We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in beautiful, quaint town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed on this hotel for one night during our stay in Rhine Valley. The owner of the hotel was extremely nice and eager to cater to our every need. The style of the hotel is somewhat 70ish but it goes perfect with the town vibe. We were invited to hang out in the lounge with some wine before we left for dinner and they lit a fire for us which was really nice considering how cold it was that night. Breakfast was really nice. I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HildaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed overnight and found my room drab and small. The hotel is quite dated. The view from
my room was an old roof. Breakfast was good. Location was convenient to the center of Bacharach but I would suggest trying other hotels first.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pleasant welcome, clean & tidy, really good value and an excellent breakfast. Perhaps not the most modern decor but value counts. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the sheets were clean. In life you get what you pay for & the hotel represents value. I spend two nights there & would go back.

Room Tip: Single traveller stayed in Room 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We liked it her, very clean just needs a make over the breakfast was excellent loved the area and the owner was very helpful offering a garage for our motorbike this was great no charge for this. The town is beautiful you don't get much better lots of places to eat drink taste the wine we found it really lovely

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MariaKillhope1853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We apeared to be the only guests for 2 nights in May. A little run down but roomy and comfortable and at 70 Euros per night with small cash discount a fair deal. Elevator useful for those no wanting to climb stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halfretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I emailed the Hotel Gelber-Hof about a week before arrival for a reservation. Room 6 was nice overall and I suspect larger than most of the other rooms. The woodwork was newer and there was a couch, table, and chairs.

The bathroom and shower were large but disappointing. The tile on the floor appeared dirty and there was quite a bit of mold in every corner and edge of the shower.

The location was convenient, but Bacharach is such a small town that it is hard to be too far from things. We ended up parking outside the gate in front of Im Malerwinkel B&B. The parking and overall look of Im Malerwinkel looked good to me.

I picked the Gelber-Hof because I may have been over influenced by the negative reports about train noise in hotels along the tracks. Those hotels by the tracks were the most attractive looking from the outside.

Breakfast was in the restaurant and was above average.

The lady working the desk in the afternoon spoke no English, but she appeared to be able to understand English. The younger family members in the morning spoke good English. All were nice people.

We're not sorry we stayed in the Gelber-Hof. It is like many other European hotels, but not really above average.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
Landhotel Zum Kronprinzen
#4 of 5 in Oberwesel
33 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#3 of 9 in Bacharach
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof

Address: Bluecherstr. 26, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range: $58 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing