We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Old Town, Great People, Great View, and Home Cooking Restaurant Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kranenturm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kranenturm
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Old Town, Great People, Great View, and Home Cooking Restaurant Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

Worthwhile I went to Bachrach from Japan.

Although my daughter and I knew the hotel was right at the train track, we chose a room in the Tower because I love old places: thick and heavy door, high ceiling, wavy looking window glasses, etc make me imagine the life of medieval era. The taste of interior design and decoration is up to each person; you like it or you do not like it.
The noise of the trains was well warned by "Rick Steves'" book; however, it did not disturb us at all. We did not need to use ear plugs at all. We slept very well.

We walked around town, followed the trail to the ruins of towers and walls. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to walk up to the castle with only one night of stay. I believe it depends on you that how you enjoy your stay at anywhere you go.

The hotel owners especially Fatima care about their guests' good experience of staying at their hotel and restaurant. She was very friendly, kind, and pleasant. I did not have chance to talk with her husband.
It must be quite a challenge to keep that old building as a hotel and run it. The room we slept was a good size and high ceiling with clean, updated bathroom, TV set, small refrigerator filled with drinks( not free though:() We had a wonderful stay.

The restaurant foods were good: home cooking style was comforting. The ingredients they use were great.

If you expect modern hotel, chose somewhere else; if you prefer local taste and appreciate to see and feel old places, this hotel is one of a great one. We loved it.

One big unpleasant experience we had in town was not at the hotel: it was the Tourist Information Office. The lady there was no good help; seemed to me that she did not know what the service was. We needed help to know getting to Munich from Bacharach by train: where we should transfer the train, for example. She told us to check it online. She charged us our 10 seconds of using the computer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    70
    22
    11
    13
See reviews for
94
195
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel is part of the wall and tower or the old city. Our room was very small but oozed charm. Fatima, the owner, treated us like family. My husband was on crutches which was difficult navigating the small stairwell. Fatima made special arrangements for our dining table and changed our room to be more user friendly. The restaurant built over the entrance arch to the city, was delicious and enjoyed chatting with other travelers. We were given free use of her laptop. Wished we could have stayed longer. Very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTraveler201044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Our family included my wife and I, children 11 &14, and my mom 74. We stayed at the hotel for three nights at the end of a 24 day eight country adventure through Europe. We stayed in two rooms. Our expierence at the hotel was nothing less than outstanding. Fatima, Kurt and their whole staff were very accomodating and freindly. Our rooms were roomy, clean, and comfortable. Our view of the Rhein and the Castle from our windows were just amazing. The bathrooms updated and clean. It was "hot" while we were there, however once you opened the windows the room cooled off and made for pleasant sleeping. Such a nice breeze off the Rhein.
The food alone at the Kranenturm is reason enough to stay. Breakfast each morning was unbelievable with eggs, freshly baked bread, and homemade marmalades. Dinner was equally as good. Kurt's Schnitzel and Spaezle were a favorite with our children. The wait staff all spoke english and enjoyed practicing their english on us. The prices were very reasonable and the portions generous.
Fatima greeted us with open arms and made us feel like family immediatley. She made sure we knew where to go for River cruises, what to see, and where to go. She made our children feel like they were staying with family.
The location of the hotel is perfect. You have a short walk to both the train station and the Rhein river cruises. If you have a eurail pass use the K-D boats it is included in your passes. Go downstream and ride the local train back. Our children enjoyed playing at the park located about 150 yards from the hotel. The town is great and provides great shopping oportunities. Make time to hike up to the Castle, the views from there are amazing.
If you are traveling with a family this hotel is perfect. The rates are very reasonable, The owners very accomodating. If we travel to Germany again, we will be staying at the Hotel Kranenturm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wfredflw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

My husband and I traveled to Bacharach this June. We were staying at Pension Lettie but chose Hotel Kranenturm as one of our dinner outings. Our hostess--Fatima--was a true delight. With her outgoing personality and inclusive nature, she had everyone in the restaurant sharing laughs and conversations. Fatima remarked that we were all having "a honeymoon time" and told us about her love of managing the hotel and restaurant. A kinder, wiser, more sincere person you will not meet! Seek out Fatima and her generous hospitality at Hotel Kranenturm!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teaspoondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

I highly recommend this hotel, especially for the hospitality.
We stayed with Fatima, Kurt at their hotel July 2010, and I have to say, it was one of the most gracious, accommodating, friendly and best hotel we stayed at in our entire trip to Germany. Upon arrival (we were very late) Fatima gave us a complimentary drink of cool local Rhine wine on their restaurant's terrace, even though the restaurant was already closed. She was full of advice each morning about Rhine cruises, schedules, where to walk to the ticket office, etc.
When an unexpected illness caused us to seek special attention, she was quick to help, and very considerate. We felt like we were among family.
Our rooms were spacious and very quaint, and comfortable beds. Even though the weather was quite warm during the day (heat wave this summer), with the windows open and fan running at night we were comfortable, and we loved our castle view!
The location was perfect, easily walked to boat dock, and Bacharach is a great town to explore also. Walked up to the castle, got great pictures of the Rhine and town below.
Our teens appreciated the internet capability.
The restaurant had very good food, at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cclan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

There was nowhere else to put this review and I thought it was worth including in my reviews so here goes.....

We had 2 dinners here this year (and 2 last year) and enjoyed all of them. We were on a quest for great schweineschnizel and we think we found it here. Service was excellent, and the proprietress is a very nice lady. Last year we sat outside next to the train tracks and it did seem a little noisy but it didn't bother us. This year we ate indoors once (didn't notice train noise) and outside the 2nd time (we prefer the outdoor seating) and for some odd reason, the trains didn't seem as noisy as they did last year.

Cost = 26 Euros (2010)
10,60 E (jagerschnitzen)
8,60 E (schweinschnitzel)
3,30 E (1 white wine)
3,50 E (1 beer)

Cost = 32 Euros (2010)
17,20 E (2 schweineschnitzel)
14,80 E (1 bottle of wine)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great rick steeves recommendation! Sunny bright colorful room overlooking Rhine. We could watch the barges from our room- entertaining! This hotel has beautiful original preserved wood work throughout. You'll enjoy a breakfast buffet in the well lit main hall with old world charm. Even though it was right next to the train tracks the double pane windows did the trick! Mattress was very comfortable. Fatima's English skills made communication easy. Wifi worked just fine in our room. I would stay here again and recommend to friends. Great authentic German hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#2 of 9 in Bacharach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#8 of 9 in Bacharach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kranenturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kranenturm

Property: Hotel Kranenturm
Address: Langstr. 30, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kranenturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kranenturm Hotel Bacharach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing