We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orth Zimmer a delight”
Review of Orth Zimmer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacharach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orth Zimmer
Ranked #3 of 13 Bacharach B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Orth Zimmer a delight”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed with Urmgard in her en-suite room for 3 nights. Great location just far enough away from the busy train line, great price, wonderful town in the heart of the most scenic and historic part of the Rhine River. Urmgard is a warm and friendly , helpful host and her homemade breakfasts a treat. Making the phone booking was interesting due to the language barrier but well worth it to experience this lovely little slice old style German hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GafPjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed with Irmgard and Walter Orth for 4 nights and it was wonderful. Both are so welcoming, despite my lack of German and their smidgen of English. Irmgard is forever exuberant, and her giant smile never goes away.
I felt like I had German grandparents at breakfast, almost! Irmgard likes to listen to German oldies, and they are cheesy and fun. Walter quietly turns to another channel when Irmargd is out of the kitchen :)
Walter makes his own honey (delicous) and Irmard makes her own jams (SO good), which often change, each as good as the other. Eggs, cold meat and cheese, and bread completes the meal, along with a choice of tea, coffee, water, etc.
Irmgard asked me my plans each morning and shared the day's weather forecast with me, which was very helpful.
The room was so comfy, and the bright-orange sheets and comforter were so fluffy and warm. The location is perfect and easy to reach, within walking distance of everything in Bacharach and just a few minutes by foot to the train station or the boat docks. The Rhine is just on the other side of the town walls and across a small green park.
This is the perfect place for a warm welcome to Bacharach and the Rhineland, and is also a great base for the Rhine and the Mosel River Valley. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily0384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americaine en France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Cozy, cute, and comfortable, a great place to stay. The homemade honey is DELICIOUS, and Irmgard is a wonderful hostess.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey Pa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Our ensuite room was very clean, spacious and functional. Had good lighting for reading in bed and a large closet to store and hang your clothes. The bathroom was small, but everything worked. Urmgard Orth, the owner, spoke very little english, but we were able to communicate adequately through gestures. She was a gracious hostess. The breakfasts were basic . We had a very nice visit and and would stay here again. For only 37e a night, this b&b was a great value.There were two other rooms that shared a bath.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

This charming B&B is run by Walter and Irmgard Orth. Its two rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, one including a balcony. The breakfast consists of fresh breads and meats with delicious homemade honey. The Orths speak little English, but with a good phrasebook you can have pleasant conversation. If you are looking for a homey and comfortable place in Bacharach, stay here! I highly recommend it! You cannot beat the value or personal attention!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler121709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Orth Zimmer was great. The location is perfect and Ursula was really sweet. I have a lot of food allergies and she was very conscientious and careful with my breakfasts. The room was comfortable and clean. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DustyRedShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Irmgard Orth runs this cute place and she is the cutest part about it. It is a very good price, awesome location, comfortable and safe. She is a wonderful hostess and will do anything she can to make you feel welcome. The breakfast is free and awesome-she makes her own marmalade and has fresh honey from her own bee farm! I would stay here again in a second, it is a great, clean place for a great value!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank mmworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacharach
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
Hotel Bacharacher Hof
#3 of 9 in Bacharach
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kranenturm
Hotel Kranenturm
#5 of 9 in Bacharach
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Gelber-Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Markt
Hotel am Markt
#8 of 9 in Bacharach
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel-Gasthaus Bluchertal
6.8 mi away
Hotel Rheinfels
Hotel Rheinfels
#3 of 14 in Sankt Goar
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orth Zimmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orth Zimmer

Property: Orth Zimmer
Address: Spurgasse 3, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bacharach
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Orth Zimmer Hotel Bacharach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing