We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Taverna Vassilis

Taverna Vassilis
Ranked #24 of 176 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Taverna Vassilis opened in 1951 by Vassilis and Maria Voudias. Today the tradition is carried on by their son and daughter in law and their children.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

This little restaurant is tucked into one of the many alleys in the labyrinth leading up to the Venetian castle. The atmosphere is wonderful with vines growing on the walls and potted plants. I got the mixed fish souvlaki plate and it was fantastic! Swordfish, calamari, and shrimps all grilled to perfection. Best calamari I've had in Greece! I am so glad I came here!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank OlympicFan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estiatorio, Owner at Taverna Vassilis, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 910 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2019

House wine just 'drinkable', rabbit stew tough and stringy! It's a pleasant restaurant but we were made to feel that we'd overstayed. If you have good company, as we did, you won't mind too much!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

They advertised that they had been going since 1951 and they met expectations, menu had plenty of choice of local dishes with Naxian products We had a Naxian salad which was a nice change from Greek salad,large portion of swordfish and loxcal beef in tomato sauce. Service as good but they were not busy being early in season.Prices were reasonable, 2meals & carafe of wine was just over 30 euro.Setting was nice, in the heart of the old town, follow the signs!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank TheRabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estiatorio, Owner at Taverna Vassilis, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

We loved wandering the narrow alleys of the Old Market on Naxos and we selected this restaurant to dine it because of good reviews and a good "look". It met our expectations and then some. We were served by a nice young man who we discovered was the grandson of the original owner - 3 generations and still going strong. The atmosphere is perfect Greek taverna with spotless white walls and antiques on shelves. The whole experience was just what we had hoped for in dining when we went to Greece.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank joroahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estiatorio, Owner at Taverna Vassilis, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review, we hope you come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018

The night before we had dined at nearby Lucullus. The food was more or less of the same quality at these two restaurants, but Lucullis is the most atmospheric one.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estiatorio, Owner at Taverna Vassilis, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Vassilis also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 
Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Taverna Vassilis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing