We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended Nikos Taverna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikos Taverna

Nikos Taverna
Ranked #28 of 132 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family taverna since 1970
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended Nikos Taverna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A wonderful family owned Greek Restaurant with delicious home-cooked meals and generous portions! From the appetizers to the desserts, superb service and taste! My husband and I really enjoyed eating here! The grilled chicken with oven baked potatoes and the dessert was our favorite! Nikos was the perfect eatery for us to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary! We will definitely be back when visit Naxos again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    89
    30
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Authentic in Naxos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Maria and her family provide the most delicious home-style Naxian food and hospitality at Niko's Restaurant. We are always treated as though we are Maria's family and have never been disappointed with what we have ordered on the menu. For the "Best in Naxos" be sure to eat at Niko's in Chora just below the fountain at the square.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greekphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice food, but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Basically, this taverna serves very tasty dishes and has a large menu and nice setting. However, the service was very poor. Our starters were served approx 10 minutes apart and no apology. Plus extras such as bread and butter are pricey extras.
In addition, the wine was expensive and not as sampled in similar establishments.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elisecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been visiting this place for a few years and it is consistently good. For simple good quality food with good service at a reasonable price it is a great choice. It is conveniently located and suits my normal arrival time of 9.30 to 10.15 pm, at which point tables are being vacated and I've never had to wait. Give it a try and enjoy this family run place....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank loldan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at this family owned taverna and were not disappointed. The kebab plate was huge with delicious home made veal and lamb sausages, pita bread, grilled tomatoes, home made chips and fresh salad - all on the one plate which was big enough for two to share. The frappe coffee was great too.

We were the only people in there while the taverna next door was packed. I think we got the best deal given Greece's lack of anti smoking laws!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kafpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikos Taverna also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Nikos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing