We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
31
17
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
17
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is located short walk excellent location the owner sea balcony greece port naxos town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 51 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018

There were 5 of us (4 adults & 1 teenager) that stayed in the family suite at the Sun Beach this August. We are of Greek descent from Canada. The owner was accommodating & very personable. The space itself was renovated & very clean with white sheets. We had 2 twin beds & one queen (can’t remember if it was double)-we also had a cott which was a little uncomfortable so if it’s for a small child, it is fine but not for an average size person. The location is deceiving as the view is not much to look at but about 30 sec walk to St George beach which was busy & the place to be if you’re a beach lover! The beach was a mix of families, singles, friends, kids etc. We had a large balcony. You can rent sun beds for €10. It’s about a 5 min walk to town (restaurants, shops) & about 10 min into Old Naxos town & the port which was breathtaking! Best thing: location worst raging: view - I would definitely recommend Sun beach Hotel.

Room tip: Call or email the hotel directly to get more specific information. She is very responsive.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank greeksummergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Everything is as described, great owner, staff and rooms. BUT the location is amazing, if you like a beach it's 100M from the perfect beach. It's also by far the best value I've had in Greece. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank dubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018

Stayed here for our 1 night in naxos. Walked from the ferry port which took about 20 mins, the owner met us on arrival. Check in was easy and was provide with juice and water for our room which was a nice touch. The room is very basic but clean with a little balcony with a side beach view. Also was able to store our bags after check out while we explored before our afternoon ferry trip.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KangoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

I wish I could recommend this hotel, which appears to be run by a pleasant family and is ideally situation just across the street from the beach, but I cannot. The bed is the hardest I've ever slept on, the shower is poor and was not repaired after we complained about a part of it being nonfunctional, and they do not always have English speaking staff available until 1pm in the afternoon. If you can get this hotel for an extremely discounted price, it might be worth it, but it is really not worth paying more than $40-$50/night.

Please read on for a more thorough description of each of the aspects of this hotel.

ROOM: POOR. The nice things about the room were that it had a balcony from which you could view the ocean (from the side), a refrigerator, and a small stove/kitchenette area. The fridge came stocked on the first day with a bottled water (you cannot drink the tap water) and a fruit juice. These were not replaced during the visit upon being used up, however.

The main problem was the bathroom. The shower stall is difficult to fit into if you have broad shoulders and the only "separator" between the shower and the rest of the bathroom was a thin curtain that is not long enough to touch the ground such that if any water hits the curtain (which it will), your bathroom floor will be flooded (which it will be). Moreover, the shower has a "handle" as a opposed to a fixed shower head. There was a holder where you could affix the shower head so that you could shower underneath, however, the holder device was broken. When I told the management about it, they admitted that the last guest in the room had in fact complained about the same thing but that they had not fixed it and could not fix it until after we left. I'm not sure why that is or why they would give us a room that they knew had a problem without fixing it, but the result was that you had to hold the shower handle above your head the entire time you showered.

The bed was also probably the hardest one that I've ever slept on. More surprisingly, though, it was not made up each day. The maid would come in and would remove the bedding but instead of putting new bedding on, he/she would just leave a stack of the bedding at the end of the bed for us to put on the bed ourselves! (I might expect this at a hostel, but not at a hotel in a popular vacation destination where you are paying, in part, for those kinds of services.)

Outlet availability was good.

BED/SLEEP QUALITY: POOR. As stated above, the mattress is probably the hardest I've ever slept on so I awoke multiple times throughout the night uncomfortable. One of the four nights we were there, we also had to deal with a lot of noise coming from outside the hotel on the street below. It is not a busy street, so this should not be a constant problem, but apparently the doors to the balcony are pretty thin so if there is noise there, you will hear it. All of this made for some fairly consistent issues with sleep quality at Sun Beach Hotel.

SERVICE: AVERAGE. They met the minimum standards you would expect and made a few helpful recommendations about places to eat and products to buy, but there is not always someone available who speaks English until 1pm--too bad if you need advice/assistance/to pay before 1pm. That being said, the English speaker (Kiki) was very helpful, nice, and a pleasure to deal with.

LOCATION: EXCELLENT. The hotel is located right on Saint George Beach, which is a pleasant, relaxed beach just outside of Naxos town. At the same time, you can easily make the 5-15 minute walk into town to reach all the major sites and any of the restaurants you might want to visit.

CLEANLINESS: VERY GOOD. The room was extremely clean. There were no problems on that front.

VALUE: OK. If you're not paying more than $50/might for a room, you really can't expect more than this. Because I was paying more than that, likely cause I visited during high season, I didn't find the room to be an overall great value. If you can get it for under $50, though, it might be worth it.

Room tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globe-trotter_2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

We went there with our 3 small kids and the room was large, clean and with a small terrace facing the beach. There is also a parking lot just in front of the hotel that is very convenient. The beach is at 50m and there are lots of restaurants nearby. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 333giulioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews