We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“8 Ladies in Naxos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astir of Naxos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astir of Naxos
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“8 Ladies in Naxos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Astir of Naxos was a nice stay close to the beach and not far from town we walked along the beach (Saint George Beach) and it was very pleasant, close to some good resturants. The pool was lovely and the room and breakfast was good, someone complained about the air conditioner but we had no problem you did have to make sure the doors were closed before it would work but it was good.
The ladies at reception were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: We all had rooms upstairs they were all good but one did have a bigger balcony sorry can't remem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda6295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    62
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
47
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Astir of Naxos is a nice family hotel with perfect service and perfect hospitality. The location is near by the capital city of Naxos and the Saint George Beach is just 2 min away from the hotel. We enjoyed the beautiful Naxos sunsets from our terrace. The swimming pool as well the room were absolutely clean. The breakfast is simple, but fresh and tasteful. The atmosphere is relaxed and perfect for a family vacation. I can just recommend it. Great job!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Astir of Naxos was a pleasant surprise for the whole family. The pool is fresh and is cleaned every night. The service is fantastic! This is a family run hotel, and they do their very best and then some to make sure your stay is comfortable. The breakfast is pretty simple but very fresh! They have their own fruit garden. They have a proper espresso machine if you desire good coffee. Included in the breakfast is the regular kind. :) The staff is very friendly and help you with booking of restaurants and taxi. The atmosphere is relaxed and quiet. When it comes to cleanliness this hotel is incredible!! Our rooms were cleaned properly every day. On top of this, they even fold clothes that had end up on the floor or on the bed. A wonderful, clean, tidy hotel with a lovely peaceful atmosphere.

We can't wait to come back next summer!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppins88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of this hotel. The members of the staff were very nice and helpful. I had a room with a small outside seating area overlooking the great pool. The beach was a short walk from the hotel. If I return to Naxos, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisterfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Beautiful, relaxed. Simple, clean rooms....awesome pool. Great staff. Short walk to beach and to Naxos Town. I would stay here again in Naxos when I come back.

Spent 5 days in Naxos and stayed here. Walked into town, but great to stay away from the bustle of the town. Great place to rent mountain bikes right down the street on the best beach in Naxos. Really very pleased. Also, short walk to a grocery for additional items.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCB1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We came here on our honeymoon and were not really impressed. The rooms were a decent size but the walls were paper thin! I think our stay was dampened by the fact that it was mainly older groups staying there and there wasn't a great atmosphere. Breakfast was the worst of the places we stayed in greece. Unfortunately one of the ladies at reception said some inappropriate and assumptive things we didn't appreciate. She was also VERY pushy as we were leaving which made us feel uncomfortable.

Room Tip: If you want sleep don't stay here the rooms are not sound proofed at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel, "OK" is the best way to describe it - but perhaps we have been spoiled by far superior hotels in the region and have come to expect much better.
The staff are mostly helpful enough when you approach them, but they are distant and didn't exude the hospitable friendly nature we've found with other hotel managers / owners on our stay in the Cyclades.
The air con in the room was weak (if non existant) and very loud when cranked up to full power, which made it too noisy to sleep. When we queried this we got 2 stories from 2 different staff. First being that it could be broken so they'd take a look in the morning. Second story being that it was a central system and as the owners are locals, they still found the weather to be cold and need blankets in their own rooms. They seemed very surprised that visitors from England find the climate warm and might appreciate some cooling in the rooms.
Breakfast was average - the toaster appeared broken as the heating dial had fallen off but on the second morning we learned that it actually need to be switched on at the mains from another guest and so only had the one speed setting. It would have been simple to replace it or even create a simple sign to explain what needs doing.
The reception never seemed to be manned so we had to go searching for staff or just wait till someone turned up. Again, simple to solve by placing a bell if they were short on staff?
Looking at the positives, the staff were kind enough to move is to a room with a sea view which was away from the pool area and so quieter. Had a good night's sleep here.
We liked the setting of the pool - lovely for breakfast and chilling out. Very comfy loungers.
The location is also perfect for what we were looking for - not being in the hustle and bustle of the hora (main
town centre) but a short 10 minute walk away. The St George beach was a 1 minute walk away with lots of beach bars to get a snack and a drink.
It's a shame that Astir isn't living up to its potential - it has a great location, pretty setting, pretty buildings and is a family run hotel. But the family just need a few simple touches to make it a top hotel. We ended up checking out early to stay at the Saint Vlassis instead - which they could learn a lot from!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NamSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#3 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#4 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir of Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir of Naxos

Property: Astir of Naxos
Address: Naxos Town, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astir of Naxos 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astir of Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Of Naxos Hotel Naxos City
Astir Naxos City
Astir Hotel Naxos City
Astir Of Naxos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing