We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Terrific Service, Fantastic Prices”
Review of Maro's Taverna

Maro's Taverna
Ranked #17 of 136 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Terrific Service, Fantastic Prices”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place was our go-to place.
We felt very much at home there.
Katerina's smiles always made us feel very welcome.
The food was excellent (the meatballs and the stuffed tomatoes were particularly good). House wine was also cute good.
And for such cheap prices...
Go there.

(just a small warning: the cod was the one let-down, for me.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TalOrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    251
    141
    39
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not for Single women eating alone”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I first starting eating at Maro's in 2005. It was still my favourite taverna in 2010. The quality of food and prices are still quite good. However, However, if you are a single woman eating alone, expect to be ignored by the young men serving. When it becomes apparent you aren`t leaving, service borders on rude and inhospitable. Ive gotten a sense of this previously but last nights behavour was so disrespectful that I asked my dinner be wrapped as take away. Instead of sliding the pastichio (a heavenly mac and cheese dish) into a container, it was dumped as though into a dog dish. I will not be back and I would caution any single woman eating alone to not expect the level of service given to other customers arriving as couples or families.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabrth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so far best restaurant in Naxos”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

the food was so good, even house wine was perfect, very good price and fantastic staff, all of them. I suggest to you to try grilled octopus, calamari were perfect too, fried. fried feta and greek salad must be tested, high recommendation for this taverna

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best value in town!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Good quality food (best tarama in greece, for the moment).
Big plates.
Local people goes there to eat as well as tourists.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oinotonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Honest home cooked food like mama makes”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We ate at Maros 3 times during our 10 day stay and enjoyed every meal. The food is Greek comfort food, served in generous portions and accompanied by hubby's favourite Greek beer, Fix and their good barrell wine for me. Many extras were offered and the service is friendly and warm. You can't go wrong when you get fresh, delicous food at prices like this! It's our fave on Naxos!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maro's Taverna also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Maro's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing