; its rear patio was sheltered. Down in front, an empty wine carafe blew over and smashed on the cobblestones. The harbor view was beautiful as the storm pushed the boats around. As the light faded we fought the wind back uphill, enjoyed walking around Naxos Old Town Square—all made of marble, of course, even the parking markers--then drove back to our hotel.

Thank HappyKatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wandering through the old town was definitely one of my highlights. It's extensive, and gorgeously cool on a hot day. Very photogenic!

Thank jzdparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely ancient town with narrow winding streets. Small museums, churches, homes, a few cats and shops and restaurants near the bottom by town.

Thank konacoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really great fun exploring the Old Town through all the winding pathways to the top of the old castle. Lots of history, so very old. Plenty of shops which are well priced compared to busier islands near by. Lots of food and dinning all by the port which is mostly pleasure boats for sailing the seas at sunset. I found each day there was something new to see. Loved it. Great spot with a great feel of Greek culture.

Thank C5075PZdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the scenic stroll along the waterfront dotted with inviting restaurants and shops, and then ventured into the labyrinth of lanes on the usually gentle climb away from the water. This is where we found 520 Restaurant, with its view over the street below and harbour just beyond -- and the Best Burger Ever! Not to mention the delicious and should-be-famous Naxos potatoes. We never feared getting lost. The water was "down."

Thank mellish2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just love this town. Great restaurants. Friendly people, beautiful port, nice shops. Handmade things in the labyrinth behind the port and so easy to get lost in it.

Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wandering the meandering shopping streets or along the main street, you'll enjoy Naxos Chora. We loved the old Market area.

Thank venicelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Old town is beautiful with narrow streets with little shops and hidden paths. Resturants are great with lovely food.

Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent a week in Naxos. It was glorious - we wanted to stay longer but we had to meet up wit a group. We stayed right in Naxos town and walked all over the place.

Thank pamgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

We loved the whole island , other than the wonderful beach’s the Old Town was our favourite part of the island . Great food , shops and atmosphere.

Thank Ange D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews