We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever?”
Review of Hotel Grotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Grotta
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What views, what hospitality what breakfasts! This was a remarkable stay, with the warmest of hospitality from Nicoletta and her family. The room was very good, spacious (apart from the shower) and while most or all rooms have balconies one with a sea view was worth the small extra charge. An easy walk to town. They were very helpful with practical arrangements fixing a car hire for a trip around the island and arranging transport from and too the ferry. And the breakfasts! We have never seen such an array as Mama spends half every night baking and creating an array of sweet and savoury dishes. The modest price for all this defies logic.

Room Tip: It looked like all rooms had a balcony but it is definitely worth the small extra cost if a room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel Grotta was handy to Naxos town via an easily negotiated gravel track or via road a slightly longer walk. The hospitality of all the staff was outstanding, nothing was too much bother. The hotel itself was delightful with a great view over the water and the breakfasts just amazing with something to tempt every palate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights on the first leg of our Greek Island honeymoon. We can't say anything bad about the place. It's a short walk to town, great location overlooking the cliffs. The owners were very hospitable. Breakfast was delicious (mostly home cooked pies, desserts, fresh fruits). I would describe the atmosphere as "home away from home", definitely a laid back vibe that you wouldn't get at a fancy hotel. Great value for the money. Well maintained and charming. We would go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank we11and
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

For the price we were paying - €65 per night - I failed to see how this hotel could possibly live up to the reviews we had seen posted here. Yet, from the first moment, nothing was too much trouble. We were collected from the airport at no charge and on arrival we were sat down with a glass of wine and a few of the homemade pies for a chat about the things to see and do on the island. We were in the mood for a relaxing break and so didn't hire a car or go exploring outside of the main town, but that was so charming and delightful that we didn't feel we had missed a thing. There are a plethora of good, reasonably priced restaurants. The hotel is also about a mile's pleasant walk from St George's Beach, by the way.

The hotel is only a short walk into town - maybe ten minutes. Downhill on a rough path during daylight, then uphill via the road (the shortcut path is unlit) on returning after dinner and after dark. I think we had the best view of the entire hotel from our balcony, which overlooked the sea and was at the corner of the building set on a right angle so we had views both over the sea and over the town. Wonderful.

After our first day out, we returned to our comfortable room to find a half carafe of their homemade white wine waiting for us in the room with a sweet message. A fantastic touch.

Contrary to other reviews, if I have the slightest gripe it was regarding the breakfasts. The array of beautiful home made pies, tarts, cakes and pastries is quite overwhelming - but - if you're gluten intolerant as my wife is - there isn't a huge amount of choice of other products such as meats and cheeses. Really, though, this almost seems churlish.

It was pleasant to sit in the bar for a couple of late night drinks before bed and again, the staff were just so kind, friendly and helpful.

On our departure, we were offered a ride down to the port to catch our ferry to Santorini to continue our holiday - it's not a long walk but we did have a heavy suitcase. However, they got busy, so what did they do? Called a taxi for us which they insisted on paying for! More than anyone could possibly have asked for.

On balance we actually probably preferred Naxos to Santorini and ended up wishing we had spent more than three nights in this superb little hotel. Top marks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in September 2013. The hospitality of the owners and staff is the best we have ever experienced anywhere. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained, and in a good location, only a short walk to town. The view from the lobby and dining area is sooo beautiful. The breakfast is awesome with fresh homemade goodies. It felt like we were coming home each night after another great day in beautiful Naxos. I can't wait until my next vacation to the Greek Islands and I will definitely be returning to Hotel Grotta.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 650beccab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here with two of my girl friends, one of which had been to the same hotel previously. Her second stay lived up to her (as well as our) expectations. Wonderful hospitality, AMAZING breakfasts with literally 8 different kinds of cakes, different varieties of quiches as well as continental breakfast items. The rooms were spotless, although small (this is not a complaint, just a fact!) and the view from the front of the hotel overlooking the city and shoreline is breathtaking. We spent 4 nights here in September 2013 and I would recommend anyone planning a trip to Greece to a) visit Naxos and b) stay at the Hotel Grotta! There is no pool but the ocean and beaches are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEWS_2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in September 2013. The property is gorgeous, and the room was very comfortable. The hotel's in a quiet location just a short walk from downtown Naxos and the beach (but be aware that the most direct route is down a an unpaved trail for part of the route). The breakfasts are to die for - the owner's mother makes a wide variety of baked dishes, in addition to the standard cold cuts, eggs, etc usually offered in European breakfast buffets. I'd happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aredhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.8 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
450 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Faros Villa
Faros Villa
#5 of 121 in Naxos
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 57 in Naxos Town
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 57 in Naxos Town
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta

Address: 7 Iakovos Kampanellis, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $68 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grotta 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Grotta Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing