We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were quite disappointed by the food, good service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picasso

Picasso
Ranked #8 of 131 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Picasso on the beach is a beautiful restaurant serving extraordinary mexican food with friendly service. Opened in 1996 customers have been returning year after year for our fresh homemade food including favorites such as our famous sizzling fajitas, tender juicy steaks, fabulous and fresh guacamole and salsa, homemade refried beans, hamburgers and our fresh lime and strawberry margaritas. We serve food and drinks on the beach and have a new and safe playground for the kids while you enjoy a quiet dinner. Our goal is to offer you a special meal in a special place, with view, cooling breeze, excellent food and always a friendly helpful smile to make your experience at Picasso extra special.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We were quite disappointed by the food, good service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having eaten mexican food several times, my friend and I wanted to try out this place that was recommended to us by a few different people, so when we visited the beach of Plaka for a swim, we decided to have late lunch at Picasso.
The staff was very friendly and the place was modern, clean and well decorated.
We orderered chicken wings, a mix salad and a chili con carne burrito. The salad was refreshing and tasty and I enjoyed it very much, however the chicken wings were not very good. The meat had a peculiar odour and even though the sauce was really really good, the bad taste still remained, so I just had one. The burrito was actually good but we made the mistake of ordering the chilly con carne and did no rememer how incredibly hot it is, so we could no eat it all. The rice that came with the burrito was actually very tasty.
The frozen shot that they offered to us at the end, probably tequila, smelled as if it had been in the ice machine for a long time and tasted like that as well.
Anyway, to sum up, it was not horrible, it was ok, but if i ever recommended it, I wouldn't omit these details.
I considered the prices too high (the burrito costs 10 euros) and the proportions too small.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofia_Ath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-Perakis, Owner at Picasso, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hello Sofia and thank you for your review. We are happy that you were pleased with our great service, cleanliness and decor. We take great pride in keeping up our standards in these areas. We are sorry that you were not completely happy with your meal. The chicken wings and frozen margaritas are our most popular items and we have never had complaints about them - we also take great pride in our spicy chili. We would be pleased if you came back and we could help you try some of our non spicy items. Thank you for giving us a try and we are glad that you chose Naxos for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    156
    44
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“PRICY!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Ridiculously expensive,for what you get. If you're craving non-Greek food, you could consider it. Otherwise, save your money.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Picasso, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello and thank you for letting us know what you think about Picasso. We always use fresh local meat and vegetables but the specialized products that we use for Mexican food have to be imported and to get them to our little island does make some of our meals more expensive than your average greek meal in a taverna. Also for four years now because of the crisis we have not raised any of our prices and have actually lowered the prices of our childrens meals. Thanks for giving us a try and thanks for choosing Greece for your holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Everything here was very fresh and tasty! And the drinks are great! Lovely view too!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Churchbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adequate Tex-Mex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I liked the idea of eating great Mexican food in Greece, so when I heard the reviews I had to try it. But it was a bit disappointing. It's only adequate, not particularly great.

I'm glad we tried it though, since I was in the mood for something a bit different from the usual taverna fare.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Our favorite restaurant in Naxos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I were in Naxos for our honeymoon in September and cafe Picasso was recommended to us by friends who also vacationed here for their honeymoon. I was skeptical, given that it was a Mexican restaurant in the middle of Greece, but the food was delicious and the staff were so friendly (one of the owners is Canadian so we loved chatting with her). We went to the cafe in town twice and visited the their location at the beach as well, which was a great plce to hang out and have delicious food in really comfortable and well decorated setting.

Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing