The town is overcrowded with tourists. Many tourists however seem to forget that high above town Bacharach is the Bacharach Steeg part of town, with its nice St. Anne church. Bacharach has many towers and remains of city walls. Beside that it is a very medieval and romantic town. About its history: Bacharach was documented in 871. For centuries the town is and had been famous for growing and trading wine. Back in the middle ages Bacharach was known around the world as main storage station for wine from the Middle Rhine, Nahe and Rheingau, and was one of the best known wine regions. The town has Celtic roots. The town's original name "Baccaracus" means roughly the "Celtic manor of Baccarus". There has been a settlement in this location constantly since the Franconian Merovingian period. The first written record dates back to 923, however this is somewhat disputed, with another more certain record dating back to 1019. Stahleck Castle, which was built in the 11th Century, was initially the seat of the Archbishop of Cologne's. In the 12th Century, it was the residence of the Count Palatine and the center of the Rhine Palatinate. Agnes von Hohenstaufen and Heinrich the Welfen were married here in 1194. The Welfens only succeeded the Hohenstaufens in ruling the Palatinate until 1214, when the Palatinate, which later developed to become the Electorate Palatinate, was transferred to the house of Wittelsbach. Bacharach belonged to the house of Wittelsbach for almost 600 years until the French revolution.