We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad services”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I came to this Marriot because I was on official travel and it offered the rates, at least I thought and according to the internet site. Victoria, explained to me the hotel had several government rates and rated me with a leisure rate instead of official travel. The room smell like mildew, when I was at the desk and a customer return to have a different room because his room smell of mildew. The shower leaked even with the door closed, the maid did a bad job of cleaning the room,especially with replacing the towels, brought them back 3-5 hours later. They only vacuum once out of my 9 days there and had an attitude and could not speak good English. The room was always cool as if they had no heat, I complained and they said it was fix but it was not. I did not try the food. When I complained about my bill Victoria explain to me that the General Manager(GM) would have to fix it but I did not recieve a call back until 1030pm interrupting my sleep, and it was Victoria not the GM. When I checked out I asked about my bill for adjustment the clerks said the GM would call, nearly a week later no call. My employment requires me to travel frequently, I generally stay at Marriot hotels, however this has been my worse one yet. I will not stay at this one never again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didi' W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Didi'W,

As the new General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott in Newport News, VA it is my responsibility to respond to each guest comment. Unfortunately, prior General Managers failed in this task to respond to you. Please accept our apologies for not responding to you in a timely manner.

But, I do wish to thank you for taking the time in writing a response about my hotel. From your comments, it appears that we failed in many areas. Also, as a business traveler; you being on the road for 9 days and having a leaking shower on top of no return call from the GM is really awful. Your comments are important to me. We have fixed many of the showers and I think you would be really surprized with the new staff. I hope that if you find yourself back in the Newport News area, you will be our guest again.

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
88
30
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels in the area. The service is great, the front desk is wonderful, and the location is in a restful area. Don't let the name "airport" fool you. This is the best place to stay in Newport News, and the price is reasonable. I will stay here from now on!

Room Tip: Top floor on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Chuck S,

As the new General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott in Newport News, VA it is my responsibility to respond to each guest comment. Unfortunately, prior General Managers failed in this task to respond to you. Please accept our apologies for not responding to you in a timely manner.

But, I do wish to thank you for taking the time in writing a response about my hotel. From your comments, it seems as if you had a very enjoyable stay. That's important to me. I hope that if you find yourself back in the Newport News area, you will be our guest again.

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This Courtyard is at a great location, right off of Route 64 in Newport News, just 5 miles past Williamsburg. I stayed here because it was the Government per diem pick and we don't get a lot of choice. The staff is pretty nice but overall, I don't like the way the room is kept up. I've been here a couple of times, too. Sure wish I could get into the Embassy Suites in Hampton. They are stingy on the towels and I don't like the housekeeping because they always seem to forget something little like: forget to dump the ice bucket, throw away a soap I just opened, short-change a towel. However, the internet is good. And the little 'Starbucks' type of kiosk is okay, although a bit pricey. It is cheaper just to go to Starbucks which is right down the road. There is no view and the only exercise you can get is in their little gym, because there is nothing to walk around or view in the location.

Room Tip: King rooms only have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeedsNEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear NeedsNEscape,

As the new General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott in Newport News, VA it is my responsibility to respond to each guest comment. Unfortunately, prior General Managers failed in this task to respond to you. Please accept our apologies for not responding to you in a timely manner.

But, I do wish to thank you for taking the time in writing a response about my hotel. From your comments, it seems as if you had a very enjoyable stay. That's important to me. I hope that if you find yourself back in the Newport News area, you will be our guest again.

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice little property. Smooth check-in, status recognition and platinum points awarded. No upgrade offered, but room was nice and spacious. Mini fridge and lodgenet (big bonuses for me)

Sundries shop was pretty empty. Lots of restaurants within a couple of minutes.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Andrew C,

As the new General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott in Newport News, VA it is my responsibility to respond to each guest comment. Unfortunately, prior General Managers failed in this task to respond to you. Please accept our apologies for not responding to you in a timely manner.

But, I do wish to thank you for taking the time in writing a response about my hotel. From your comments, it seems as if you had a very enjoyable stay. That's important to me. I hope that if you find yourself back in the Newport News area, you will be our guest again.

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maschrack
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, staff and experience. Just what you expect from Marriott. Good location close to many eating, drinking and shopping establishments. I would certainly recommend to anyone. Quiet and peacful sleep no disturbances. Well appointed room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maschrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Maschrack,

As the new General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott in Newport News, VA it is my responsibility to respond to each guest comment. Unfortunately, prior General Managers failed in this task to respond to you. Please accept our apologies for not responding to you in a timely manner.

But, I do wish to thank you for taking the time in writing a response about my hotel. From your comments, it seems as if you had a very enjoyable stay. That's important to me. I hope that if you find yourself back in the Newport News area, you will be our guest again.

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is standard for Courtyards. Good location near I-64 for business or shopping. Also has convenient restaurants nearby. Large shower was great, but it had leak under the door. Would have liked a microwave in the room. Reasonably quiet, although front rooms do get some traffic noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Ajaj,

As the new General Manager of the Courtyard by Marriott in Newport News, VA it is my responsibility to respond to each guest comment. Unfortunately, prior General Managers failed in this task to respond to you. Please accept our apologies for not responding to you in a timely manner.

But, I do wish to thank you for taking the time in writing a response about my hotel. From your comments, it seems as if you had a very enjoyable stay. That's important to me. I hope that if you find yourself back in the Newport News area, you will be our guest again.

Take care and be safe in your travels.

Elizabeth Parker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I stay here whenever I have a business trip to the Hampton/Newport News area. The location is excellent: near the on/off ramp to I-64 and surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants and shopping areas. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean but, with my last visit, I was disappointed with the shower stall. It was clean but had some staining that could easily be removed with bleach. I'll be staying at this hotel again in several weeks and hope to not see the same type of stain again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirelle_Moseley, General Manager at Courtyard Newport News Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Margo G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback from your recent visit to the Newport News Airport Courtyard. I am thrilled to hear that our staff was accomodating and that we were in a convenient location for you. However, I would like to sincerely apologize that your room was not up to our normal standards. I assure you that we are working diligently to correct this issue. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to correct this problem and I look forward to yur return visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport News hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Marriott Hotel Newport News at City Center
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#3 of 38 in Newport News
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Newport News Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Newport News Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Newport News Airport

Property: Courtyard Newport News Airport
Address: 530 Saint Johns Rd, Newport News, VA 23602-4509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport News
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport News
#8 Family Hotel in Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Newport News Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location near the airport, attractions, universities and shopping, the Courtyard Newport News is ideal for business or leisure travel. You'll find perfect accommodations in Hampton Roads with functional work space in each guest room, complimentary wireless Internet, and a 24-hour food market. Our sleek lobby bistro offers opportunities to eat, drink, and connect with others or online throughout your day. After meetings or sightseeing, unwind in our indoor pool and whirlpool or stay fit in our fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Newport News Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newport News Airport Hotel Newport News
Courtyard Newport News
Newport News Marriott
Newport News Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing