We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Nikos Taverna

Nikos Taverna
Ranked #27 of 136 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family taverna since 1970
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Staff were very friendly and service was great. The food was good and we found it to be reasonably priced. Following the meal we were provided with a free desert and further free wine. Enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    92
    31
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended Nikos Taverna”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A wonderful family owned Greek Restaurant with delicious home-cooked meals and generous portions! From the appetizers to the desserts, superb service and taste! My husband and I really enjoyed eating here! The grilled chicken with oven baked potatoes and the dessert was our favorite! Nikos was the perfect eatery for us to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary! We will definitely be back when visit Naxos again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Authentic in Naxos”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Maria and her family provide the most delicious home-style Naxian food and hospitality at Niko's Restaurant. We are always treated as though we are Maria's family and have never been disappointed with what we have ordered on the menu. For the "Best in Naxos" be sure to eat at Niko's in Chora just below the fountain at the square.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greekphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice food, but poor service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Basically, this taverna serves very tasty dishes and has a large menu and nice setting. However, the service was very poor. Our starters were served approx 10 minutes apart and no apology. Plus extras such as bread and butter are pricey extras.
In addition, the wine was expensive and not as sampled in similar establishments.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elisecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simply Good”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been visiting this place for a few years and it is consistently good. For simple good quality food with good service at a reasonable price it is a great choice. It is conveniently located and suits my normal arrival time of 9.30 to 10.15 pm, at which point tables are being vacated and I've never had to wait. Give it a try and enjoy this family run place....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank loldan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikos Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Nikos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing