We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten Free Choice for travelers in Germany” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rheinhotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bacharach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rheinhotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Choice for travelers in Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Rhein Hotel in early May with glorious weather. I requested a room facing away from the railroad tracks, but after staying there found this was totally unnecessary and next time would opt for room facing the river. Sounds from the trains can be heard even in our room facing away from the tracks, but the trains that pass by are infrequent and pass by quickly, so our sleep was never really interrupted.
This hotel is in a very old building, full of charm. The rooms are small by American standards, but about normal by European standards. The bathrooms are tiny, but functional.
The hotel location is an easy walk from the train station, and almost right next to the KD Rhine Cruise dock. It’s located on the old city wall surrounding Bacharach, and has a great view of the Rhine.
What makes this hotel stand out is the staff and the owners – the Stuber family. Herr Stuber is a wonderful chef, and even if you don’t stay here, his restaurant is worth a splurge dinner in Bacharach. His delicious regional cuisine is great, and the breakfast is one of the best I’ve had in Germany in the 30 years I’ve been going there.
This is the place to stay on the Rhine if you are a celiac or have any kind of gluten intolerance. It’s very hard to find gluten free food in Germany, but Herr Stuber has a gluten free menu, and went out of his way to buy gluten free bread and musli for my wife during our stay. He was gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
reading
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hotel made a great base for enjoying the Romantic Rhine. We booked their 5 day half board package direct with the hotel,online and it came with a complimentary river trip.
The trains run either side of the Rhine as it a busy, working river and despite the hotel being on top of the railway line, we had no trouble sleeping. We had a room at the back of the hotel and the trains were not as frequent on weekends and public holidays as on weekdays. When we were there it was easter weekend and we weren't disturbed by the railway when they were running. I would also say that as all the villages are by the river and train line, I think most hotels in this area are very near a train line.
The room was clean and big enough for the two of us and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was good and bathroom clean.
The evening meal food was fantastic - locally sourced produce and the wine, well again it was local and delicious. The breakfast was a continental style buffet and had enough choice to give you a good start to the day.
The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and spoke good english which was welcomed as our German is poor. Andreas and his staff were very welcoming and friendly and his cooking is excellent.
A nice touch on Easter sunday was bread in the shape of a rabbit for each of the guest tables and the hard boiled eggs had their shells painted.
Bacharach village is beautiful and worth a poke about the cobbled lanes to view the lovely half timbered buildings. It also had a station if you don't want to use the car or the boat.
We took a boat up to Koblenz and got the train back which was very easy. Until October this year there is the BUGA garden festival in Koblenz and that made a nice break from the castles and river. You can get a ticket at the boat kiosk for the boat and the BUGA, which includes the cable car trip over the Rhine. You just need to buy a ticket for the train at Koblenz station for the trip back.
For our complimentary trip we went to Rudesheim and back, but there is an alternative to St Goar.
The hotel has a small car park which is free for guests and although its a squeeze everybody gets parked up and you can leave your keys with Andreas so he can move the car if he needs to get others in and out.
We didn't have time to cycle but if you like that kind of thing, there are cycle lanes along the river and its nice and flat! There are also plenty of walks along the river or up into the hills overlooking the Rhine if that appeals.

Our lunch stop in Trier was worth it as it is a beautiful town but we wish we could stayed there longer. With hindsight, it would have made a good over night stopover to enjoy the town and see some of the Mosel villages on the way to the Rhine.
We went via Luxembourg as it fitted in with our itinerary and there the petrol was much cheaper that in the UK/Germany/France - 1 euro 5 cents as opposed to 1.50 + at the time of our visit.

Also if you fancy visting Burg Eltz on the Mosel its covered tarpaulin due to renovation- for how long, I don't know. So at the moment the view if one of the most beautiful castles in Germany is spolit.

All in all the hotel and location gave us everything we wanted for a few relaxing days enjoying the sunshine and the Rhine.
Many thanks to everyone at the Rhein Hotel was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peewam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellettsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Loved this place. Would go again simply for the food and the ambiance of the town. We were difficult I admit, but the owner and his staff were superb in helping us get settled.
We had so much fun in Bacharach and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

My wife and i spent 2 nights at the Rhein Hotel in September. This was start of our holiday to Germany and the Czech Republic, so we were tired when we arrived. Our room was on the second floor and faced into the town, not towards the river (and thus the tracks). We were able to sleep, but when the window was open then the trains were a bit noisy for me even though we faced into the town. Mind you I was also suffering from jet lag which kept me up.

Overall the room was fine, but the best part of the hotel is the restaurant. We had the half -board option so dinner and breakfast were included. Both nights our dinner was excellent, and the restaurant was packed with German families. It really felt like we were in a place where the locals loved to come and eat. The Stuber family runs the hotel and the restaurant, and they do a very good job of it.

Bacharach itself is a beautiful village. It is a great place from which to explore the Rhine Valley. The hotel sits on the old town wall next to one of the gate towers, built I believe in the 14th century.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Dad and I stayed here on the first night of our vacation in Germany. This neat little family run hotel was clean, cozy, well located, appropriately priced, and had very sweet/helpful staff. The only thing I would point out is that, much like the majority of hotels Bacharach, it's located very near to the town's train tracks. With that said, even with the windows fully opened, it just didn't bother us at all. If staying in Bacharach, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmgtampafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, AB
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We took advantage of the Rhein Hotel's special 5-day package which included four night's accommodation, full breakfast buffets, incredible dinners, and a Rhine cruise to Lorelei or Rudesheim. I would highly recommend this hotel for value, comfort, and the great food. Meals were four fixed courses and could be taken anytime in the evening. The only exception is the Tuesday meal which is served at 6:00 p.m. as the restaurant is closed to the public that day. Bring a German-English dictionary to help translate the menu or ask the waiter as there a several staff members who speak English. Better yet, wait and see what they bring you! You won't be disappointed with the food, I assure you. The attached photos don't do justice to the taste. You can see a photo of the hotel at www.rhein-hotel-bacharach.de and the internet abounds with photos of the lovely village, population 800. Our hotel room opened up to a little balcony from which we could see the Rhine river across the road. Our son stayed in a single room next door. It was very small, but who would want to spend time in a hotel room when there is so much to explore in the Middle Rhine area? There are bicycle rentals just down the street, and one can easily ride to Oberwesel, the Lorelei, and the beautiful towns beyond. We came by car, so every day was spent sightseeing. We chose to redeem our boat tour voucher on the final day. If there is a downside to this hotel, it would be the noise of the trains passing by at all hours of the day and night. The tracks run on both sides of the river --one can never be close to the river and far from the trains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

My review is a little late. We stayed in June 2009. It was our first night in Germany after arriving from Dallas, TX. Needless to say after a morning arrival in Frankfurt and a day of sightseeing, we were beat. We enjoyed our stay here. We had a room on the 2nd floor that faced away from the tracks and river. We had a view of the castle which was nice. We chose the option that included dinner and breakfast. The dining area had a few other guests and the meal was very good. My wife is a vegeterian, and they accommodated here with any problem. Our room was smaller that we were used to - as was the bathroom - but it wasn't a bother. We had no issues with noise either. Our hosts and the staff were friendly and offered some suggestions on things to do. All in all a good first impression. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldShep75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Altkolnischer Hof
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#2 of 9 in Bacharach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#8 of 9 in Bacharach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#4 of 9 in Bacharach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
3.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Auf Schoenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rheinhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rheinhotel

Property: Rheinhotel
Address: Langstr. 50, Auf der Stadtmauer, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Rhein Hotel Bacharach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing