We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hotel, Great Location, Friendly Staff”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I came here from Santorini after our wedding to begin our honeymoon. The hotel made sure a taxi was there to pick us up (€8), and they noted that we were coming in after our wedding - so they fixed the incorrect reservation we made to be a double bed with a beautiful canopy, from a set a twin beds.

The breakfast was pretty good, and the pool was great. The bartenders are quite good and funny too. The beach is a stones throw away, maybe 100 yards or so. And the town square is only a nice 10 minute walk away. There are a few nice shops and a handful of tasty restaurants.

Very clean, and very nice rooms. The showers are probably the best in Europe (I'm 6'3", and I had plenty of space). All in all, a very good hotel. Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Galaxy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 412 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very friendly staff, very well located next to the beach and only a short walk from Naxos town.

The reception at the hotel was very friendly and after a quick check-in, we were guided to our room. Although the room is rather small, it was large enough for the 2 of us. It had a good size bathroom with a great (jacuzzi) shower. There were plenty of shower gels, shampoos available in the bathroom (and they were replenished every day).

The room was very clean and unlike in most hotels in Greece, you can actually throw your paper in the toilet instead of in the traditional greek waste basket.

We had some of the salads they offer in the hotel. They were large, very nice and at a very reasonable price.

There is a small safe available in the room and the hotel provides you with towels for the pool. They will ask for a 5 euro deposit for the towel, but you'll get the money back when you bring back the towel at the end of your stay.

If you want some inside info on great restaurants in the neighbourhood, just ask the staff. Naxos town with its lovely harbour is just a short walk (literally a few minutes) away. The town offers some great restaurants (Meltemi was our favourite) and ice-cream bars (try the waffle house for the best ice-cream in Naxos town).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Broekie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Super friendly service, beautiful rooms with lots of space and very modern facilities, a breakfast buffet to die for (including delicious locally made giaourti!), a huge swimming pool, in-grounds playground for the kids, and beach access within 50m. We will most certainly be coming back here in the future.

Room Tip: With two small kids, we got a room with a double bed, single bed, convertible couch, and baby cot. W...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Galaxy Hotel for a couple of days. The location is great, 1 min away from the beach, 5 minutes away from the town square. The room was small but very cozy, the staff was very friendly and professional, especial thanks to Eleni, Petra and Nancy. Definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've just spent a couple of weeks at the Galaxy, it is definitley one of the best holiday hotels we've ever stayed in.

The position is exceptional, it's just 50 metres or so to the beach and 500 to the town centre, close enough to enjoy but far enough away to be quiet. The general standard of cleanliness is very very high, the quality of the breakfasts is really good, the grounds and pool are immaculate, the staff and management can't do enough for you, the rooms are top notch, furnishings and fittings are contemporary and good quality.

If you're going to Naxos, stay here, you won't be disappointed, we could understand why so many people return to this hotel year after year after year and we'll be joining them!

The only negative for me, was the use of foam pillows in the rooms, why on earth would you spend £millions on the refurb that they have and skimp on these? Silly in our opinion but hey, we were comfortable enough so perhaps they are right!

Room Tip: There's not a poor room or position here, it's laid out like a small village rather than a s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Chose this place from a photo on a tourist map. Very glad I did. It is a pleasant, 15 minute walk to the furthest side of Naxos town, and that walk takes you through the less touristy portions of the town. It is a 2 minute walk from a fantastic beach for windsurfing, swimming, sunbathing, etc. It has a very nice pool, deck and bar/restaurant. The restaurant manager wrote down all the food available for the particular day we arrived, and the food was good (although they screwed up the order a bit, but with seven people talking at the same time to them in their second language, I could hardly fault them). Staff were friendly and very helpful; I had a problem with a motorcycle tire, they first called around extensively to try to find a fix, and when that didn't work (because of lack of stock, not lack of effort on their part), they put me in touch with a place to rent a substitute. Breakfast was really good. Rooms were really nice with small outdoor sitting areas for sharing a late night beer or ouzo. A bit stiff about using the blue pool towels at the beach, but other than this (and they probably lose lots of towels that way) it really was pretty much perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Suzuki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very stylish hotel with a good location- staff really helpful and friendly, especially the receptionist- Breakfast was fine with most of the usual choices. The only downside was there was little storage space, but great power shower and bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room as you will have more privacy
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HELEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 58 in Naxos Town
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 58 in Naxos Town
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 58 in Naxos Town
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#3 of 58 in Naxos Town
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: | Saint George, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#8 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $104 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galaxy Hotel is located in the south-western part of the town of Naxos (Chora), just a few steps from the Blue Flag sandy beach of Saint George. Ideally located in the centre of the coast, it offers easy access to all of Naxos' attractions. Fully renovated in 2014 in accordance with the Cycladic architecture, it aims at providing its guests with all modern comforts for a pleasant stay. It offers excellent service, discrete modern luxury and authentic quality, perfectly combined with an idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Naxos City
Galaxy Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing