We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel - loved every minute!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fodhele
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel - loved every minute!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have never written a review before, but I think the Fodele Beach Hotel deserves one.From the beginning to the end our experience and stay at Fodele Beach Hotel was unbelievable.The staff were all really friendly and the service was great.The bar, the pools, the water park, the beach... all perfect! Many thanks to Mr Koutroupis at the bar for the amazing cocktails.
I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aristotelistheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    239
    124
    50
    55
See reviews for
522
158
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

"Fodele beach" is simply an amazing hotel offering a great variety of facilities that ensure unforgettable vacations ! From time of the arrival to the time of the check-out, this hotel exceeded every expectation .


-The resort itself offers a great variety of restaurants with plenty of variety of delicious food !
-The morning buffet breakfast is fantastic
-The rooms are very comfortable with breathtaking view !!
-Amazing waterpark !!
-Crystal clear blue sea
-Very friendly and attentive staff !! The animation team was very entertaining
-We booked a "massage" which was the best ever and totally relaxing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Fodele beach is excellent hotel with friendly atmosphere. Special crete colorite in the design. Hotel stay on the mountain in the wonderfull garden. Comfortable rooms with modern equipments. Receptionists are very friendly .Animation team - the best, with whole day programme . Sunset and sunrise are wonderfull , you can see it in the restraunt. Aquapark with waterslides for children different ages.Train, miniclub,disco,big square for small kids. Bus station close to hotel- 25 min to Heraklion. 3km far from hotel is village Fodele.
A lot of sport activities: tennis, golf, gym, volleyball, waterpolo ...We had great holiday in the Fodele beach. Good price for good service.Hotel for whole family!!!

Room Tip: For baby - better rooms near reception (not on the hill)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HELEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a great time at the Fodele Beach - two families, both with 3 kids ranging from 4-15. Plenty to do for all the kids, fantastic water park, nice pool and very nice beach in secluded bay. Beautiful scenery too.
Food was good with wide variety although after a week of all inclusive I'd had enough! The bar/ cocktails, all part of the all-inclusive deal was also very good and the kids loved the Animation (entertainment) team. Actually we were quite surprised by this as we thought the older ones would find it 'beneath' them - but they loved them and went to the shows every night.

A couple of points to note though in terms of expectations (mainly based on some other negative comments):
- this is a great hotel for families with kids - safe and self-contained. I would not want to be here if it were just me and my wife, but that's not what we were looking for in this holiday
- the rooms are pretty basic for 5*. Again, this didn't really bother us as we were only in the room at night.
- The air-conditioning wasn't great in the room but we found that if we left it on all day on a low setting all day the room stayed cool for us when we came back to it.
- There was no air-conditioning in the main areas of the hotel. Although the hotel was fairly well 'aired', being perched high-up, the dining-room could have done with air-conditioning. We anyway live in a hot country so could cope with it, but others may suffer in August.
- The hotel is built on the side of a hill. Although there are 'golf-cart' transits, there weren't really enough for the amount of guests, so if walking up and down stairs is a problem, you might find this annoying. Again, for us it really wasn't a problem but it's been commented on elsewhere.

Overall, we had a really great holiday there and would definitely consider returning. Most of the staff were very nice, the public hotel facilities were good, the view was stunning and the location was safe for kids (including teenagers). More importantly all the kids had a fabulous time, my 4 year old doesn't stop talking about it and the teenagers also had a brilliant holiday.

Highly recommended overall

Room Tip: Not too high up the hill but also not on the far side of the hotel overlooking the car park where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very disappointed from the 4 bedroom room with only one wc. You can't relax in one room (just 4 beds in a row) and nobody respects here the rest hours. Yelling and hitting doors all the time. So disappointed of the behavior of people from other countries. So proud to be Greek and that my young children kwow already the word RESPECT!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yacov
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I must admit that my review is negatively biased by the fact that during our stay the temperature in Crete was unbearably hot. It was about 40 degrees Celsius! The hotel is nice and the facilities are OK. However, the A/C in the room was unable to cope with the heat. We kept the A/C working 48 hours straight before the room to cooled down. We couldn’t really stay in the room until than (including very bad sleep at night). The room was basic. There were no towels in the pool and we were told to bring towels from home. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The soap in the bathroom was liquid soap from a wall dispenser. There were not amenities in the bathroom. Once again, not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The food was OK. But nothing to write home about. The desert cook new only one receipt – vanilla cream. We basically had every possible way of vanilla cream cakes for the 5 days…
I should say thought that the pools were great. Large, deep, cocktails included. The water park was also very nice and the kids (12 and 16) enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yair97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

we were staying at foedle for a week at the end of july.
the hotel is great , the food was very tasty, the location and the view are amazing.
great pools. in all areas the hotel is very clean.
the hotel is very big so you dont feel the other guests.
the water park is wonderful, very enjoyable both for kids and adults.
the staff was truly exceptional - very kind, pleasant people. always welcome you with a smile ,willing to help in any problem or request.
we stayed in a wonderful room, spacious, with sea view.
i would highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fodhele
22.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
25.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#28 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
26.5 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#64 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort

Property: Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort
Address: PO Box 1354 | Heraklion, Crete, Fodhele, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Fodhele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fodhele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort, is situated 25 km west of Heraklion international airport in Crete, and lies in a unique location with a breathtaking view, on the exquisite sandy beach of Fodele area (birthplace of the world-wide famous painter Dominikos Theotokopoulos, well known as EL GRECO) Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort is built in the Renaissance style, the rooms in the form of bungalows, spring up from gardens of incomparable beauty. Guests can relax with a full-body massage and sauna, or lounge on the sunny terraces enjoying cocktails at the poolside bar. This All-Inclusive resort includes various amenities in the room price. One of our key mission is to create an exclusive, private ambience for you, an atmosphere that will make you feel truly at home, from the very first moment. An island; a hotel; a self - contained paradise-yet; Yet it is something more than this ... a care-free heaven....... a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fodele Beach Hotel Fodhele
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing