We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in lovely little town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in lovely little town”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel about 5 minutes walk from the station and just 2 or 3 minutes from the KD Rhine boat stop. Friendly and welcoming owner, despite our pathetic attempts at German! We had a room looking towards the Rhine, with one of the town entrance archways/towers almost in front of us. Note that there are trains passing a short distance in front of the hotel, however they didn't really disturb us. The room décor and furniture to be honest was quite dated, and the bathroom suffered from a leaking shower screen and a few wobbly fittings. If this was in a city hotel we would be disappointed. Here in this beautiful town full of very old timbered buildings however, it simply added to the charm. Breakfast was fairly standard fare, not as extensive as you would find in a large international chain, but very much better than your average B&B. Overall, a very pleasant hotel with lovely owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    46
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
74
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very friendly, dynamic and helpful family running this hotel. The room was definitely OK, enough space and cosy balcony. Very quiet, no noise. Very clean. Agreable hotel. Ideal starting point to visit the area by walk and especially by bike! We definitely recommend this hotel, and we hope going back to this place very soon !!! Good atmosphere. Nice and quiet restaurant, where we could have spent several hours!! Last but not least: absolutely perfect food, well prepared and presented. Congratulations to the "chef" !

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor, and were very happy. I guess it might be quieter than on the 1st flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are from California and we have nothing but great things to say about the Bacharacher Hof. The Bacharacher Hof is an exceptional hotel in a beautiful, unique, historic German town. My husband and I got married at a nearby castle in July 2013 and we stayed at the Bacharacher Hof for a few days with our entourage of family and friends that came to celebrate. This was definitely a highlight of the trip for everyone. We have more than enough great things to say about the Bacharacher Hof. I want to start by saying that we arrived as guests but left as long-term friends. As hosts they greeted us with great excitement and all the most professional manner, and as friends, Dirk joined my family/friends for a night out on the town. The food that Dirk cooks up for the restaurant is fabulous! If you ever get the chance to at least stop in the town of Bacharach, you must have a meal at the restaurant. Our entire entourage was prying him for recipes. The rooms are decent size and decorated nicely, the beds are quite comfortable, and the overall hotel is clean. The rooms were serviced daily and kept up very nice. I didn't get a chance to use the pool and sauna but family said it was wonderful as well. Overall, this is one of the best experiences traveling I have ever had.

Also, Dirk and Ellen are so accommodating and friendly they helped with all of the last minute arrangements, translating, taking photos, kindly offering candles from their restaurant centerpieces and even recruited Dirk's Mother to help steam my wedding dress the morning of the wedding.

Need we say more, if you are looking for a true midieval German experience and you are looking for a clean friendly place to stay that has character, you must stay with Dirk and Ellen, you will not regret it. We will definitely be returning, not only to visit the town of Bacharach, but to visit our new found German friends.

Mr. & Mrs. Young

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaudreyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm a little surprised at the rave reviews for this hotel (perhaps they refer to different room types). Our room was perfectly adequate with a large balcony (with a view of the castle) - but it was certainly nothing to rave about: a little on the small side and with bog-standard chain-style furnishings. It wasn't cheap and I've received better value for money elsewhere. Having said that, we had no complaints. Friendly staff, the hotel had an excellent location and the town is very picturesque. Excellent walking through through the vineyards along the Rhine and plenty of local wine available. I'd certainly recommend a trip to Bacharach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheinfarn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The last two nights of our Rhine River visit were spent at Bacharacher Hof. Being steps away from the Rhine, the train station, restaurants, etc. allowed us to completely enjoy all the town offers. While in Bacharach we hit a heat wave and thoroughly enjoyed the cooling pool after exploring. Each morning we ate well at the well stocked breakfast buffet. Dirk, our host, definitely helped to make our last two nights of our trip to be most pleasant.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the river and train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123daveandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked this hotel on booking.com via reading my friend tripadvisor . We were not disappointed. Thank goodness for Sat Nav! Even though I had a map the cars Sat Nav took us up the street that cars could go. Just like your reviewer said. We were greeted by a very friendly lady who we now know was the owners wife. We were on the first floor overlooking the small car park and seating area for sun loungers. Lovely room very clean and good shower. The best of all there was a fan in the room as there was no air conditioning. Because the weather has been so hot 35 c the hotels we have stayed in didn't think to buy fans for their guests. But this hotel owner did.
Thank you we really did appreciate the fan.
Up early left hubby sleeping as I went for a swim in the lovely pool indoors, open 24 hours they said. They also had a sauna but you only had to go outside to feel the heat. So I didn't try that. They left you a towelling robe and a towel in the room to use. Then you could lie on a sun lounger outside to dry off. There is also a large gazebo there to sit under if you do not want the direct sun.
We are sorry we didn't stay and have an evening meal with them, they were busy and a sign outside said for hotel guests only for eating. But I needed to eat outside for some air and they didn't have the room outside for tables so I can not give you a review sorry. I would advise you book a car park space as it is very limited to where to park 6 spaces. If you are the car blocking the car in front, you have to leave your keys with reception, so that the other guest can get out of his space. The town is so quaint and lovely also we did some wine tasting in a very friendly Weingut called Jost been in business a very long time and bought 6 boxes of wine. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms over looking the car park, but to be honest it isn't a noisy town .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnNottinghamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of the most beautiful, historic, and scenic cities we visited. The Bacharacher Hof is where we stayed and it was fantastic. We can't say enough about the owner/operator, Dirk, and his wife, Ellen. They were very gracious hosts to us and were there for our every need. Ellen even remembered that I have to drink de-caf coffee, and automatically brought it to our breakfast table each morning! My wife and I were placed in room 33 where it is exceptionally quiet and has an excellent view of the Gothic Church ruin and the Castle Stalleck. At night, the ruins are lit for a few hours and are really a sight. Bacharach is a small city where you will need no transportation services, so be prepared to walk. I recommend booking the walking guided tour!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Trains run 24/7 near the front side. Room 33 has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#8 of 9 in Bacharach
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
14.3 mi away
Bellevue Rheinhotel
Bellevue Rheinhotel
#2 of 19 in Boppard
580 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
Hotel Weinberg-Schlosschen
#1 of 2 in Oberheimbach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bacharacher Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bacharacher Hof

Property: Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Address: Marktstr. 8, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bacharacher Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bacharacher Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing