We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best run hotels I have ever encountered”
Review of Hotel Grotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grotta
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Grotta the end of Spetember and beginning of October. The hotel was extremely helpful planning our trip months in advance in terms of which islands to visit in what order, when to buy ferry tickets, and activities to plan once on the island. Once we arrived by ferry, we were met at the dock and greeted warmly with a cold drink and fresh baked goods while taking in the spectacular view from the hotel restaurant. The setting is ideal - on a hill overlooking the water and the harbor and the ancient town. It is an easy walk into town for meals, shopping, sightseeing, etc. yet in a quiet spot away from the crowds. It is very easy to get taxis or a bus or to rent a car to go to other areas. The breakfasts are beyond wonderful with the mother's baked goods and mountains of fresh fruits, cheeses, yogurt, etc. Rooms are immaculately clean and tasteful and many rooms have lovely terraces with terrific views. All this pales when one speaks of the owners. This family run hotel could teach hotel management courses to anyone anywhere. They are attentive to individuals' needs to a fault in a warm, completely authentic manner. Hiking trips were suggested, routes printed out for us, transportation secured with other family members, Greek lessons provided, restaurants suggested, the best beaches recommended, where to snorkel pointed out, and on and on. It is like staying with friends who know and love their home and want to share it with you. This is not the most elegant hotel I have stayed in but it can run circles around the service and atmosphere of them all. A true gem!

Room Tip: Some have a water view and some open onto a courtyard. I would recommend upstairs and specify what...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wabanhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,267)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grotta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Grotta. The service was impeccable. The staff are warm and welcoming. They picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry and were most helpful in answering all of our questions. Mama's breakfast in the morning was outstanding. North Americans could definitely learn about hospitality from the owners.
The drawback would be the two single beds that you have to use as a double. Also, the walls were quite thin and you can hear noises in the hall and other rooms. However, the rooms were very clean and we had a lovely balcony.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canada1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Everything about this hotel rates a 10 out of 10. From the warmth and hospitality of the staff, (Nikoletta, Marine and Dimitris), to the room with its fabulous view looking out onto the harbour and Apollo's Gate, this hotel exceeds expectations. The breakfasts were sensational and really something to look forward to each morning. The owners really know how to make patrons feel welcome, with special treats like a cake and drink on arrival, to leaving a small jug of wine in the room. Bravo!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dzintra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 6 days at the Grotta Hotel. The big big pluses are the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the amazing breakfasts - everything you could possibly want to start the day including cheesecake :-) Mark and Emily

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kram195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed and we can't wait to go back.
The family touch as other reviews mention is just outstanding. Nikoletta and Marine made us feel welcome, gave great suggestions on beaches/ activities, and provided fun perks. When you arrive there is a welcome drink and snack, and one night we were treated to "Papa's Wine" in the room.
The breakfast buffet is outstanding- so many home cooked options!!
The rooms are basic and clean and the TV's have a few English language stations. We had a nice porch that overlooked the Temple of Apollo's gate.
I thought the location was perfect- it was quiet and just a quick walk to Naxos City.
Such a great place that made our trip so special!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

At first I thought this hotel was a little out of the way of the main waterfront strip of Naxos town, being a 10 min walk off to the side of the Naxos harbour, but it is a pleasant walk up a little hill with views to the port and Grotta beach and the Temple of Apollo's gate, so seeing the sunset is an everyday event.

The hotel is run by brother and sister team, Dimitris and Nikoletta. They make you feel like you're a friend they haven't seen for a while even though you've never met them before. They remember your name and which room you're in and offer an appertif in the evening.

I had a couple of early starts before breakfast was served and Nikoletta made sure I had food for my day trip and even for the airport when I was leaving; so generous in spirit. If you request something extra as I did when I asked for a cup and kettle in my room, it was no problem and provided cheerfully.

So if you would like to go to a place where you think you don't know anyone, you will find a friend here who will look after you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow, is all we could say. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The location is perfect. A very short walk to town. It offers a great view on top of a hill.
The wow factor is the family that runs this hotel. From the minute you walk in, they take you in like you are their family. We can't stress enough how friendly and hospitable they are. The breakfast (dubbed "mama's breakfast") is over the top! It is the best in all the hotels we stayed at in Greece, ever! Lots of variety and delicious home baked traditional goods.
Upon returning from an excursion one day, we found two slices of cake in our room with a note saying "after a long day out, it is good to have cake." On our day of leaving, we asked them to call us a taxi but instead, they generously took us there themselves without charge. We tried to tip but they wouldn't have it. We thank you for your amazing hospitality and when we return to Naxos in the future, this is THE place and ONLY place to come back to. You made Naxos that much better. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandlerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.8 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Faros Villa
Faros Villa
#1 of 122 in Naxos
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 58 in Naxos Town
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta

Address: 7 Iakovos Kampanellis, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $65 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grotta 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Grotta Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing