We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and location!!”
Review of Hotel Grotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grotta
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and location!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotel Grotta was the perfect location with a wonderful breakfast buffet. It was like staying at your Greek relative's home for vacation!! The family running Hotel Grotta are warm, caring and always ready to help you. Gorgeous views at the top of the hill and a nice stroll into town for a quick bite or some exploring/shopping in the maze of narrow streets!

If we make it back to Greece, DEFINITELY plan on making a return visit!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor overlooking the ocean! Beautiful and majestic views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyabaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    109
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
157
701
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is not just another hotel. It is a family run hotel from people who love their work and will make you feel at home from the first moment. From your arrival to the island you do not need to worry about your pick-up when requested from the port or the airport, your suitcases etc. The relaxed atmosphere and the love of the Lianos family and Marin, makes you want to explore the island as fast as possible. The welcome includes a big smile and some refreshments with lots of information of the island!

The rooms are great, clean, with a balcony and with a small sized bathroom. The beds are on the hard side but did not cause any trouble for a good night sleep. The pillows where a bit harder than we liked them and once we asked for softer ones, it took Dimitri less than 60 seconds to arrange other pillows.

The breakfast is not comparable with any breakfast you have eaten in any other hotel. All the produce are home made pies, sweet and savory with original Greek ingredients. Spinach, Cheese, Chicken, Vegetables, etc. The "Kajiana" are served instead of scrambled eggs. This is a typical Greek way of preparing eggs with fresh tomatoes and steered all together in the pan. You can never have enough of it or too much. Bravo to Ms. Lianos, mother of Nikoleta and Dimitris.

All in all there is no way you can leave this place unsatisfied.

Room Tip: There are 40 rooms of which 10 have sea view. If you are not quick enough to book the sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandrosGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nestled on a lovely seaside cliff only five minutes walk to downtown and the Old City, Hotel Grotta in Naxos is exquisite!!! The breakfast is delicious with many selections. The staff are not just friendly but are filled with familial warmth and genuine kindness. The room was lovely with a huge balcony and the towels and sheets were changed DAILY! They greeted us upon arrival with house wine and a homemade savory snack. We loved our stay at Grotta!!! We will return. The price was crazy inexpensive for the quality! :). Finally, this hotel is located on one of the friendliest, most beautiful Greek islands with THE most gorgeous beaches anywhere! Do yourself a huge favor...go to Naxos and stay at the Hotel Grotta! Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloomtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I love this hotel for its location, cleanliness, fabulous buffet breakfasts, and kindness of the owners. My 3 night stay turned into a week and even then it was hard to leave. My room was just off the courtyard and was spacious and spotless. The owners seem to have thought of everything that makes a hotel stay extra special. I cannot say enough about this place and recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a lovely family run hotel set in a quiet part of the Hora and just a short walk into the harbour, sea front and the Kastro where the bars and restaurants create an excellent atmosphere.
Enjoy a friendly welcome and the clean & tastefully decorated rooms with the beds as comfortable as any you could find.

Breakfast is an experience in itself thanks to the most fantastic selection of yummy savoury and sweet home cooked Greek dishes. Run hands-on by the family Lianos and with great love, pride & Bon homie, the facilities are excellent and although there is no outdoor pool there is a small indoor plunge pool and a hot tub.

The comments in the visitors book is a great testament to this excellent establishment which has many returners - us included for over 10 years now.

Room Tip: Sea view for evening sun, courtyard view for morning sin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

On top of the hill, looking over the Aegean Sea, Hotel Grotta welcomes you in its world. The family hosts are just so nice and helpful. Our room was clean, fresh with a balcony on the interior courtyard. The room has everything you need ( AC, hair dryer, wi-fi ect). Walking distance from the port, the city center and the beach. Breakfast is just amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just returned from a trip to the Greek Islands and our stay at the Grotta Hotel was the most memorable. It is very clean, beautifully decorated, the home cooked food for breakfast was also amazing. But the best part was the owner! She was so genuinely friendly and generous. She obviously loves what she does. She had cool locally made wine waiting in our room after a long hike with a charming note attached. They also offer a comfortable area for you to wait (with free internet and computer) for your departure that also included homemade snacks and wine. Just delightful!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.8 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#3 of 58 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#5 of 58 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta

Property: Hotel Grotta
Address: 7 Iakovos Kampanellis, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grotta 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Grotta Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing