We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious breakfasts”
Review of Hotel Grotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grotta
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

A great family run hotel, minutes from the port, with spectacular views over the sea and Apollo's Temple.
Recommendations for restaurants and sight seeing were spot on. They even arranged a hire car for us with pickup and drop off right at the hotel.
Very clean hotel with happy, welcoming staff. Certainly value for money. Almost felt like home!
Now, the breakfast was amazing, so much variety and cooked fresh each day by the mother.
The transport to and from port much appreciated, even though it is walking distance.
Would highly recommend to anyone.
Kerry & Peter ( Adelaide, Australia )

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaytime62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

Once we arrived we were greeted with amazing hospitality. Bags were carried to our room and we were told of all the beaches and sights to visit. The view was amazing. Great view of apollo's temple and the sunset. Flat screen tv in the rooms and a door that leads to great back area.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lardeljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a great place to stay - unbelievable start and end to our island hopping. We were there for two nights on different weekends. The hotel staff was incredibly gracious at every moment, offering homemade drinks and treats upon arrival. Not to mention they helped us find out lost luggage and gave us a free ride to the airport to pick it up. The rooms are very clean - we were on the first floor for our first night and the ground floor by the pool for our second night the next weekend. Each room comes with an outdoor space. The breakfast in the morning was incredible - with tons of homemade dishes. There is free internet and a wonderful common area to take in the bay and Naxos scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatingcharmcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

An exceptionally nice family run hotel. Nicoletta and her father Dimitris Lianos have welcomed us like family member. Mr Lianos picked us up at the port and drove us back to the port when we left. Nicoletta is an exceptional, friendly and helpful host. She did everything possible to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is comfortable and has a great view on the sea, Chora and the Temple of Apollo from the terrace. The place is quiet and less than 10 min walk from the port, Chora and restaurants. The buffet breakfast is excellent. The room was quite large, very clean, with comfortable bed (which is often lacking in many hotels), fridge, balcony, AC and good shower.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fouc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Wonderful, clean hotel! Nicoletta welcomed us with wine and a snack and was helpful and smiling throughout our stay. We were picked up at the ferry terminal and given a complimentary shuttle to the hotel (and back). Laundry was done for 10 euros a bag. Substantial free breakfast. Good exchange library as well. Wonderful views of the "Delos arch". If the path into town were fixed, Grotta would be perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliviash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

One of the BEST hotels we have stayed anywhere. Outstanding hospitality and we loved the location close to charming Old Town and the bus station, rather than the resort area at St. George beach. Even if you don't have a seaside room, perched on the hillside the sunset view is BEAUTIFUL with a glass of their homemade wine (made by Nikoletta's father) on the terrace. Nikoletta, the proprietor, went out of her way to make our anniversary and exploring Naxos the most enjoyable. She enthusiastically planned out our excursions to villages with detailed instructions, recommended the best sites, tavernas and concerts and even gave us guidebooks. With the delicious, huge breakfast, attractive, comfortable decor, what more can you ask for? We will definitely return, even if the shower is small! RESTAURANT TIP - Meze2 for amazing seafood.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinfamilyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here on an organised walking holiday. The family who run the hotel are really warm and friendly. Room was good and breakfast was sensational. Lots of homemade dishes and plenty of choice. Hotel is short walk from Naxos Town and the whole island is untouristy and beautiful in April. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.8 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
446 reviews
8.5 mi away
Faros Villa
Faros Villa
#1 of 123 in Naxos
378 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#7 of 58 in Naxos Town
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 58 in Naxos Town
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta

Address: 7 Iakovos Kampanellis, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
#4 Best Value Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $63 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grotta 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Grotta Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing