We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well priced; beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna To Kastro

Taverna To Kastro
Ranked #73 of 131 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well priced; beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We were wandering around the old town, took a quiet back street and ended up finding this restaurant in the middle of nowhere.

It was almost full by the time we arrived, but we managed to get a table in front. Since it's situated on a hill, you have a lovely view of the town below and it's nice and quiet.

We ordered fresh fish and the house wine. The food was good and the wine decent. Watch out for the cats though - as one of the diners found out, if you feed them scraps, they will not leave you alone!

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_CT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    50
    17
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst lamb chops I've had in Naxos”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The owner(?) recommended lamb chops so we chose them. Big mistake. There was hardly any meat around the bones and the little that was edible was mostly tasteless bubble gum and fat. Potatoes and broccoli tasted also bland. Not really worth the climb since the prices were also higher than elsewhere. Well, the scenery is nice, though...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hcjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Visiting the Castle has been one of the most incredible moments of our trip to Mani. The food was delicious, the scenery simply magic and unlike other similar places, it was a great value for money! I suggest everyone visit and taste the local specialties suggested by the chef-owner, Mr Petros.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kostas_Threetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxos Town, Greece
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely fish with a view to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

We asked the waiter for the catch of the day and we not disappointed! It was delicious and very reasonably priced too.

We shall go back tomorrow evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trips_ahoy_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Rabbit Country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

In a separate building along the main road, To Kastro feels like something in the country compared most restaurants in Kardamili. It has pleasant inside and outside eating areas and has the air of the sort of place where large Greek families eat in jolly conviviality at weekends, though it was very quiet when we were there on a Friday.

There was no menu and the friendly patron enthusiastically rattled off lists of salads, starters and mains. By the time he got to the end we had forgotten the beginning and asked for a reprise.

We opted for a shared mix of starters: spinach and cheese pie (very good); fish in oil with cucumber (very good); fried white cheese (good); and beetroot (too much vinegar masking the natural sweetness). For mains three of us had the To Castro signature dish, rabbit and roast potatoes, which was very tender, well flavoured and a generous size. One had the stuffed aubergine, which was fine – but as the only vegetarian dish was rather uninspired and disappointing for a restaurant the purports to offer ‘vegetarian specialities’. The complimentary dessert, B described it as a ‘reconstructed upside down cheese cake’, rounded off the meal well.

Our only serious complaint was to be rather thrown by the main course arriving at the table before we had finished the starters. Goodness know why, because with less than a dozen customers the kitchen can’t have been under pressure.

Overall, well worth going. Just don’t let the bunny motifs dotted around put you off the speciality – you are in the country, after all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna To Kastro also viewed

 

Been to Taverna To Kastro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing