We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great town, average accommodation”
Review of Hotel am Markt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel am Markt
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while traveling through Europe last summer and Hotel Am Markt was the most expensive place I stayed. I don't generally care too much about the room because I'm not there to say in my room, however, with the cost of this place, I was disappointed. The room was very small and you had to climb many stairs to get to it, there was no wifi (I stayed at places for under $10/night which provided free wifi--come on!) and the staff seemed annoyed to have to deal with me. The town was lovely, however, but perhaps I'd been better off staying up at the hostel at the castle for far less money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissFerenczi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 196 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel am Markt is a lovely old hotel in the beautiful little town of Bacharach. A absolutely must for everybody who loves romance in a place where time seems to be frozen. no film decor, but real life.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

i found this hotel, to have a friendly staff, excellent location , and great value for accommodations.
the room was well appointed i had a terrace on the corner of the building bathroom was small but thats europe in general. breakfast was standard fair but, done well . i f you wanted to know where hansel and gretel live this is the town, postcard perfect! this is not a town for action and people wathching but more of a quiet intimate cultural one!

Room Tip: as stated by others if climbing stairs is something you don't do then do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is unfortunately relying on it's location rather too much. Bacharach is an absolutely charming small town on the bank of the Rhine, but the hotel and restaurant has a very worn out feel to it. The one dinner we ate in the restaurant was well-cooked traditional home style cooking with excellent portions. Breakfast was variable; once meats and cheeses started to run out they weren't replenished and the orange juice tasted like a powder mix. Normally in Germany you expect better than this. The room was comfortable but trains run all night so don't bank on a tranquil night's sleep. The staff were largely sullen and unmotivated. My wife had to point out on check-out that we hadn't been charged for the meal we had, but the staff didn't even acknowledge her honesty. Since returning home I have found out that the hotel is closed from November to March, so it must be hard to maintain continuity of staff and build a team spirit. I would return to this beautiful town but I would be unlikely to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Expedia's website is slightly misleading as it lists a kitchen in the rooms - check what you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is very cute in one of the cutest towns of the Rhine Valley! Nice & quiet as it is one or two sts. back from the train line. Hotel staff were very helpful, rooms were clean & recently renovated. Breakfast was excellent. We were a group of 3 couples travelling together. There was a mix up with the booking of our first night, but the hotel accommodated us in a family room for the night (as they were full). We then were given 3 rooms off our own central sitting area. The thing that would have made the rooms more enjoyable was facilities for making a hot drink. I must mention although our stay was enjoyable, it is for the agile & fit, we were on the 4th & then the 5th floors -great views! But you made sure you had everything you needed before descending for the day. No lift even for bags. Improvements I would recommend for the hotel is a lift for baggage, if not for people, sensors for the lights in the stair well (instead of wall switches), hot drink facilities in the rooms & free Wifi. Otherwise we all enjoyed our stay here & felt it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Hotel is set back in a quieter street from the train line. Have light luggage if you get a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa2194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at this hotel. We never ate here in the evening we just had there breakfast. The host of this hotel was friendly, the hostess eventually warmed up to us. The one morning at breakfast he offered us to pack some food for our adventure on the rhine cruise. The downfall was the bathroom in our suite, whenever we shower there was water everywhere. Also the wifi to this hotel never worked.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The city is wonderfull and the hotel is part of the romantic context. There was a delicious hot bread in the breakfast and the hotel looks like a familiar house. Clean room and romantic restaurant. Great experience for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo_e_Juliana_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#2 of 9 in Bacharach
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
0.1 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
101 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
#1 of 2 in Oberheimbach
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Markt

Address: Oberstr. 64+66, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range: $113 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel am Markt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Romantik Hotel is in the scenic market square of Bacharach am Rhein, just 24 miles from Frankfurt Hahn Airport. It offers fine local food and Wi-Fi via hotspot access.The non-smoking Hotel am Markt has brightly furnished, soundproofed rooms and apartments with cable TV and modern bathrooms.Continental breakfast is available each morning. Seasonal dishes and homemade cake are served in the Hotel am Markt's traditional-style restaurant with wine cellar.Free parking spaces are located near the Hotel am M ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing