We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else in Bacharach: Absolutely unfriendly staff, noisy rooms, lack of warmth to say the least.”
Review of Hotel am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel am Markt
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel am Markt.
Positives: Bacharach is a lovely town. Probably one of the best option in the region. It's located pretty much in the middle so it's a great opportunity to visit all the sites and towns more north or south.
The hotel in itself is very nice looking, outside and inside. The room we stayed in was spacious, with a nice bathroom.
Negatives: Everything else. The noise in the hotel is constant and very disturbing. You can hear everything in the other rooms: people talking, the water running, the doors opening/closing, people walking etc. The sound of the water running in other rooms is very loud as if it was running right next to you. The sound of the bathroom ventilation is so loud as well.
When we arrived we got "greeted" by (I think) the owner of the place without any warmness or friendliness, or even a smile. Not very helpful either.
Breakfast is extremely limited, every day is the same and the staff was never smiling and didn't seem friendly.
For people working in the tourism industry you wonder what the heck is going on with them. It's almost as if you're disturbing them.
We got a twin bed instead of a double bed, with 2 very small covers instead of 1 big one. Not the best option for a romantic weekend... Unless you decide to sleep together in 1 bed of 90 cm.
Wifi does not work. There is a connection but you have to be almost standing in the corridor in order to load a page.

It's a shame because it could be a great place but they have a lot of work to do in order to get even close to "good". I would not stay there again. Every other place we went to, staffs were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 198 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

I chose this hotel knowing it did not have stellar reviews and it lived up to my expectations. We chose it because space elsewhere (I mean everywhere in the Rhineland Palatinate) was unavailable and they had a reasonably priced "suite" (LOL) for a family of 4. I did not hate it, but I also would not make it my first choice in the future.
Good points: absolutely great location for Rhine and Moselle valley exploring, beds comfortable, very clean, quiet, not too expensive
Bad points: weird naked painting on the walls when you first walk into the hotel (cover your kids' eyes), staff is actively unfriendly and miserable (what the heck is wrong with these people?), included breakfast was dried out (they reuse the same food every morning until it goes - the same old mozzarella balls were cut in half on the 3rd day), the rooms were either sliver-like closets or large but overfull of clunky furniture that got in the way, the shower was minuscule and hard to contort in to get clean, no real place in bathroom for soap/toothpaste/makeup to sit while you use them (I put them in the sink where they got wet), the heat never came on, blankets were TINY, and I thought hard about taking the 100 grit toilet paper home to sand the new floor on our porch.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on their website and see if you can pick one of the bigger, more modern rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mielmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent three nights here with another couple and it worked out perfectly. The view from our rooms was of the vineyards, the tower, old church ruins and the oldest house in town. It was quiet, comfortable and charming. I loved the church bells ringing! The breakfast was great, a very large selection and wonderful breads. The only drawback was the 72 stairs we climbed each day to our room which was hard for seniors but well worth it. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a very quaint hotel. The staff was very nice, however they seemed to be a bit short staffed. The girl waiting tables was also the one who was checking people in. Our room was clean and orderly and the bathroom was very spacious and modern (with shampoo lotion, & hairdryer). The beds were quite comfortable but the pillows were flat. There is no coffee in the room however breakfast was included. Breakfast was very good and consisted of breads, pastries, yogurt, & boiled eggs.
If you're not in decent shape, or have a lot of luggage, be careful. We were on the 5th floor and climbed 93 stairs to get to our room. We were glad we traveled with backpacks. The hotel is directly across the street from the most delicious wine tasting! The town of Bacharach is so wonderful. It was like being in a Christmas post card.
Overall, it was delightful!

Room Tip: No elevators so be sure and request a lower floor if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cshell2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Hotel am Markt for two nights in September 2013. We arrived very late on our first night and thankfully they kept the kitchen open a little later for us to get some dinner. Our room was on the second floor and was plenty spacious enough for just the two of us with a small room with two twin beds, the bathroom with stand-up shower, and a larger room with a European Queen as my husband and I call them (two beds pushed together). The location is easy to find - we parked our car down by the docs and had a short 5 minute walk to the KD boat in the morning. Thanks am Markt - if we ever make it back to the Rhine Valley - we would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took a chance and drove here without reservations. Saw a sign for 'zimmer frei' so we stopped. The only room they had available was on the 4th floor, no elevator. Now mind you, these are very tall ceilings, so it felt like 6 flights of steps. But I understand that - this is a very old town and this is how it is.
Our room was plain, the bed was ok, but everything was clean. The sheets were a little worn. It was an ok place to sleep for the night. The breakfast was nothing special, it served its purpose. Of course, the surroundings are wonderful and the town is just so quaint. We loved exploring the beautiful town and then the area from there to Cologne down the Rhine. It was a wonderful experience. We were very grateful to have gotten a room at all, last minute. Also the free wi-fi worked well, even way up in that 4th floor room.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the 4th floor - the high ceilings make the trek up the stairs more like 6 flights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sn00ksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Hotel am Markt is in a great location in the little medieval town of Bacharach. We stayed towards the end of October so the days were fairly short and getting cool. The town itself is stunning and the hotel is a perfect location to get out and explore. The breakfast is ok but I'm not really after anything too much in the morning so this suited me fine but I think if you like your breakfast you might be a little dissapointed. We were intending to stay 3 nights but stayed an extra night as for the price and location it suited us perfectly. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the main thoroughfare. It had a huge bay window and was a great spot to just people watch. We had dinner in the hotel one night and it was ok not brilliant but good. Traditional fare and very heavy. The staff were friendly enough and the owners were lovely. All in all a great stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#3 of 9 in Bacharach
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
3.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Markt

Address: Oberstr. 64+66, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range: $110 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel am Markt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Romantik Hotel is in the scenic market square of Bacharach am Rhein, just 24 miles from Frankfurt Hahn Airport. It offers fine local food and Wi-Fi via hotspot access.The non-smoking Hotel am Markt has brightly furnished, soundproofed rooms and apartments with cable TV and modern bathrooms.Continental breakfast is available each morning. Seasonal dishes and homemade cake are served in the Hotel am Markt's traditional-style restaurant with wine cellar.Free parking spaces are located near the Hotel am M ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing