We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Fall Menu”

Restaurant Hotel AM Markt
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Bacharach
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With its beautifully designed country-house decor, our restaurant has a delightfully relaxed and friendly atmosphere. In fact, the perfect setting in which to sit back for an hour or two and let us spoil you with the very best from our kitchen and wine cellar. For us fine dining is not about putting on a show – it is much more about providing high-quality, attractively-presented and delicious food. Many of the ingredients for our dishes, such as a variety of different herbs, are sourced locally. Our menu features a range of hot and cold dishes, entremets, a 4-course set menu plus a choice of main courses and desserts. We also serve a mouthwatering selection of home-made cakes and tarts. To perfectly complement the various dishes on our menu, we can offer a selection of choice wines from our well-stocked cellar, most of which are available by the glass. We will be pleased to advise you on which wine goes best with which course or with a particular dish. Of course, we also serve a range of beers, including an excellent Pilsner, as well as many alcohol-free drinks. You may also want to take a look at our spirits menu for a little ‘something’ either before or after your meal. Choose from various aperitifs or maybe treat yourself to a satisfying digestif, such as a smooth and aromatic fruit brandy. As our guest you can be assured of friendly and attentive service at all times. And if your evening has been just a touch too ‘convivial’ or has lasted longer than anticipated, we will be happy to welcome you as an overnight guest in our hotel or arrange a local night taxi to take you home. Why not visit our restaurant for yourself – we know you will not be disappointed!
Vestal, New York
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Delicious Fall Menu”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our 1st dinner in Germany and we were off to great start. We stopped here as it looked friendly and inviting and it was! I had a nice medium dry local Riesling, wonderful! and pork tenderloins in a pumpkin cream sauce. Spouse had goulash with potato noodles. The service was terrific, not rushed. The dinner was so tasty and delicious. The pumpkin sauce was perfect for a cold Fall day. We almost thought we were in France! I would definitely recommend this as an excellent dining option in Bacharach. They accept cash only.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pulmqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    24
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and affordable”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived in Bacharach without reservations, and the only room we could find was here on the fourth floor. Quite a climb especially with suitcases. But it was clean and reasonably priced at 70 Euro. Bed was ok, hot shower with good water pressure. Wifi worked even up on the fourth floor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sn00ksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The only reason we chose this restaurant was because they offered free wifi with the meal and we really needed to send a few messages. In the end, they charged us for the wifi use and wouldn't take it off the bill! It wasn't much money, but it's the principle.... That being said, they did let us stay as long as we wanted to complete the work we needed to get done.

The food was quite good... served nice and hot, and the chanterelle mushroom sauce was very good. We were bothered by flies during dinner. i can't understand this as a couple of strips of fly-paper can easily solve this problem and would make the experience much more enjoyable. Bottom line?- okay overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

After eating a very ordinary meal the night before, we came across this restaurant and liked the ambiance. The restaurant was busy On a Monday night which we took as a good sign. Although we waited a little long for our food to arrive, it was worth it. My chicken breast with rosemary potatoes was tasty and a generous serve. My partner has salmon with salad and fries. The salmon was nicely cooked and served with an orange and fennel sauce - big thumps up. Prices were reasonable around Eur 17

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Errolred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Am Markt Restaurant”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

There was a light rain falling which discouraged me from finding an outdoor cafe. Instead the white table cloth and dark hardwood floors of Am Markt looked inviting. I was not disappointed. The menu was well stocked with specialties featuring garden fresh items including tomato, cucumber and of course chantrelle mushrooms. The food was served very quickly and steaming hot. When I arrived I was one of two tables in the large dining room, never a good sign. However within 15 minutes nearly every table was filled and the good food was being enjoyed by all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Hotel AM Markt also viewed

Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Restaurant Hotel AM Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing