We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family restaurant at good prices”

I Kali Kardia (The Good Heart)
Ranked #60 of 133 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant at good prices”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very friendly staff always joking with our son. Delicious vegetarian menu (even catering for vegans with traditional greek dishes like gigantes and fassolia etc). Our son was a big fan of the pizza menu too. They also offer generous retsina carafes! And all at very reasonable prices.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HuddsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    17
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Genuin Great Greek Gerontakis”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Where do we start?This place serves you whatever you can imagine from the greek traditional cuisine!And all produced on the family farm!Fresh and tasteful,not overpriced, and close to the port of Naxos . Helpful and smiling staff from early morning to late evenings!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“the good heart of the gerontakis family”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My favourite on the paralia for twenty years now!(we stay the whole months of june and september...);the family run traditional taverna gave some compromise away by adding pizzas on their menu but kept the essentials of the traditional kitchen (lots of locals at the tables is a signal that not lies...);
my favourite is the fish soup (last june 8euros) served the traditional way:the soup with rice and avgolemoni and the fish with the vegetables served as a side dish...a delicacy in its rural simplicity!..
Vaggeli runs the orders and never keeps his eyes off the game,looking for little problems he'll tackle with the smile...just try it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simonetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Náxos, Kikladhes, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

For five years visiting Naxos. One of my favorite places you go is the restaurant "good heart". Have very good GREEK CUISINE, the best pizza on the island, excellent service, great views and reasonable prices.
You recommended:

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nektarios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forchheim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza, best Snitzel, ... best Eisbein with Kraut ?”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The "I Kali Kardia" was once really one of the best Taverns on Naxos. I was there first in the early nineteeth initiatet by a recommendation of a greek friend. Till, 2000 I always ate there.
After my "Cycladic break" I was there again in 2006, now with my girlfriend.
The menue was by now much longer and additional translations in French and German were added. Despite our order was taken electronically (I love this in hollidays :-(), my girlfriend got the wrong dish. Starters were served at the same time as the main dishes and nothing tasted good.
I couldn't really believe that the quality sank so extremely, so persuaded my girlfriend ever once in a while to try it again, always with the same result - disappointment.
Last year it was for sure the last time: They had a lamb on the spit it looked absolutely tempting, our favourite tavern doesn't offer this, therefore we took another try.
Result - it was dry not well spiced and mostly bones. As we left we saw there was nothing missing from this lamb on the spit that seduced me.

By the way I can't comment any nongreek dish in Greece after 32 years of holidays in Greece, I even try to avoid taverns offering it. But that gets more and more difficult because of a certain kind of tourists asking for this. And sadly even those people are customers and the Greeks try to keep all customers satisfied.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Kali Kardia (The Good Heart) also viewed

Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 
Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos, Cyclades
 
Naxos, Cyclades
Naxos, Cyclades
 

Been to I Kali Kardia (The Good Heart)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing