We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Galaxy Hotel for 1 night after the hotel where we had originally made our booking could not accommodate us on the first of 4 nights in Naxos. Our one night stay at Galaxy Hotel was very pleasant. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, the rooms & bathroom decent size, nice pool area and decent continental breakfast. The location is fantastic, approximately 100 meter from the beach and a short stroll into the main town. Overall all, we were happy with our stay and would probably return if we visit Naxos again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiFoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    101
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
84
197
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, rooms ok size but pretty tight with the washroom. Very musty moldy smell like A/C needed a good clean. Floor wasn't too clean in the room, otherwise quite clean and nicely kept grounds. Friendly front desk and cleaning staff but a little inflexible and one female bartender a little rude. Family oriented, but nothing traditional or authentic about it; caters to the charter flight crowd if that's what you like then its ok but over priced in our view. Would recommend as overall it was good or maybe a little better than average.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldoLicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in the family room. The hotel is steps from a good beach and very close( walking distance) to all the shopping and restaurants. The location is its prime advantage. The free breakfast is good but after 4 days of the same items a little variety would be good. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious and the baths have a waterfall shower with body jets! (great after along day at the beach) The pool gets crowded. Overall it was a very positive experience and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We back again and stayed three nights in Galaxy Hotel and we charmed! The Galaxy hotel has a soft decoration with warm colours that makes you calm! The service was great and very helpful, the hotel has all the facilities that you need such as swimming pool, pool bar , restaurant and if you dont want to swim on the pool has closed the sandy beach of Saint George where is a dream! All was so organised perfect from cleanliness to hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MERISA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Galaxy Hotel is located on the outskirts of Naxos town in an area fronting the beach .
Overall it is a good hotel with clean modern rooms and very good staff . In particular Helena on the front desk assisted us greatly . She help us design our own self drive tour and then organised the hire car for us . Stephanos the duty manager was always there with a smile and quickly rectified with a small problem we had one day with servicing the room .
There is a lovely pool area and the buffet breakfast is very good and you can walk into town (15 minutes ) by two routes that takes you past many shops and restaurants.
We Certainly recommend the Galaxy as part of your Naxos experience

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidb0962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just brilliant; location, size, staff, facilities, bathroom everything. The location is great half a kilometre to the square with a lot of restaurants on the way one kilometre from the harbour front. To call the beach a block away is a little misleading it’s more like a stones throw and in full view of the hotel with no buildings spoiling the view. There are mobility issue which the hotel has done as much as they could to address. The very nature of the building which makes it visually interesting means quite a few steps. If you have mobility issues check the layout it may not be for you. As lots of other reviewers have said top floor superior room with a pool view is a must. Everything about the hotel ensured we had a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: If you can go for a superior top floor room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BradfordTravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past eight years and always enjoyed it. I think it is even better than it used to be! A few years ago they remodeled the rooms and they are beautifully decorated now. We have recommended this hotel to friends and family and they have all enjoyed it.

Here are some "thumbs up" and "thumbs down" --

Thumbs UP:

Wonderful staff -- The owner Lambros and his beautiful wife Eleni make every visitor feel welcome. When we return, we almost feel we are with family again. The property manager, Stephanos, is very efficient and helpful. Petra serves us at the poolside and she is very gracious and friendly. Everyone speaks English well.

Modern rooms -- The rooms have been completely refurbished and are really beautiful. The bathrooms are very expensively done -- Villeroy & Boch sink and showers. Now that's first class!

Pristinely clean and large pool.

Just a few meters from the beach. You can just pop down there for a quick dip and return to the pool without having to actually set up camp at the beach to enjoy it. There's a nice shower at the beachside entrance to the pool to wash off the salt and sand. There are also a number of seaside eateries just a few steps away.

Good breakfast -- This is the biggest improvement I have noticed over the years. Now you can get your choice of fancy coffees, including cappucinos, from a high-end coffee machine. And it's delicious.

Great location -- Although this is listed as being in Naxos Town, the hotel stands at the edge of the town. This is good because it is not crowded around the hotel area. Most of Naxos Town is just piled one building on top of the other, but this one stands by itself. It is a short 5 minute walk to good restaurants and about 15 minutes to the harbor front. The front desk can call a taxi for you if you need one and they are inexpensive.

Thumbs DOWN:

Not all the rooms are the same. Be sure to ask for a seaview room. They are a bit more expensive, but worth it.

Be sure to have someone tell you how to operate the shower controls. Once you know how to do it, they are fine, but it is not obvious just how to do it.

Rooms are a bit small, but still large enough to contain a queen sized bed, two night stands, a sofa and sofa table plust a vanity table with ottoman.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ortlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 60 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#3 of 60 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 60 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#21 of 60 in Naxos Town
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
Hotel Galini & Sofia Latina
#5 of 60 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Property: Galaxy Hotel
Address: Agios Georgios Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#8 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galaxy Hotel is located in the south-western part of the town of Naxos (Chora), just a few steps from the Blue Flag sandy beach of Saint George. Ideally located in the centre of the coast, it offers easy access to all of Naxos' attractions. Fully renovated in 2014 in accordance with the Cycladic architecture, it aims at providing its guests with all modern comforts for a pleasant stay. It offers excellent service, discrete modern luxury and authentic quality, perfectly combined with an idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Naxos City
Galaxy Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing