We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still best located hotel in La Plagne”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Araucaria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Araucaria Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Aime
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Still best located hotel in La Plagne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Comfortable rooms but standard double is small with limited storage. Our original room smelt very strongly of tobacco but we were upgraded next morning with no problems. Hotel can now print your ski pass! Ski & boot storage spacious and easy to access and only a very short (20m) walk to nearest lift, ski back to door. Wi-Fi only works in lobby but desk will sell you a cable for your room if you have a PC. Breakfast is great but limited choice for dinner. We were on full board and didn't like either of the choices one day, we were told that a credit for eating out was not possible and the restaurant staff said there were no alternatives to the fixed menu. This inflexibility was our only bad experience in this otherwise comfortable and convenient hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid "standard" double for 2 adults as there is not enough room to store ski clothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teddingtonsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    61
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
66
54
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel is situated in the heart of the wonderfull La Plagne ski resort, with ski lifts very near and a slope passing by the hotel. The personnel is very friendly and always available to solve a problem. There is a cosy bar with live piano music. The rooms have everything you need to enjoy a well deserved skiing trip, although the noise at night can deprive you of some sleep. The noise is mainly caused by the nightly runs of the snow cats preparing the slopes and the apres-ski activities in the nearby English pub.
The one thing the hotel is lacking is space, and that is noticeable in quite a number of areas: small rooms, almost no parking space, the restaurant has difficulties to seat larger groups, no recreation area for children and teens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PPRubens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co antrim n ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

We took a group of 17 adults from northern ireland on a ski trip used this hotel.hotel is lovely but the circular design does make the dinning room cramped an also the bedrooms.rooms need more shelves an storage. Dinning room lovely soup great salad buffet great main course bit poor deserts lovely ,main courses need to be less fish an better quality service in dinning room slow an slow to clear dirty dishes away.Bar prices an wine too expensive need to lower these prices.very well kept hotel slippers gowns hairdryer .great location only 5mins from chair lift .we would stay here again an hope management take account of our review would use this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

This hotel appears to have some very small and badly laid out rooms and my husband and I were unlucky enough to get one. We would not have complained if there had been any drawers or shelves but we only had a wardrobe with a bit of storage on top which was too high up to be accessed without standing on a chair. There was an ottoman which we stuffed in the wardrobe as there really wasn't enough space for it in the room, I never unpacked as I needed my case to store my clothes in .
On the plus side, the location is great and the food is fabulous with a great salad buffet and loads of cloice.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icequeen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

We ended up in this hotel in Plagne Centre at the last minute as ours hadn't finished being built! We consider ourselves really lucky! The four of us had 2 of the largest rooms in the hotel (double bed, single bed, sofa bed, very spacious for 2 people!) with views onto the slopes. Rooms have nice touches (gowns and slippers for visiting the free jacuzzi/steam room/sauna in), good decor (look very new), great views, balcony, plenty of space for drying gear and drinking wine before dinner!
The location of the Hotel is great - a few mins walk to ski school/lifts/bars/shops. The restaurant was lovely, with very friendly staff. We stuffed ourselves every buffet breakfast and evening meal, which had (as well as buffet soup, salads, desserts, cheese) a choice of 2 mains each night (with 3 other mains always on offer too). 2 of our party are vegetarian, and after asking for vegetarian meals on the first night, our waiter remembered us for the rest of the week. Generally we had the veggies that were on offer with the meat mains each night, but they were beautifully presented, and we could supplement our meal with salad/cheese etc. Definitely no complaints there, as veggies in France we were most impressed! We were only kept waiting for our meals on one very busy night, and our waiter was most apologetic. Generally we went down to breakfast and dinner fairly early, and had no problems with service. Drinks of course are expensive, and most people have tap water with their meals, so we didn't feel stingy by declining the Evian/San Pelligrino! Tip for drinks - get them from the supermarket and have a drink before +/- after your meal in your room! Tip for breakfast - don't even try the egg-boiling device! Tip for checking out - don't pay the city tax if you're on a package (we had a bit of confusion with the night porter) - your travel company can be invoiced.

  • Liked — Size of room, friendly service, food! Central location (Plagne Centre)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElSetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

This hotel benefits from a great location next to the slopes, the staff are very friendly and helpful, although one of the restaurant staff is a bit... 'french'! Our room was large and clean with a balcony. Breakfast and dinner ranges from being excellent to no so great depending on what you choose (buffet) and what time you arrive. There really is a problem with the dining as the room just seems far too small to accommodate for the number of guests there. We had some problems with our room entry and skiroom locker card which was incredibly frustrating and time wasting, plus our room was not cleaned on some days due to ill chamber maid or something, but they did give us a discount on our final bill due to these shortcomings. The cheery waiter made us excellent coffee at 4.30 am the morning we left (get your morning coffee from the bar, not the buffet!). A comfortable hotel, would def. stay here again, but perhaps not at peak season due to staff shortage / small dining area.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, decent quality and range of food for breakfast and dinner.
  • Disliked — Locker and room key-card needed to be repeatedly replaced.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2008

Just got back from a week's stay - rooms are well furnished although the basic double rooms are only the size of the bed! The food was fine but breakfast service was very haphazard with staff slow to clear tables or replenish the buffet. The odd circular design of the building makes the restaurant very cramped particularly when accessing the buffet. The bar totally lacks any charm or atmosphere and the co-location of restuarant and bar do not work well for either!

Most disappointing were the couple of trivial items "mislaid" from the room!

Check any bills carefully we were very nearly double charged!

  • Liked — Good sixe bath
  • Disliked — Musical tables in the restaurant!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heexagone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aime
3.3 mi away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#9 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Les Balcons Village
Hotel Les Balcons Village
#5 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacances
Hotel Le Vancouver - LVH Vacance...
#3 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Plagne
Hotel Belle Plagne
#3 of 4 in Belle Plagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
Belambra Clubs Le Terra Nova
#12 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Cocoon
Hotel Le Cocoon
#8 of 27 in Macot-la-Plagne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Araucaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araucaria Hotel

Property: Araucaria Hotel
Address: Plagne Centre | La Plagne Centre D221, 73210, Aime, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aime
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Aime
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aime
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Aime
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Araucaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Araucaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Araucaria Hotel Aime

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing