We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down : THE BEST IN GREECE.”
Review of Meltemi Restaurant

Meltemi Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 145 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, International, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Hands down : THE BEST IN GREECE.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the reason why you come over and over to Naxos. The service, the food, everything is impeccable. From the owner to everyone serving you, specially the beautiful and friendly FLORA they make you feel at home. Here you will have THE best meal on the islands. We dined many times and will go there again in a heart beat. Make sure to order grilled cupira (gilted sea bream) , in season, which is the best fish on this part of Aegean sea. It is to die for! The local specialities , tomato or zucchini balls, fava, etc... whatever we ordered we loved it. Have chocolate soufflé for desert ! At the end of every meal, they offered us ouzo and melon or water melon. How can you not fall in love with this place...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    259
    76
    29
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Taverna”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loved this place! There is a sandwich board outside listing their specials, but they will also happily show you the kitchen pans and pots containing these well prepared dishes. Atmosphere is fabulous as the outside tables are canopied with grape vines. Prices are very reasonable and service gracious. I hope to come back here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabrth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Traditional”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Long-established taverna with very traditional cooking and friendly service. We ate there on both the first and second nights of our holiday because it just seems such an authentic place and the right way to begin a stay on Naxos!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely food!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

One of the best food experiences we had at Naxos. Lovely main courses and great chocolate souffl�� for desert! We thought the level of service variated a lot at the Island, but here at Meltemi it was very pleasant! Nice guys with humor and great knowledge about the products. I'd recommend it to everyone!

Helpful?
Thank Aizito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turvey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Popular and friendly taverna”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Once again I was remembered in a Naxos taverna, but this time because I did not praise their 3-meat Kleftiko in the review that followed my visit 16months ago. The Meltemi was as friendly as the previous time, but this time I had the lemon-lamb dish, so as to give them a good chance of a top score! I was not disappointed in it, and can report an excellent, most enjoyable meal, in good traditional taverna surroundings, and with good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pyghtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meltemi Restaurant also viewed

Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Meltemi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing