We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good except for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Good except for breakfast”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a long time traveler who prefers Country Inns, I was satisfied with the spacious bath room (we were fortunate to have a handicapped room, we are not). The rest of the room was satisfactory for our stay (crashed after Busch Gardens). We had a marginal experience with breakfast, as the attendant did not speak English and was often on her cellphone. We have stayed there many times over the years and have not had a bad experience there, although they habitually run out of cookies!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff and management, thank you very much for your recent stay with us, and your great review. We are implementing changes with our breakfast program to improve the quality of our breakfast for all of our guests. I invite you to stay with us again so you can see the changes first hand!

Again, thank you for your business and your review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us!

Stephen Barger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    93
    48
    39
    65
See reviews for
192
42
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent two week traveling around Maryland and Virginia visiting historic sites. We stayed a week at the Newport News, Virginia Country Inns & Suites. The location was on route 17 about 15 miles from downtown Newport News and 25 miles from Colonial Williamsburg. The area abounded with restaurants and malls close by.
The room was nice but very crowded for three adults and their luggage.
The hotel has lots of issues. Upon arriving there were not enough towels in the room, the microwave did not work properly and the code we were given for the internet was incorrect. Staff was friendly and attempted to correct what they could.The next day we discovered the washer on our floor was out of order as was the fitness room. The washer remained out of order for the whole week. The fitness room remained out of order for four days. The third day our room was not cleaned, bed not made and towels not replaced. The fourth day the maid did not leave enough towels again. The fifth day was a repeat of the third day and not enough towels the sixth and seventh days. The front desk staff said they had left notes for the manager who was nonexistent until the sixth day. I sent an email to the manager the fourth day. When I spoke to the manager on the sixth day he said he was unaware of any problems and would look into it. The management of this hotel is inept to say the least.
The breakfast was good with oatmeal and cold cereal, waffles, plain bagels, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausage and orange and apple juice. The breakfast menu had no variety and did not change all week except Sunday when there was bacon instead of sausage.
This hotel like most has those mini pillows, I hate mini pillows! Maybe if enough guests complain they will use regular pillows. The bed was softer than I like but still comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47MaineYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I am sorry you were dissatisfied with your recent stay with our hotel. If you would like to discuss your problems further, please feel free to contact me via email or at the hotel directly. I know we had spoken several times during your stay, and we corrected the majority of the problems, but if you would like to discuss it further do not hesitate to contact me further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have never had a bad experience at Country Inn & Suites until this one. I used my reward points to pay for the room so maybe that was why I got a terrible room. Although I thought "reward" meant I was supposed to be given priority status. We were sent to a room on the first floor. Terrible musty smell when we entered. Refrigerator was missing. When I went to turn on the lights, there were no light bulbs in any lamps. There were stains on the comforter. I went to the front desk and said what is going on. She said the room had been used for storing the gym equipment when the gym was being worked on and they had told her it was ready to be rented again. She said we only have one room left that I can put you in. I would have been furious that I made this reservation 2 weeks in advance if I had been forced to leave and find another hotel because of their incompetency. We were put on the third floor and that room was fine except the comforter needed to be replaced. The hotel needs upgrading and they did say that they were getting ready to start renovations for a new look. Do not stay there until they make improvements. Walls are paper thin. People that came in late woke me up talking in the hall.

Room Tip: Don't stay there until they renovate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I am sorry about the problems you had during your recent stay with us. We normally upgrade all Club Carlson members, but that weekend we were sold out due to a large concert in town, and there were no rooms available to upgrade to. Still, I am very sorry about the condition of the room you were placed in. I will make sure those issues are addressed immediately.

If you would like to discuss your problems further, or if there is anything else I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I only use this location when staying in Newport News. They Welcome me each stay with a smile, they know me by name and are ready with my reservation and a DVD player for my Red Box. I don't even get type of greeting at Home!!
Site is clean, smells Fresh and the Fireplace and seating in Lobby allow me to read or kick back
from the day.
My budget would allow me to stay someplace else but why? After all I am at Home!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INDY4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Mr. K,

I am always happy to see great reviews, but when it comes to long time guests such as yourself, that stay with us dozens of times a year, it means that much more. I am glad that we have been able to provide you with consistent, quality service for years now!

I thank you for your years of loyalty, and your excellent review!

I look forward to many more years of business with you!

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Two years ago we stayed at this motel and found it to be a good deal for the money, clean and over all a nice place to stay, so when the opportunity came to visit Newport News again, we called and booked a room. The motel is located between a small run down strip mall and a boat repair shop. It isn't a great location, but it was quite close to where we wanted to be. They had only one room available in the entire motel - the king/jacuzzi - which was much more expensive than we had planned, but since we had a good experience with them previously, we decided to go ahead. We arrived around 4:30 in the afternoon. The lobby was packed and there was only one person on duty, but check in went smoothly and we headed off to our room. And this is where things began to go down hill. The room was directly across from the elevator, so we heard "ding", "ding", "ding" all night. The bed had been stripped and dirty bed linens were strewn all over the desk, chairs, and floor. A used cleaning rag was on the TV stand. The Jacuzzi was missing a control knob. The bathroom had been cleaned and partially set up. The Jacuzzi didn't have a bath mat, towels, or soaps/shampoos. The bathroom door was installed so poorly that there was a huge gap between the door and the hinge at the top of the door and a little tiny gap at the bottom of the door, the end result being that the door would neither close properly, or stay open all the way. The refrigerator freezer compartment hadn't been defrosted for so long that the ice build up would not allow the compartment door to close. The button on the phone which was supposed to set up a wake up call did not function. And nowhere to be found was a clock - alarm or otherwise. The bed was the primary concern. When notified of the problem, the front desk was quite surprised and promised that someone would come fix it. We left for several hours and were pleased to discover that indeed, the bed had been made while we were gone. We later discovered that the young lady working the desk had made the bed because she could not locate any one else to do it. It took several trips to the desk to locate a clock which worked. Overall, we felt the motel was not well maintained and was understaffed. We departed after one night instead of staying the two originally planned. We will make other arrangements for our next trip to Newport News.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelrymaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jewelrymaven,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn and Suites standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great landscaping and entranceway. Not only was it absolutely clean and the air clean (want that aroma in my home), but it was clean and fresh smelling throughout. (what a joy!) The entire staff was courteous and friendly. Our room was upgraded to a 2 queen suite, what a delight. Our entire stay was just great! The only improvement would be the breakfast and I am assured that you can make it happen. We will see you again as we have been coming to, and staying in Williamsburg (normally yearly) for over 20 years. Our stay with you was truly outside of the box and well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VKittyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review and for your business and continued loyalty to Country Inn & Suites hotels! I know you've stayed in Williamsburg for 20 years now, I am glad you decided to give our hotel a try, and I am thrilled that you loved your stay with us! I am glad that you have chosen to continue to stay with us during future visits!

Thanks again for your business and your great review, we look forward to having you as our guests for years to come!

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was in the area for a wedding, so I reserved a standard room for two nights. As soon as I entered the doors I was greeted with a delightful fragrance of Potpourri (nice touch). Upon check in, I was informed that my standard room had been updated to a suite (WOW)! The only drawback was that the door sticks; I handled that issue with no problem. The hotel and room were very clean and quiet. I was able to take advantage of the breakfast on Saturday, Have had better, but not bad. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again if I return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizzgee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenBarger, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am glad to see you enjoyed your recent visit with us. On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for your business. I am delighted to see that you had such a great visit with us.

I hope to have you as our guest next time you're in the area.

Thanks again,

Stephen Barger
Vice President of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport News
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#10 of 38 in Newport News
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
6.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hampton Hotel Convention Center & Spa
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 38 in Newport News
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South
Address: 1069 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23602-7221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2010, the smoke and pet free, 64 rooms and suites provide travelers with comfortable, affordable and value rich lodging in Hampton Roads. All beds feature Serta Perfect Sleeper matresses, rooms have individually controlled thermostats, and hypoallergenic linens to provide a comfortable nights rest. As a mid scale, limited service hotel and located in the heart of Hampton Roads, the Hotel assures guests that room and suite rates remain competitive. With all of the standard amenities of the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson brand guests appreciate the features and services they come to expect such as an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, 24 hour coffee and tea, freshly baked cookies, and complimentary hot breakfast and WiFi.We look forward to hosting your future stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newport News South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Newport News South Hotel Newport News
Country Inn And Suites Newport News South
Country Inn Newport News
Newport News Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing