We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality arranged through HF Holidays”
Review of Hotel Grotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Grotta
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our ferry was delayed and we arrived in the early hours of the morning. We were greeted by smiling faces and served a three course meal. This welcome set the tone for our whole holiday. Our rooms were very comfortable in a lovely setting. Great views from the dining room over the Aegean Sea. The warmth of Nicoletta, Marie, Mum, Dad and all the staff was wonderful. We had great fun with all of them and were looked after as if we were members of their family.The food was really good and plentiful and their home produced wine was of very good quality. We will never get better service anywhere. We were on a walking holiday with HF Holidays and out every day walking through beautiful Naxos scenery. Hotel Grotta was the perfect place to come back to after a days walking. The jacuzzi was particularly welcome for tired limbs. Fabulous place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 831MargaretH831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location, great people, great service, great view, great wine, great breakfast, great olives and great room (50). We loved it here, you will too. Thanks Dimitri, Nicolette, Dad, Mum and Marine.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Hubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

You honestly feel that you are being welcomed into someone's home rather than staying at a hotel! From the welcome drink and snack to the homemade goodies for breakfast, it really does feel like a home away from home. Nicoletta and her family really make your trip special and really do think about how the can make your visit special. The only note I would make is that if you a planning on spending your trip at the beach, it is on the opposite side of the town (about a 20 minute walk), but this is also what gives it such great views.

Room Tip: Sea view is totally with it (we got upgraded)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasonO_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here as part of a vacation package. We were greeted with homemade pastries and local wine while the kids enjoyed orange soda. Location is very good, only a 5-10 min walk to the harbor and most local restaurants. The rooms were clean and well-appointed, breakfast was outstanding with more freshly-prepared pastries and local menu choices. The staff were very friendly and helped us plan our two-day tour of the island. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We went island hopping around the Cyclades for our honeymoon in June 2011 and were due to stay in Naxos for 3 nights - Hotel Grotta was recommended to us in Athens so we called and booked it a day before arriving. A mini bus was waiting to meet us from the ferry and the hotel was only a couple of minutes up the road on a slight hill. When we got there we were met by the hotels owner, can't remember her name unfortunately but she was absolutely lovely and so welcoming. Our room was fantastic- very homely and comfortable and above all, spotlessly clean. We were taken outside to see the amazing views and given wine and olives, while we were told about the surrounding area and places to go. In the morning we went down to breakfast - there was an incredible selection of traditional Greek homemade cakes, tarts etc all made by the owners mother along with cofee, tea, fresh juices and fruit. The food was beautiful and we sat outside looking out over the sea whilst we ate in the sun. On the second night there we returned to our room and found a large jug of wine, made by the owners father from his own vineyard, along with a handwritten note saying she hoped we were enjoying our stay and please enjoy the wine with her compliments. We hadn't mentioned we were on honeymoon, so this wasn't special treatment - it was just a friendly gesture that she extended to us for no particular reason! We thought that was so nice - I have kept the note along with other keepsakes of our honeymoon. We were only due to stay in Naxos for 3 nights before travelling on to Santorini and Paros. We stayed for 4 instead as we didn't want to leave. We also decided to go back again after Santorini instead of going to Paros as planned. Unfortunately we couldn't get a room at Hotel Grotta when we returned as they were fully booked so we stayed in a different place near to Georges Beach, but we will most definitely return to Hotel Grotta again one day. If you're looking for a home from home, full of personal touches then Hotel Grotta is the place to go. One more recommendation - there's a restaurant down at the harbour called Meze2 - absolutely lovely, we went 3 times and it was fabulous! For anyone reading this and thinking of going to Naxos, you are so lucky and I'm very jealous - enjoy!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view so it might be worth asking for one when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeebellWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 three nights and had the best time. Someone was waiting for us at the ferry to pick us up. It was not even a 5 minute ride to the hotel. We were also dropped off at the airport. The breakfast was amazing and everything was homemade with a wide variety of choices. Our room was clean and comfortable. The whole staff was so welcoming and hospitable, especially Nikoletta, the mom, and Marine. Nikoletta graciously had the rental car dropped off for us, so we were able to see most of the island, as well as spending some time at the different beaches. Easy walk to the main town for some dinner and historic sight seeing.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room along the seaside. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetraveling05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights in September in one of the rooms on the main floor, near the front of the hotel. I booked hotels for Naxos a bit late, and had trouble finding something that seemed a good value - I think we really lucked out with our room at Hotel Grotta.
Someone meets you at the ferry to take you and your bags up from the port to the hotel. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk down a hill to the port, so help with bags was appreciated! Our room was quite large, had a large window, and queen size bed. The quality of the bed and sheets was comfortable, but not luxurious ... although I wasn't expecting 4/5 star hotel amenities. The bathroom was clean, with a small shower and pedestal sink, and exhaust fan. The only concern I had with the room was noise. I think the first two nights there wasn't anyone in the room next door, or there were quiet guests. The third night you could here the room next door's conversations word for word through the bathroom wall!
A full breakfast is included in the rate, and it was by far the largest selection with homemade offerings we saw on our two week trip to Greece. The hosts are very friendly, going out of their way to meet and talk with you! We were able to get a few restaurant and beach recommendations. They also offer laundry service for a very reasonable fee; since we had another week of travel after our stay in Naxos, we had a few things laundered, and everything came back clean and nicely folded.
Overall we thought we landed a great deal and thoroughly enjoyed out stay! Definitely would stay here on our next trip to Naxos.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.8 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
8.5 mi away
Faros Villa
Faros Villa
#2 of 122 in Naxos
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 57 in Naxos Town
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 57 in Naxos Town
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta

Address: 7 Iakovos Kampanellis, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $74 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grotta 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Grotta Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing