We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Naxos!”
Review of Hotel Grotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Grotta
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Best breakfast ever here. Dimitris is very nice and welcoming and even the staff are very friendly and charming. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Naxos. Portara can be seen from hotel. Breathtaking views also. I recommend this hotel to anyone :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ms-r-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

We tend to be higher end travellers in top flight chain hotels due to my husband's extensive business travel. I thought we were selecting a rare budget hotel to round out the very expensive ones we planned to stay in on other islands. Instead, Hotel Grotta ended up being by far the most enjoyable, memorable and even comfortable of our whole vacation in Greece. The breakfast is described elsewhere but it was nice to go in not knowing about the crazy extremely fabulous grandmother's home cooked meal included with the room. The fact that they took care of our laundry, washed and folded for 10 Euros a bag and provided free transfers was over the top! Nice to be just outside of the main drag with an easy walk downhill and a spectacular view enroute.
Could have stayed there the whole time, and hope to get back some day!

Room Tip: Ocean view and garden view rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Su R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

But papas homemade raki in the big clear unlabelled bottle, as a nightcap, has to be tried. The breakfast is a feast for eyes and the tummy with dozens of homemade dishes both sweet and savoury - not for those who are weight conscious as it all must be sampled!

Good location with great views over the town. The rooms were spotless and this family run hotel knows all about giving amazing service. Highly recommended and excellent value for money.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at Hotel Grotta in Naxos! We were welcomed at the port (free transfer to and from hotel), and warmly welcomed by the staff upon our arrival. The gal who runs it (Im so terrible with names, my apologies!) is just the sweetest, with the best sense of humor. She made our stay so enjoyable, and was a great help when getting the bus schedule to explore. The breakfast was out of this world. There was homemade cheesecake (for breakfast--its vacation, afterall) that I wanted to bring home with me. We took the bus 2 different times to Plaka Beach and Agia Anna, and both were amazing. You must go! I would stay here again, and recommend to anyone who loves a warm welcome, great service, and a lovely stay.

Room Tip: A seaside view with a balcony! Worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank WI_WLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I visited the Greek Islands in June with my mother. We splurged on hotels in the more quiet Islands as we decided we would be spending more time at those hotels. Seeing as the seemed to be a lot to do in Naxos we went for a slightly cheaper hotel and decided on hotel grotta. I have to say we were very pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the location of the hotel was. The staff were by far the friendliest we encounters on our trip and the room was ideal and so clean! Although the hotel is located outside the town there is a dirty path which allows you to walk to the town within 10 mins.

This hotel is unbelievable value. Nicoletta could not have been nicer, giving us complimentary wine and pie and key chains. They even sit down with you and talk through the sites worth visiting in Naxos. Thanks to everybody at hotel grotta for an amazing time!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Mariah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We absolutely loved Hotel Grotta!!! The Lianos family that runs this hotel, does so with a passion. You are greeted warmly on arrival with a nice welcome drink and homemade cheesecake. The views from the rooms are spectacular. Choose the water view rooms for a perfect experience. This is a beautiful boutique hotel, about a 10 minute walk to the main town and the old town. Perfect Location!! Breakfast is a huge spread and delicious. The Lianos family makes you feel very comfortable & welcome. They are full of information on what to do on the island, and indulge in lovely conversations on arrival and during breakfast. There are laptops in the lobby/restaurant area for free use. Hotel has free wifi, and it works really well. Attention to detail is evident at every corner of the hotel. They will meet you at the ferry and take you to the hotel, as it is a bit uphill, which makes the view even better. You can see the entire town of Naxos, the temple of Apollo, the sea, and the most spectacular sunset right from the hotel steps. We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Hotel Grotta, and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitulsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We returned yesterday from Naxos. Till now we have visited Naxos four times and we always choose Hotel Grotta for our accommodation. Xenios Zeus is for sure proud for Lianos family who are probably the most hospitable and kind hoteliers of Greece!
The rooms are comfortable, decorated with taste and very clean. Jacuzzi is available. The breakfast is more than GREAT offering a great variety for every visitor, delicious homemade pies, sweets, cakes, eggs all prepared by the loving mother of Lianos family. Fresh delicious fruits are also served. Also free WiFi is available as well as free transportation from/to the port and/or airport. Important tips for tours around Naxos are given from the Owners who are also willing to answer every question at any moment. They are sweet, kind and generous people.
The stay at Hotel Grotta is always a beautiful and fun experience. We feel like home!
Looking forward to our next visit to Naxos and stay at Hotel Grotta!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.8 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
451 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Faros Villa
Faros Villa
#5 of 121 in Naxos
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 57 in Naxos Town
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 57 in Naxos Town
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta

Address: 7 Iakovos Kampanellis, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
#5 Best Value Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $68 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grotta 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Grotta Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing