We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fodhele
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had a great time at the Fodele Beach - two families, both with 3 kids ranging from 4-15. Plenty to do for all the kids, fantastic water park, nice pool and very nice beach in secluded bay. Beautiful scenery too.
Food was good with wide variety although after a week of all inclusive I'd had enough! The bar/ cocktails, all part of the all-inclusive deal was also very good and the kids loved the Animation (entertainment) team. Actually we were quite surprised by this as we thought the older ones would find it 'beneath' them - but they loved them and went to the shows every night.

A couple of points to note though in terms of expectations (mainly based on some other negative comments):
- this is a great hotel for families with kids - safe and self-contained. I would not want to be here if it were just me and my wife, but that's not what we were looking for in this holiday
- the rooms are pretty basic for 5*. Again, this didn't really bother us as we were only in the room at night.
- The air-conditioning wasn't great in the room but we found that if we left it on all day on a low setting all day the room stayed cool for us when we came back to it.
- There was no air-conditioning in the main areas of the hotel. Although the hotel was fairly well 'aired', being perched high-up, the dining-room could have done with air-conditioning. We anyway live in a hot country so could cope with it, but others may suffer in August.
- The hotel is built on the side of a hill. Although there are 'golf-cart' transits, there weren't really enough for the amount of guests, so if walking up and down stairs is a problem, you might find this annoying. Again, for us it really wasn't a problem but it's been commented on elsewhere.

Overall, we had a really great holiday there and would definitely consider returning. Most of the staff were very nice, the public hotel facilities were good, the view was stunning and the location was safe for kids (including teenagers). More importantly all the kids had a fabulous time, my 4 year old doesn't stop talking about it and the teenagers also had a brilliant holiday.

Highly recommended overall

Room Tip: Not too high up the hill but also not on the far side of the hotel overlooking the car park where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    239
    124
    50
    55
See reviews for
520
158
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very disappointed from the 4 bedroom room with only one wc. You can't relax in one room (just 4 beds in a row) and nobody respects here the rest hours. Yelling and hitting doors all the time. So disappointed of the behavior of people from other countries. So proud to be Greek and that my young children kwow already the word RESPECT!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yacov
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I must admit that my review is negatively biased by the fact that during our stay the temperature in Crete was unbearably hot. It was about 40 degrees Celsius! The hotel is nice and the facilities are OK. However, the A/C in the room was unable to cope with the heat. We kept the A/C working 48 hours straight before the room to cooled down. We couldn’t really stay in the room until than (including very bad sleep at night). The room was basic. There were no towels in the pool and we were told to bring towels from home. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The soap in the bathroom was liquid soap from a wall dispenser. There were not amenities in the bathroom. Once again, not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The food was OK. But nothing to write home about. The desert cook new only one receipt – vanilla cream. We basically had every possible way of vanilla cream cakes for the 5 days…
I should say thought that the pools were great. Large, deep, cocktails included. The water park was also very nice and the kids (12 and 16) enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yair97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

we were staying at foedle for a week at the end of july.
the hotel is great , the food was very tasty, the location and the view are amazing.
great pools. in all areas the hotel is very clean.
the hotel is very big so you dont feel the other guests.
the water park is wonderful, very enjoyable both for kids and adults.
the staff was truly exceptional - very kind, pleasant people. always welcome you with a smile ,willing to help in any problem or request.
we stayed in a wonderful room, spacious, with sea view.
i would highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Good location - 30 min from airport. Nice private beach, great kids activity and water park, tasty food and very very good service. Evening shows are not interesting and it is Recommended to take a car and travel around the area.
Ask for rooms near the reception area ,but if not- you will always find a hotel car to take you up to your room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Fodele Beach recently and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is placed at a very nice spot on a lovely beach. We were at the hotel for a small conference which worked out extremely well. Family members and accompanied persons had plenty to do while we were debating some science.

The food was great! The waterpark was magnificent for both adults and kids and more importantly, it was FREE of charge and had no queues!

The big plaza overlooking Fodele Bay is also very nice and provided plenty of space for the kids and the traditional Cretan and Greek dancing.

The biggest asset to this hotel is its staff which was truly exceptional and did their very best to accommodate our requests.

I would classify Fodele Beach more like a 4* rather than 5*. However, irrespective of the star rating I thought that this place offered an excellent value for money and I hope that it will continue to do so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tzolias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel, Rakefet
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in the Fodele beach during July 2012.
A family of 4 with 2 teenage boys age 13 & 17.
Bottom line is that we had a great time and enjoyed the place!!
However we have some reservations and in my opinion some people would love the place, but some may be disappointed. This would depend on your family's composition and your preferences.
Generally I would say it is highly recommend for families with children, especially if they are not so young and like activity.
I would not recommend it for couples looking for a romantic holiday.

So what are the positive and negative points?

Location:
Positive – Isolated and beautiful bay with a private beach.
Negative – Far away from any town. You have nowhere to go if you want to go out in the evening.

Layout:
Positive – Very spacious in small units, spread on a hill overlooking the bay.
Negative – The rooms that are located on the higher section of the hill have A LOT of stairs between them and the public areas. Getting a room in a good location can make a big difference.

Service – Amazing friendly service in all departments of the hotel. A real pleasure!!!

Facility – It is certainly not a 5 star. I would rate it a 4 minus.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable but for sure not luxurious.
Towels and sheets are old and basic, etc….
Air condition is old and not strong enough for the size of the room.
All the public areas (Restaurants, reception, etc...) are NOT air-conditioned at all!!
They public areas are clean and decent but not fancy.

Wi-Fi – Reception is very bad in many areas. Also when you have reception it's not stable. And it costs about 25 Euro/week or 6 Euro/hour. This is below any common standard today.

Pools – Excellent: Clean and not too crowded.
Negative – Not enough umbrellas and sunbeds. Very hard to find a spot in the shade.

Beach - Excellent: Clean, spacious with many umbrellas and sunbeds.

Waterpark – Excellent. About 6 slides. Very nice for an internal waterpark.

Animation team:
Positive – Very friendly. Will keep your kids active all day long with different sports activities.
Negative – Evenings are pretty boring.

Food & Drinks:
Breakfast – Excellent.
Lunch and dinner – OK. A big variety, but nothing special.
Snack bars – Very good.
Bars – Excellent.: Generous selection and very friendly service.
Negative – The only lite soft drink available is diet Pepsi and in most locations even this does not exist. For my wife this was very annoying.

All inclusive:
For the price you pay I would expect more generosity:
Wi-Fi - 25 Euro/Week extra.
Safe in the room - 25 Euro/Week extra.
Game Room – Each game 0.5 – 2.5 Euro
PC games – Extra charge.
Water sports – VERY VERY Expensive.
I was offended by this approach.

Bottom line for us it was a great vacation. The negative issues did not bother us too much. The activities for the boys, the beach, the pools and the service made it.

Room Tip: Try as hard as you can to get a room not far from the reception. Otherwise you will have many stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Eerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fodhele
22.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
26.4 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#29 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
26.5 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#58 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
38.4 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort

Property: Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort
Address: PO Box 1354 | Heraklion, Crete, Fodhele, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Fodhele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fodhele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort, is situated 25 km west of Heraklion international airport in Crete, and lies in a unique location with a breathtaking view, on the exquisite sandy beach of Fodele area (birthplace of the world-wide famous painter Dominikos Theotokopoulos, well known as EL GRECO) Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort is built in the Renaissance style, the rooms in the form of bungalows, spring up from gardens of incomparable beauty. Guests can relax with a full-body massage and sauna, or lounge on the sunny terraces enjoying cocktails at the poolside bar. This All-Inclusive resort includes various amenities in the room price. One of our key mission is to create an exclusive, private ambience for you, an atmosphere that will make you feel truly at home, from the very first moment. An island; a hotel; a self - contained paradise-yet; Yet it is something more than this ... a care-free heaven....... a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fodele Beach Hotel Fodhele
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing