We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay”
Review of Hotel Kranenturm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kranenturm
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a few nights at this charming hotel. The food was excellent and we recommend the restaurant for dinner. Be sure to ask for a room NOT facing the river or you will be hearing trains constantly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the Rhine river. The train tracks are immediately next to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiltingatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 353 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the place to stay in Bacharach in my opinion. I stayed two days and wished it was longer. Fatima is like a "Mom" wanting to make sure everyone is happy and healthy. She could not do enough to help me out.
Breakfasts were delicious, rooms were spotlessly clean and mine had a view of the Rhine. The bed was so comfy.
I got in on the Wine Festival fireworks. I could lay in bed and watch them!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This B&B was our base for exploring the middle Rhine region for three nights in Octorber. The hostess Fatimah, who speaks English, welcomed us with hot drinks which we appreciated very much after a 12-hr flight and a 1-hour train ride. This B&B is conveniently located near the train station and the cruise-boat dock, and we were not bothered by the trains at all. We also enjoyed Kurt's cooking and the friendly service of the servers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in Room 16, the Tower Room. Originally, we had planned for 2 nights, but due to Fatima's warmth and inviting hospitality and Kurt's deliciously prepared meals, we stayed a total of 4 nights. Each evening we had a different entree that was so satisfying, we couldn't wait for the next night to try another. Fatima and Kurt are truly passionate about Hotel Kranenturm.....they beam with love and energy for their castle and treat all the guests like friends coming for a visit. Our room also had a series of windows offering views from different angles. On our first night, we were lucky enough to witness fireworks along the river .....what a treat!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinpartyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently returned from a trip to Bavaria and would highly recommend the Kranenturm Hotel. It is impeccably run under the watchful eye of Fatima (The Energizer Bunny) whose mission is to make sure every guest has a great stay and a wonderful time....mission accomplished! We were treated like long lost friends visiting her home.
A hearty breakfast is included in your castle stay and we would also recommend the delicious dinner menu. They truly aim to please.
Larry and Deb, Oxnard, CA

Room Tip: Enjoyed our Tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed 6 nights at the Hotel Kranenturm. We used the hotel as our base as we explored the area. Fatima is a warm and gracious hostess and the room was homey and comfortable. We were in Room 17 which is at the top of the building but not in the tower. We had a beautiful view of the river and the trains did not bother us (although it was quite a haul up the stairs).

Each morning the breakfast was great and Fatima would cook eggs to order for each guest. We enjoyed returning each evening to Kurt's great cooking in the hotel restaurant. My favorite? ---The pork medallions with mushroom sauce! Mmmm! (I had it twice!) My husband's favorite was the fresh trout which was a special for the month.

The wifi would not work in our room but that in no way diminished our delight with the experience.

We will definitely revisit the Hotel Kranenturm the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have a better view and less train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLSpurling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent one night in the Kranenturn. The owner (Latifa) was wonderful. She met us at the door and offered us a free refreshment while our room was finalized. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. When she found out we had an early train to catch, she got up early to make sure we could still get some breakfast -- which included fresh cooked eggs, bacon, meuslix, hot rolls, juice, cheeses, and meats. Overall this was a great place to stay and the value was unbelievable. We will stay again if we are in Bacharach.

Room Tip: Stay lower in the tower if you want good wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#2 of 9 in Bacharach
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#7 of 9 in Bacharach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
0.0 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
101 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kranenturm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kranenturm

Address: Langstr. 30, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range: $75 - $1,179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kranenturm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Kranenturm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kranenturm Hotel Bacharach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing