We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good pizza but lousy service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Amore Mio

Taverna Amore Mio
Ranked #66 of 132 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Price range: $12 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Athens
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good pizza but lousy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The pizza is pretty good because it probably comes from Italy, because it took them 1.5 h to bring it to us..And they never brought the bruscettas we order to eat before the pizzas. This is the second time that this happens to this restaurant (the previous time they just forgot to bring my food). And that happened on a slow night, not in the peak of the season.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scoa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    38
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanko, Finland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great pizza and pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Best Pizza in Greece for doubt! If you get fed up with Greek food during your holiday in Naxos, I would highly recommend this place where you get genuine Italian dishes which are made from fresh incredients! Good and helpful service. Owner\boss seems to quite hard for her staff but that is not my problem :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jartsa1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“As good as in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had lunch here twice in the last couple of days.....and without doubt two of the best pizza we've ever eaten - and that includes our trips to Italy! The authentic wood oven really makes the difference......give this place a try, from some of the previous reviews written it as obviously changed, for the better IMO

On both occasions we ordered one pizza, one salad, 500ml of house red wine & a large bootle of water.....both, the pizzas and salads are big enough for two - the salads or meant for meals- hence the size and slightly more expensive than regular ones in a typical taverna. The house red was excellent, don't quote me but it tasted Italian.....the service was excellent and friendly...great setting on Plaka beach......22 & 24€ was excellent value considering the standard we received

Will be back next week and the week after.....still over 2 weeks holiday time left....oh, their beach sunbeds are free and the best on Plaka beach IMO.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank milesfromewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Just back from our annual trip to Naxos. We ate at Amore Mios 3 times and got take out twice. Food consistently excellent. Pizza thin and crispy with generous toppings, excellent pasta dishes. You need to be hungry to finish everything. Special mention to Vjola who my 4 yr old son fell in love with and who couldn't have been nicer to us. See you next year.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evharjaksofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unacceptable disaster!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We went two times at Amore Mio this year. The first time was so and so. The horiatiki (the so-called "greek salad') was really untasty with some olives decorating the plate. Two of us ordered spaghetti "all'arrabiata" the sauce of which is made with olive oil, garlic and hot pepper. They still are waiting for the effect of the hot peppers...We gave a second chance to Amore Mio to retrieve a bit of our consideration. This time was a real disaster. As a starter, we ordered bruschette ( a toasted slice of bread with olive oil and garlic) which should have been coverd with olive paste. We had bruschette with olives cut into thin slices...This was only a beginning. Then we ordered a "chef salad". What a surprise when we found four olive stones hidden in the salad leaves. We are still wondering whether these stones transited through the mouth of someone else. Was that a speciality of the chef? On this occasion and for the second time, we ordered spaghetti "all'arrabiata" and once again we are still waiting (two weeks after our visit to Amore Mio) the effect of the hot peppers. And now, last but not least, because it is emblematic of a lack of correction and consideration towards the customer, we will shortly describe what happened with the fusilli "pratinfiore" the sauce of which, according to the menu, was supposed to contain asparagus. To our surprise, the latter was substituted with...broccoli. In conclusion, we would like the staff of Amore Mio to change its way of thinking and to give up with the idea that customers are only good to be spoiled. The dishes which are presented in the plates must stick to what is described in the menu and if ingredients are missing it is imperative to omit the corresponding dishes from the menu.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Amore Mio also viewed

Naxos, Cyclades
Naxos Town, Naxos
 
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Taverna Amore Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing