We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, great price - family run place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metaxi mas

Metaxi mas
Ranked #50 of 131 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Amazing food, great price - family run place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went here with a group of eight and had an amazing experience. fantastic squid and variety of cheeses. Husband and wife both cooked and served the food and were extremely nice. Great value for a huge meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    56
    29
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Our worst restaurant experience in the Cyclades”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

In the old town this restaurant looks like an idyllic place to stop for a nice meal..On this occasion how wrong that assumption turned out. It was mid afternoon and they had maybe 10 people seated across 3 tables already. We waited 10 minutes and nobody even gave us a menu we had to get up and go inside the restaurant searching for one.. We then waited an age and we were about to give up and leave(how I wish we had) before someone finally came over asking us what we would like.

We ordered two main meals and a portion of fries to be brought together . The fries arrived but nothing else, we again waited an age and ate the fries semi cold as clearly the main corse was not arriving. Hallelujah the mains arrived but only one not two and suffice to say I ate most of my main course before my wife's even arrived.

There are other restaurant options within the old town...please ....use them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Greekadmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
303 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Waiting 35 minutes...DO NOT STOP”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Waiting 35 minutes for warm cheese and grilled octopus...
I was alone, and my Greek neighbors arrived 20 minutes after me were served a long time before me.
Very cold wellcome, I understand they prefer large families, but it was late and the restaurant half empty
Very ordinary food you can get anywhere...DO NOT STOP

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeMParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Tourist trap?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located in the old town with tables in the "street". We have had some meals in our 3 1/2 week holiday in Greece and this was the 2nd worst. The chicken souvlaki I had was tasteless and dry. My daughter got her meal after the rest of us was finished. They simply forgot.The service was also slow, but friendly though. It could look nice when you see a restaurant in the street, but getting people "on" your table when passing by was not so cute.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely evening meal in Naxos Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Travelled to Naxos July 2013 having read some of the reviews about where to go and what to do in the evening.Walked up to the old sector near the port area and was spell bound by the beauty of the meandering alley ways and found Metaxy Mas. Fantastic setting outside and pleasant inside run by efficient but relaxed staff . Food good and fairly priced, wine though not brilliant. Great ambiance with a strong traditional feel. Paid something like £50 for decent meal for 4, composed 2 adults and two late teenage children.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metaxi mas also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Metaxi mas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing