We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Newport News
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I give this hotel a Poor rating because the room was not keep up to any standard that deserves more than a poor grade. Upon my arrival I found hairs in the desk drawer and on the rest room floor. When I informed the front desk about the matter I was quickly informed that the housekeeping staff was off work and nothing could be done. Not the response that I was looking for or expected. What I was expecting was a clean place to stay--I didn't get it. The room also smelled of cheap air freshner and had a slight smoke odor. The breakfast that used to be free at other courtyards was $12 and was over priced and they had bad coffee. The staff did not seem to care about you there. I would avoid this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Nancy1381,

WOW! I am so sorry that you had a bad experience at my hotel. My team and I work very hard to maintain our 90+ average in guest service and cleanliness scores. We really did mess this one up!

Please accept my apologies for the problems that you incurred here at my hotel. I will certainly investigate this further.

But, I do want to thank you for your comments. We can only get better if we know about it. If you are ever back in the area again, please contact me personally. I would like to make your reservation myself.

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 253 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was lackluster, but near the airport. Breakfast was available for about $12 and was barely adequate. Coffee was Starbucks bought at retail.

Hotel was clean, with a nice bathroom which had no bath but a large walk in shower. Staff was O.K.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Ronald B.

Thank you for your comments concerning your hotel experience at the Courtyard. It saddens me to have read that we did not meet your expectations. I'll make sure to share your comments with my staff at our next staff meeting.

Please accept my apologies for your recent stay, we're going to make sure that we get it right!

Take care and be safe in your travels,

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is the seventh time I have stayed at this hotel on business this year. In the past the hotel has been ok but never stood out from the rest in any way. I stayed here for two nights this time and felt the hotel was modern and nice looking from the outside. Once I got to the room I noticed the room was a little dirty and missing the towels. This was annoying because I did not notice they were missing until after my shower. Also the bed was not very comfortable and the couch was dirty. The coffee was not very good and they only gave me decaf. Also the ice machine was noisy in the hall way. The room also had a slight odor to it and seemed a little dusty. The front desk staff did not care when I complained so I would not recommend staying here. I will be staying elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear John A,

Please accept my apologies for the condition of your guest room. Currently, we are in the process to "Deep Clean" each guest room. And it seems that you were placed in a guest room that we have not gotten to.

Please reach out to me when you return to the area. I would like to personally make your reservation and would like to take a few minutes to speak with you when you arrive. Your comments are very important to me and I want you to know that you have been heard.

Again, my apologies.

Take care and be safe in your travels,

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel Nov. 9 for a quick getaway. The outside of the hotel was very nice looking and modern. We booked a suite but there was nothing special about it, just a larger room and had some paint peeling from a wall. We noticed finger nail and toe nail clippings on the table and couch and the microwave was never cleaned. The bed was also lumpy so we did not get a good nights sleep. The next morning when I got in the shower the shower floor was extremely slippery causing me to fall. I also noticed the coffee maker in the room was broken and the filters for the AC were extremely dirty. I left the staff know about the problems when checking out and was told they would look into it and was quickly turned away from the desk. It seemed like they did not even care. I would probably not recommend staying at this hotel again as there are so many better ones in Newport News. I would however recommend a Marriot property just not this one.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Kyle2007,

Please accept my apologies for the unpleasant stay, here at my hotel. I am just so shocked of the findings of your guest room. Steps have been taken to correct the problem. Be rest assured, my Executive Housekeeper will be on this!

I hope that you will give us another try in the future and I want to thank you for your candor. We can only get better if we know what to address.

Again, thank you and my apologies.

Take care and be safe in your travels,

Elizabeth A. Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while at an event in Newport News. The rooms are VERY nice and VERY well laid out. Comfortable beds. The staff is friendly and is trying very hard to please. I get the impression that many of them are new, and that with some seasoning will be very good. Management seems to be competent and very much in charge. This is NOT a full service hotel, but the items available in the lobby are much more extensive than is usual in such hotels. There is coffee, wine, sandwiches, and desserts, all in abundance and variety. Compare that with the usual assortment of packaged snacks that are typically available in limited service hotels. The hotel prepared a large plated breakfast for our group; it wasn't clear that such service is available to individual guests. Unless you need a restaurant on property, this is a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Louis S:

It was a pleasure to host your event in early November.

Thank you for the wonderful comments that you have shared with me, my staff and those that look at TripAdvisor!

To answer your question concerning our plated breakfast, yes we do! Each guest has the opportunity to choose from our breakfast menu, once a choice is made you just order the entree from our hostess at the Bistro. She rings it up, give you a number and receipt, then a server brings the entree to your table. It's that simple.

We look forward to having you as our guest again and a BIG Thank you for protecting and fighting for Freedom in the US and for those abroad.

Take care and be safe in your travels,

Elizabeth A. Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very nice hotel. clean with a very friendly staff. Shower was great but leaked all over the floor. Maintenance was unable to fix it during our two day stay. Only food available was pre-made microwave food from a kiosk in the lobby. Tiny one cup coffee maker in the room made coffee that tasted like it was brewed through dirty socks. No Gratis coffee in the lobby here, only Starbucks premium price coffee was available. C'mon Marriot please let us choose to patronize starbucks not make us! Set up a standard coffee pot in the lobby!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soboms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Soboms,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with me during your stay here at the Courtyard Marriott Newport News.

Please accept my apologies concerning your shower, I have addressed this with my Engineering team and I am sure that upon your next return you will not incur this again.

In regards to complimentary coffee in the lobby, Marriott International approved as a standard with all Courtyards, that we are not permitted to serve complimentary coffee in our lobby. Some Courtyards are in compliance with this standard and some are not. My hotel recognizes Marriott International standards; we are 100% compliant with Marriott standards.

In January 2014, it will be mandatory that all Courtyards by Marriott are not permitted to serve coffee in their lobby complimentary. We certainly appreciate your comments and realize that this is a change; but as we improve our service standards from all aspects we want to stay compliant with the standards.

However, I do want you to know that you have been heard.

Again, thank you for your comments and I hope to have you be our guest in the very near future.

Take care and be safe in your travels!

Elizabeth A. Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Awesome help from some awesome people. Jenny M. at the front desk was able to go back into their records from a month ago to pull a much needed receipt. This saved me big time! Very helpful and nice to talk to- thanks Jenny!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Wayne,

Thank you for those kind words about my Assistant General Manager. She is truly an asset to our team! I'm glad that she was able to assist you in your time of need. If you ever need assistance or wish to visit us again, just give us a call!

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth A. Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport News hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#3 of 40 in Newport News
539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport News Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
2.6 mi away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Newport News Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newport News Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newport News Airport

Address: 530 Saint Johns Rd, Newport News, VA 23602-4509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport News
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport News
#8 Family Hotel in Newport News
Price Range: $76 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newport News Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location near the airport, attractions, universities and shopping, the Courtyard Newport News is ideal for business or leisure travel. You'll find perfect accommodations in Hampton Roads with functional work space in each guest room, complimentary wireless Internet, and a 24-hour food market. Our sleek lobby bistro offers opportunities to eat, drink, and connect with others or online throughout your day. After meetings or sightseeing, unwind in our indoor pool and whirlpool or stay fit in our fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Newport News Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newport News Airport Hotel Newport News
Courtyard Newport News
Newport News Marriott
Newport News Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing