We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll keep coming back.”
Review of Galaxy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We've been staying in Galaxy while in Naxos for almost ten years in a row. We love the location, friendly staff, nice pool and renovated rooms. With two children you will fit nicely in the triple room with an extra bed. The garden is well kept and the hotel is always clean. The price might seem high, but not compared to other similar hotels on the island. You are only few steps from the beach, close to the restaurants and there is a large supermarket nearby. The hotel staff will help you with everything- this time my husband got a ride to the hospital even though he was prepared to take a taxi. Naxos is the perfect island for a Greek holiday and Galaxy is the hotel to stay at. And the beds are extremely comfortable, which is unusual to Greek hotels. We will return for the years to come.

Room Tip: Room 139 is our favorite for a family with two kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terhikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 421 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you want to be within walking distance of town, yet need parking for your car which you really need because Naxos is absolutely stunning. It's also close to the town beach. The hotel has a really nice pool and the rooms are renovated but there is an issue with the air conditioning that I have seen mentioned on the other posts. It kind of shuts off after about 8 hours. Not ideal when sleeping. The rooms are nicely designed with a good bathroom and shower. The bed was the best on our trip, it's pretty awesome. The staffing is lean but they seem to get the job done. The owner is really cool and helpful. I would recommend but more for families, as Naxos seems a little more geared toward families. A little bit about Naxos..explore the island. Go to Halki and take the drive to Apollonis. It is an amazing drive. The beaches south of town are fantastic but you may see some naked middle to late middle aged bodies, just be prepared. You also may see Sharon Stone like we did. Also nude, of course. It a gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jno2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Galaxy is well-positoned being one minute's walk to the St George Beach and a 5 minute walk into the town itself, either along the beach or through the shops and restaurants. The hotel and its grounds were immaculately kept. The pool area was beautiful too. Our room was spacious and had a large Jacuzzi shower.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Have just returned from our 5th. visit to the Galaxy. Whilst the external view of the hotel does not appear to have altered, the interior has been completely renovated. The bedroom brought up to date with a superb bed and fantastic shower unit must make this the best on the island. However it is not only the interior that makes this super hotel, it is the help from the friendly staff Lampros, Stephanos,Petra and indeed all the staff down to the maid that serviced our bedroom. The island always calls you back and now with the modernised Galaxy there cant be anywhere else we can wish to return to.

Room Tip: WE always chose a room on the second floor overlooking the pool with a view to the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chalkey128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We just returned from a great stay at the Galaxy Naxos. Room was modern, clean with a good shower. Bed was comfy and room had a great view of the sea and pool. Pool was good and pool bar was ok although all day/eve music got a bit annoying. Breakfast was a nice selection and choice to sit indoor or out. Location was close to beach and only a 10 min walk into the town. Very good service from the hotel staff. Sorted out rental cars which was very convenient. Would certainly return.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank PhilDowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotels is a real gem. The location, just 2 minutes from a wonderful beach, the appearance (beautiful building surrounded by a a marvellous garden), the cleaness (it was rfully renovated in 2010) and the hospitality. Be sure you book a room on the second floor, because of the better sea view by the pool. The only disadvadage was the poor breakfast,but overall it was a perfect choice. We will defenetly go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alexandra16675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at the Galaxy Hotel on Naxos for one week in June 2011. If you're looking for modern and clean (but no character) then this is the place for you. I had been travelling for 6 weeks and was used to old and quaint so this was a big change. The pool was wonderful (nice pool bar) and it was just one block to the beach where there were fabulous restaurants and a short walk to the main town. Breakfast was included in the room price and this was a nice start to the day. There is typically no other food served at the hotel other than breakfast but the manager, Stephanos, cooked us a fabulous private meal one evening with what he had on hand and we ate at the pool. Stephanos can also arrange tours of the island which was great. Naxos is a wonderful large island - not as touristy as most and very green and fertile - lots to see. Don't miss Old Town - hilly and quaint. The walk down the waterfront is also not to be missed in the evening or any time of day for that matter. Although I'm not a fan of Chinese food, don't miss East West Restaurant downtown - fabulous!

Room Tip: If you stay in the sea view rooms the balcony is too hot to sit on (although your laundry and bathin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxos Town
0.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 57 in Naxos Town
525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 57 in Naxos Town
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 57 in Naxos Town
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
1.6 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel

Address: | Saint George, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#8 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $97 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Galaxy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galaxy Hotel is located in the south-western part of the town of Naxos (Chora), just a few steps from the Blue Flag sandy beach of Saint George. Ideally located in the centre of the coast, it offers easy access to all of Naxos' attractions. Fully renovated in 2014 in accordance with the Cycladic architecture, it aims at providing its guests with all modern comforts for a pleasant stay. It offers excellent service, discrete modern luxury and authentic quality, perfectly combined with an idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galaxy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Naxos City
Galaxy Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing