We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay at Astir.....can't wait to return”
Review of Astir of Naxos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astir of Naxos
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 8 wonderful nights. There was only one problem and that was that the mattress in our room was unforgivably hard. However, upon reporting this to reception a luxury mattress topper was placed on top of the hard mattress........problem solved...with a beautiful sleep for the next 7 nights. The Astir is a beautifully appointed hotel nicely situated on the outskirts of town but only a 15 minute walk away from the hub of town life. Although it is a hotel and not apartments it is located a 2 minute walk away from a large supermarket as you will need to buy drinking water and just up from that is a fantastic bakers (ok you don't need bread but they do gorgeous little cakes and posh chocs). Our room was spacious and exceptionally clean with a lovely balcony with a view overlooking the mountains and it was a delight to sit there upon returning from Naxos town away from the light pollution of the town and gaze up at the stars with a nice glass of chilled white. Maid service was everyday and thorough. The silky smooth cotton bed sheets are by luxury brand, Guy La Roche which were changed every other day. We found the air conditioning to be adequate (and it was hugely hot when we were in Naxos) and yes the little ceiling vent in the bathroom does rattle a bit but it is only activated when the bathroom light is switched on so perhaps this might be a problem for those who like to leave the bathroom light on during the night !!! The bathroom we had had a small size bath with shower over. The shower was strong with constant hot water. The room also has a little mini fridge which is alright for keeping drinks cool but not cold (see my tip for getting better results from fridge). The crystal clear pool area is a joy to behold with nice little steps at one side side for those who might not be able to use the two ladder-style entry points. As adults we weren't bothered by the fact that the pool is very deep at one end and quite deep too at what we would normally call the shallow end so those with small children should take note. However there is a small shallow kids pool adjoining which is fine for babies and toddlers. The pool area, like the rest of the grounds is beautifully appointed with padded and adjustable sun loungers and huge canvas umbrellas for when you'd like to rest in the shade. Save your beach towels for the beach as reception will provide you (upon asking / free of charge) with poolside towels to lay upon your sun lounger.The pool area is a tranquil oasis and great for relaxing in the sun so think again if you imagine you can arrive and turn it into a pool-party area.......try Mykonos instead. We found our welcome to be warm and genuine by this lovely family. We were left to our own devices but we knew we only had to ask if we wanted anything and they would have done their best to assist. We have visited Naxos about 10 times over the last 16 years and this is the 1st time we've been guests at the Astir. We do hope to return to Naxos next Summer and we are thrilled at the prospect of returning to this wonderful hotel. I cannot recommend it enough. Thank you so very much everybody at the Astir for making our stay so very special.

P.S. Contrary to euro82 sour opinion (see review before this one) THIS review is 100% genuine and NOT falsified (see our 28 reviews of hotels in a variety of countries on Trip Advisor).

Room Tip: Rooms facing mountains are cooler as they only face the morning / early afternoon sun. Fridge tip: m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euroweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had booked a room in another hotel, which is owned by the same person. On the day of arrival, the brother of the hotel owner drove us to the Astir hotel, telling us that we had been upgraded from a three star to a four star hotel. We understood the whole family of the owner was working there. The room we got was very simple, with a small bathroom with noisy ventilation, and the air conditioning was hardly working. We were very disappointed and felt the other hotel was much better. Then we met the hotel owner, who was very aggressive and kept on telling us he gave us a better deal. It was impossible to have a discussion with him. We decided to stay only 1 night and left the next day instead of staying for 3 nights. The breakfast was appalling, it was definitely not worth a four star hotel. The location of this hotel was far away from amenities, to go to the city centre, we had to walk for at least 20 min. The hotel staff was unfriendly and distant.

We definitely don't recommend this hotel to anybody.

Be careful, as it seems all over the top positive comments on this hotel may have been falsified.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank euro82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was recommended by a friend of ours who stays there every summer.
And despite we read some not so possitive reviews about the hotel we decided to listen to our friend and booked a room. We dont regret a single moment spent during the two weeks in Astir of Naxos.
The room - clean (and was maintained clean every day), cosy, comfortable, with bed linned and towels being changed regularly.
Breakfast - well, I travel a lot and I have seen very reach breakfast tables. But what is different in Astir is not the variety, but the quality of the food - 80 % of it comes from the farm of Mr. Michalis, the rest 20% are also made by local Naxian producers. So who whould need a smoked salmon and papaya when he can have fresh eggs, fetta cheese and graviera, local fruits and vegetables picked up in the morning, and last but my favourite - sweet pastry specialties prapared by Stamatula, Mr. Michalis' daughter. You dont get this in a regular hotel.
Hotel personnel - excellent, very friendly, always smiling, aways there to serve you.
Location- perfect, far from the crowdy center, yet 10 min walking distance to it. 5 min walking from St. George beach and easy access to the road to Agia Anna, Plaka or Mikri Vigla beaches.
We shall go back to Astir, that is for sure!
Evharisto poli!
Sava and Milena

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sava c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After extending our stay for one night we ended up staying at this hotel for four days.
Rooms are very well appointed, clean, cosy, spacious and comfortable. We found the beds to be very comfortable and large and attention to detail has been given when it comes to linen and towels.
We were greeted by Mr Michalis who is very attentive and kind and has done an excellent job maintaining good quality standards in the hotel.
Breakfast was nice as well!

Location is excellent, quite close to the center, but still away from all the noise, close to the sea which grants you a pleasant sea breeze all day long.

Should I be visiting Naxos again, I would definitely choose this hotel for my stay...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iknowgoodfood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel has a lovely looking pool area, but be careful what you do there. As nice as the old man who runs the place is, he is rather particular when it comes to the pool. He scolded people young and old for jumping in the pool, splashing the water, making too much noise, and any other behavior other than floating quietly. That being said, he was still very helpful when asked any questions about the town or island. The furniture around the pool is also very comfortable.
The rooms were basic but clean. The location isn't the best, but not horrible either. You can easily walk to the beach in about 10 minutes down a fairly quiet road, and the town is another 10 minutes beyond that.

Stayed: July 2012
2  Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We foung this hotel to be "Adequate", Before we left I read reviews of the room cleanliness and the maintenance issues.
The room we stayed in didnt have a hook for the shower head in the shower, so you have to hold the shower head in one hand and then shower. The wardrobe was broken , the room was filthy (cobwebs and someone elses hair under the beds) and the blanket on top of the wardrobe was not folded but thrown on top of the wardrobe, the paint was peeling of the walls in a few place and had been painted over (I have photos of all of my issues).
However I feel every place you go is what you make of it and even though there is no view of the sea, it is a short walk to one of the nicest and best service beaches i saw on our tour and the town starts at the end of the beach.
Unfortunatlely this is the only hotel that we stayed in that I will not go back to.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel and pool area are beautiful but the room wasn't that great... I mean it wasn't bad, but I wasn't impressed either. And our room was overlooking the back side of the hotel, which was close to the parking area, not to mention that the balcony was too small... However, the breakfast was good and the location convenient to make it to the nice beaches of Ag. Anna and Ag. Prokopios. Overall, I wasn't disappointed at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sevasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 57 in Naxos Town
197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Princess of Naxos
Princess of Naxos
#16 of 57 in Naxos Town
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#3 of 57 in Naxos Town
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 57 in Naxos Town
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir of Naxos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir of Naxos

Address: Naxos Town, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#21 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $76 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astir of Naxos 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astir of Naxos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Of Naxos Hotel Naxos City
Astir Naxos City
Astir Hotel Naxos City
Astir Of Naxos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing