We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How the mighty have fallen.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Hotel Tarentaise
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How the mighty have fallen.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Subject: Chalet Hotel Tarentaise
Location: Meribel, Savoie, Rhone-Alpes, France, Europe
Title: How the mighty have fallen.
ID#: 196291402

Just back from a week at the Tarentaise. What a shame that Mark Warner have become a down market tour operator, at least in quality, certainly not in price. Upon arrival the pillow cases all had to be removed. Filthy and stank. Plastic cups, rather than glasses in the bathroom, which were left, rather than replaced, on a daily basis. They advertise in the brochure, "home from home comforts:. Would you have plastic cups in your bathroom, let alone re-use them for a week? Flat screen TV... sounds modern... reality was a standard "sit on the top of your chest of drawers type". A shower screen which thought it was invited to join me in the bath... Then, how cheap and petty... a charge for WiFi for each device... and it is poor if you do decide to use it. A pool table in the bar area, great... ah sorry, 2€ a game..... and all this for nearly £4000 a week! Be sure not to ski, or at least get back to the hotel by lunchtime if you want to dry your boots.... the ski locker room is very small, inadequate and does not cater for the number of hotel guests. If you do like to sit down to put your boots on, there is one small, rickety bench for 2 people... perfect when 40 people are trying to get out to the slopes at the same time. I wondered why the sauna box didn't seem to get much attention.. ah yes, the entrance is in the corridor which leads to the ski room and there is nowhere to change.... "flashing" just doesn't seem to be so popular these days.
The food is poor. There is "al dente" and AL DENTE". Raw sprouts were the introduction to what was to come for the week... Our first good dinner was the Thursday night which is the "night off" and we ate out. We just thought that our fellow guests were getting wise to the poor quality of the food as the restaurant each night had less and less people in it. It turns out that the absent guests were actually lying in their beds with a stomach virus.... including the restaurant manager.... . Hygiene is definitely an issue here.
We booked and paid for ski lessons with Mark Warner. It turns out that if you are above a level 4 they do not offer daily ski lessons, although they are happy to charge for them. Beware. I have written to the "Head of Customer Relations", (not), who has failed to acknowledge any breach of contract or compensation.
Finally and sadly, as is so often the case, the Mark Warner staff at the hotel do their best to provide the guests with a good experience, but due to circumstances, often beyond their control, cannot rectify the problems. I know they are sick of hearing people complaining about the Wi Fi charges, the inadequate ski room etc., but until Mark Warner head office start listening to their customers, this will not change. The "Head of Customer Relations" assures me that they welcome all complaints so that they may improve the overall experience. We shall see. I am a regular Mark Warner customer and this will be my last holiday with them. Some friends tried to book the same week as us. Luckily for them Mark Warner said there were no more places in the ski school for their children that week, (not the case I discovered). They stayed nearby, spent half the amount of money and had a much better experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zipper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    14
    13
    10
See reviews for
55
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good social interaction, food good but could be better if they kept it more simple rather than try and be something extra.
Staff very willing and friendly, nothing too much trouble.
Petty charging extra for wifi

Room Tip: Pick one on first floor overlooking slopes but NOT over the bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at the Tarrentiase in December 2013. I should state that I have stayed at this hotel on several previous occasions, so obviously I like it although that may be more to do with the 3 Valleys. It has a great location, although if you are looking for night-life Motteret is not for you. There is a bus, but it stops fairly early, and then it’s a taxi. The hotel is really in need of a make-over, as the interiors are pretty drab. The corridors are dreadful, while the restaurant is ok, but nothing special. The rooms are OK although not sure why they wasted money on paintings of New York.

Mark Warner have I feel become a little complacent over the last few years, and if you have reason to contact their Head of (Non-)Customer Services don't expect to get a reasonable reply from him. While we used to have a summer Mark Warner holiday, these have become progressively more expensive while seeming to offer less and less for the money, and so we have moved onto to alternatives. With the ski holidays you still get your food and wine for all but 1 night, but they still think that they can stick you with extra charges for internet access, which is very poor speed, and they charge you per device, so if you go with the kids be aware. In this day and age, internet access should be included in the price of your holiday, at least in the common areas of the hotel. The food is OK with a few exceptions (Pork Belly anyone - several people had this and it was completely devoid of any meat - all fat. Are they using a cheap butcher by any chance ?), but the menu is almost exactly the same as last year, and is the same in all their hotels in the Alps (I have since gone the Teign with them and yes it was the same menu). Service can be a bit mixed, and if you are on the larger “social” tables, then expect to wait for your food.

The main problem for us is the lack of hosted ski groups - Thanks ESF. As a family we used to rely on off-loading Mum into the leisurely group, so the kids and I can speed around the mountain with the fast group, knowing that if either of us wants to finish early the others will still have someone to ski with. During the week lack of a ski host seemed to mean that only one group actually got out. I was happy to lead the group for most of the week, having skied the area many times, but it was much harder work that it should have been. As a guest, you don’t really feel like telling people that they are not good enough to ski with a particular group. I also skied in Teign in January and it was the same story. No Leisurely group, and while this time they did have a Intermediate group as well as a fast group, this was probably down to a party of people who came together and made up most of that group. The fast group varied between 2 and 8 people. Not having a “leader” does occasionally cause problems. Some people seem to want to stick rigorously to the supplied ski route, while I and a few others were keener to try and keep in the sun (when it was out) and worry about getting to the lunch stop later, if at all - more of a problem during my Feb trip to Teign, so you may be lucky, or then again ......

If you used to enjoying the ski hosting, then hope that the French come to their senses, but apparently the court case has now been adjourned until May 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Good hotel, on the slopes, excellent skiing. Mottaret is right at the heart of the three valleys. Hotel decor is a little jaded, ski room is too small, food is pretty good, Mark Warner staff really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a brilliant week we spent at tarentaise there was ten of us and the hotel and staff were young friendly and fun they made the hotel what it is fun and friendly
The food was great and always hot and tasty
The ski in out is great no walking needed
We have already booked to go back next year really looking forward to it already :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our first time in Meribel and we stayed at Chalet Tarentaise. This hotel is located very close to the slopes which is a big plus when you want to go skiing. Meribel is a wonderful ski resort with great slopes and the best part is that you can ski to other villages like Courchevel or Menuire. The staff of the hotel really made the difference, as they were all very welcoming and made our stay very pleasurable. We look forward to next winter !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We travelled early April with our 3 young boys, aged 7, 5 and 2. We have previously travelled with other operators who offer wrap around childcare but this was amazing. It was incredibly slick - our kids were looked after and taken to and from ski school without a glitch. The kids clubs were excellent and the staff amazing - particularly Leanne, Sophie, and the manager, Ti.

The food was very good - we had a beautiful 3 course dinner every night, safe in the knowledge that our kids were being well looked after downstairs in the evening creche. The cakes were particularly amazing - my only gripe about food would be that the kids pasta wasn't great (often congealed) and that it would have been nice to have fresh milk with cereal at breakfast rather than the typical french long life stuff.

The rooms were comfortable - could have done with more ventilation in the toilets, but other than that we were pleased with our room - it had a lovely balcony with a view of the piste.

The resort is brilliant for skiing - being right in the middle of the massive 3 valleys - the skiing was amazing and the conditions were very good. Pity that they are no longer allowed to host however, Pete and Chris did a great job of sending us off to the right places every morning and arranging lunch in lovely mountain restaurants.

Our BIG gripe was with travel arrangements. Gatwick South is always horrific so no surprises there, but in this day and age to queue for 1 hour to check in for your flight at 5 o'clock in the morning is just ridiculous (Monarch!). Then another 45 mins to get through security (with 3 kids in tow). The actual flight was then fine but then had to wait 1.5 hours to enter Grenoble airport which was an absolute shambles. Then another 1 hour for luggage! Totally useless!!!

So in summary, Mark Warner and the hotel were amazing. Staff brilliant - friendly and fun. Great food. Great skiing. Great childcare. Avoid Monarch and avoid Grenoble airport unless you are sure there are not 6 flights landing at the same time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meribel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#10 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
17.5 mi away
L'Aiguille Percee
L'Aiguille Percee
#20 of 37 in Tignes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#4 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#13 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel l'Ecrin du Val Claret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Tarentaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Tarentaise

Property: Chalet Hotel Tarentaise
Address: Immeuble Tarentaise Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Hotel Tarentaise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing