We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional Greek Pension”
Review of Chateau Zevgoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Zevgoli
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Naxos Town
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Zevgoli, after my sister stayed there in 2010, and I also read reviews here on Trip Advisor. The hotel which is really a large B&B (has 10 rooms), is in a great location, in the old market area of Naxos just below/in front of the Venetian Castle (which you must visit). We followed their instructions from the port to the Apollon Hotel, where a family member of the owners took our bags and led us to the hotel. Having booked a room with a view and balcony, it was a lovely surprise to receive room 11, at the very top with it's own private terrace. The room had it's own sitting area with airconditioning, separate bathroom and bedroom with 4 poster bed and airconditioning that worked really well, along with a little balcony and double glazed door/window shutter setup. The hotel is now getting a bit tired and needs a freshening. Breakfast could also do with a major re-think, while juice, hot hard boiled egg, 2 slices of cheese, 2 slices of ham, greek yoghurt, sliced bread and jams, and either tea of coffee was okay for the first morning, but not for 3 ocassions, variety would have been great, also at times it was hard to communicate with the lovely greek lady that provided the breakfast and then cleaned the rooms. You need to be aware that there is no reception but a phone to call the family at the Apollon Hotel during the day if you need anything. Upon check-in you receive your room key, along with the front door key to the hotel and instructions on unlocking and locking the front door during the day as you come and go. We enjoyed our stay, as the location is easy to access, once you remember to look 'up' for the little signs pointing to the hotel on each intersection of alley ways in the old market area. There are plenty of great cafe's and bistro's to eat at nearby and a mini supermarket. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book room 11.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iggybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Zevgoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. The rooms and furnishings were delightful. The staff were friednly and extremely helpful. The hotel was far beter than I ever expected. A little hard to find at first as the streets are a bit of a maize (charming though), but htere a lot of signs diecting the way up - so if you are not fit, maybe you should stay at one of the hotels down around the harbour - but you will miss out of the wonderful views! All the rooms are different, so it is the luck of the draw on how large or small your room will be. Certainly, if we find ourselves in Naxos again, we will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is pretty special - large balcony, beautiful 4 poster bed, fridge and very large room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our four night stay at the Chateau Zevgoli was arranged by Fantasy Travel and was the perfect ending to our 2 1/2 week trip to Greece. We had room 11, a bedroom/sitting room suite with a balcony looking out to the Apollo Gate. Sadly, due to news media stories, tourism was down this summer in Naxos, so for a few days we were pretty much alone. Ellen very nicely showed us how to manuveur through the narrow streets to reach the waterfront and that's how we realized that it was an ideal location. Located in the shadow of the Venetian Castle, the Chateau offers a wonderful historical ambience. The rooms are furnished with antiques and older style furniture. Sitting room had a small refrigerator, so we could keep water bottles and snacks cold. The breakfast was served to us each day (no buffet, so we didn't overeat): juice, melon, hard-boiled egg, cheese, bread, Greek yoghurt, tea or coffee. Charming furnishings, clean room, delicious breakfasts, helpful staff and great location - who could ask for anything more?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 46Elizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My impression is that you will either like or dislike this place based on which room you are in. Our room was cute and quiet, but I did peak in some of the other rooms and while some were nice, other seemed small and not as charming. The location was great, though it should be noted that if you have mobility problems, it is quite an uphill hike from the closest road (a taxi can not drop you off at the door). This isnt unusual because of how Naxos is laid out, but it could be a problem for some. Honestly, if you have mobility problems, the Greek Isles in general are probably not a great bet. Naxos is amazing though and we didn't have issues with the winding alleys - they were our favorite part actually! The roof patio is nice and the common area was cute and authentic. REAL greek yogurt and eggs. Simple breakfast. It was the same both days we stayed, so I coud see this getting old if you stayed for awhile.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy7512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked a room and when we arrived we realise it wasnt what we expect.. the room was so small..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Very friendly staff, very helpful. Spoke good English. Good view of the Apollo Gate. Great location in the old-town of Naxos. Easily walked to restaurants and the harbor. Room was a bit battered. could use a little updating. Strange bathroom layout. Had to walk up 3 steps to get inside the bathroom. Hard to remember that in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We actually stayed in Kastro which is the sister accomodation to the Zevgoli. Its a wonderful situation set high up in the old castle walls and is so atmospheric, as its full of antique furniture, books and ornaments, its like staying in a friends house more than a hotel or studio. Its as far removed from faceless hotel block as one could get. Very clean and well looked after, a lovely victorian style brass bed, The staff at the Zevgoli when ever we popped in could not have been nicer or more helpful, and treated us like old friends, actually the people in Naxos generally we found to be really welcoming. The lady at Fun Cars at the port where we hired our jeep from was delighful and so full of tips and ideas, and she never led us wrong. The Kastro is right in the middle of the old town so its a bit of a rabbit warren to navigate round but thats hlaf the fun!, Yet it is still peaceful with a lovely shared courtyard and we had a super enclosed balcony with views over to the sea. I lived on Paros, the next door island, for 5 years until 2010 and had I lived on Naxos I might well still be there! I would happily reccomend Kastro, The Zevgoli and Naxos itself to anyone who loves Greece and wants to really experience the 'real' Greece.

Room Tip: The room we had at The Kasro on the higher floor had the nicest view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbieparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#6 of 58 in Naxos Town
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollon Naxos Town
Apollon Naxos Town
#28 of 58 in Naxos Town
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Anixis
Hotel Anixis
#29 of 58 in Naxos Town
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palatia
Hotel Palatia
#20 of 58 in Naxos Town
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nastasia Village Hotel
Nastasia Village Hotel
#3 of 58 in Naxos Town
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 58 in Naxos Town
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Zevgoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Zevgoli

Address: Bourgos Chora, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range: $64 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Zevgoli 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Zevgoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Zevgoli Hotel Naxos City
Chateau Zevgoli Naxos City
Chateau Zevgoli Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing