We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, Dark Dirt Rooms, Poor Menu Selection”
Review of Hotel Kranenturm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kranenturm
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The design of the entire hotel has an odd asian feel with satin gold, blue, and green table cloths and curtains with orchids and fake plants galore. The only reason this place gets so much business is because of the Rick Steves travel TV program from 20 years ago. The staff is friendly enough, maybe a little overbearing and annoying constantly asking how everything was. The bed and pillows were way too soft and with extremely poor lighting. The "honeymoon suite" was just 2 beds pushed together and then an extra bed in the corner for some strange reason. I would prefer a bath in a honeymoon suite instead of an extra children's bed. One thing is for sure, they are proud of how they fold their towels, kind of a cruiseline gimmick. The bathroom was dirty with hair all over the floor and couldnt even see with just 2 small vanity light bulbs. We didnt even take a shower because it was serious pitch black in the shower to the point you couldnt tell whether or not it was clean. The previous wallpaper or paint in the bathroom was bleeding through the cheap linoleum wall covering. Looks like it was meant for the floor, they had extra, so they put it on the walls.The selection for the menu was easy as there were only 4 things to choose from. The food did taste good, nothing amazing. Just simple salty, heavy German food. Wine of course is amazing but that has little to do with the hotel. If you are set on Bacharach you would be better off staying at Stubers a couple hundred meters down from there. You would be better off still staying in St. Goar.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sladeltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pillesio, Inhaber at Hotel Kranenturm, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Our rooms are clean, hygienic and no hairs in the bathroom. There are 7 lights in the room plus 5 big windows, so it should be bright. In our menu, there are 19 choices and not 4. Wenn you were there our tables were coverd with burgunder and over with white table cloth and not green. With the price that you paid you cannot expect a 5 star suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kranenturm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 352 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is such a beautiful and unique hotel. I've been here twice almost 10 years apart and it is an amazing place to be. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is delicious and its overall a great place to spend some time. I used it as a great home base for a few days to explore the Rhine and Mosel rivers and castles. Its a piece of history as the old trim station. One drawback is that it is very loud when the trains go by. I will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TicaCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My lovely wife chose Hotel Kranenturm on the recommendation by Rick Steves. The hotel is located in the quaint little town of Bacharach on the Rhine River which piqued my interest having lived not far from there as a teenager.

My wife and I were winding down a month long trip to Europe spending the final 6 days in this beautiful 600 year old hotel. We pretty much thought we had the routine down having hotel rooms in three countries (passport, credit card, etc...). We arrived around dinnertime and our hostess Fatima was busy serving dinner to a packed restaurant. She broke away and eagerly welcomed us, handed us a key, and said we would talk when we settled in.

I unloaded the rental car and carried 5 pieces of luggage up to the tower room making four trips (no elevator, but that is part of the charm). The room was beautifully decorated and the minibar well stocked with beer, wine, soft drinks, and snacks. Not free mind you, but very reasonable if you bought the same outside the hotel.

I went downstairs after dinner to "register", but when I asked if she needed our passports or credit card, standard procedure in Rome, Florence, Venice, and Paris, she only smiled and said, "No, you introduced yourself". She then gave me a fascinating history lesson about the hotel and the town of Bacharach. We came to affectionately refer to Fatima as “Mom”, even though she was probably our age. She was always engaging and treated us as if we were family. She even left small gifts in our room and gave us 2 great gifts when we departed. This hotel is by far the best experience of the 5 hotels we stated at on the trip.

Breakfast was included in the price and included the standard continental breakfast foods, but then she went from table to table asking people how they wanted their eggs cooked. I never saw an egg in any of the hotel breakfasts previously. Dinners were superb! Fatima’s husband does the cooking and we ended up eating at their restaurant 5 of the 6 days we stayed. It’s asparagus season and we ate some of the best I’ve ever had! I tried several things on the menu, and everything was delicious.

I highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to book our reservations for 2015. I feel horrible that I am just now posting this after several months have passed! Sorry Fatima!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trespass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our room was in the tower with great views of the Rhine. The window outside our door had great views of the town and the church ruins that were lit at night. Room was very charming with stone walls and little "nooks" by the windows. Train noise was not a factor.

Breakfast was very good with a nice variety and eggs were made to order. The dinner we had there was excellent - probably the best we had in Germany. We decided to stay an extra night and were rewarded with a huge fireworks show (apparently from one of the river cruise companies) with fantastic views from our windows.

The hotel was great. The food was excellent. The town was charming. But the best part of Hotel Kranenturm was the owner and hostess Fatima. She was always there with a friendly smile and a great personality. Her advise was spot on and we really enjoyed our visits with her.

Room Tip: Higher rooms in the tower are great. Best views. Be ready for the stairs - long and steep.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasCaboose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were great. Spacious, warm, comfortable, clean, nicely decorated. There was a view from our window of the castle on the hill and the town streets. Breakfast was delicious and everything went smoothly with our stay. By far the best part of our stay was being able to spend some time with our host Fatima. We were the only ones there and were able to have a few great conversations with this amazing lady! Not only were we well rested and well fed but our spirits were high after meeting Fatima! Thanks heaps for the wonderful stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMarion1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Rick Steve's book suggested this restaurant specifically for the saurbraten. Oh my goodness, one of the best meals we had in Germany! I also highly recommend the chicken with mushrooms. Excellent wine too. Wish I could click my heels like Dorothy and be there for another dinner. One of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sn00ksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay in Bacharach. We had a small room on the front but the windows are so solid that we didn't hear the train noise. Had a delicious first dinner in Germany at the restaurant downstairs. The building has incredible character and the location makes a great base to travel the Rhine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandBNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacharach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#3 of 9 in Bacharach
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#7 of 9 in Bacharach
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
0.0 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kranenturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kranenturm

Address: Langstr. 30, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range: $76 - $1,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kranenturm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Kranenturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kranenturm Hotel Bacharach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing