We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, good service and right on the piste”
Review of Le Yeti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Yeti Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Situated at Rond Point, this traditional style restaurant serves good quality local fare. When the weather is fine, the terrace offers a splendid view over Rond Point and beyond, if it is chilly, the comfortable dining room is a welcome respite from the cold. The food is good, service is helpful, English spoken without hesitation. The cost is about average for the piste and a restaurant of this style and quality. For a meal for two with two courses, bottle of water and coffee, expect to pay about €90. Local wine Chegnin Bergerin (white good quality) about €40. Convenient to ski lift and the free Meribus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wanting to stay in Meribel for a short ski break - Wednesday to Sunday we found Le Yeti via the Merinet site. A very French hotel, smart, well decorated and very friendly catering typically to the French market we arrived early evening in time for dinner. A choice of starter, main course and dessert was available for this 5 course meal which also included a soup and cheese course. The food was well cooked, prepared and served but after a substantial buffet breakfast, lunch on the slopes we found the formality of the dining room and quantity of food too much. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable with a great view over the Rond Point. The hotel is ski in ski out and has a good boot room and is in a prominent position overlooking the slopes. The centre of Meribel is a 10 min bus ride ( or €15 taxi ) on the free bus that run every 10 mins. Probably not a hotel if you enjoy your après ski but ideal for a young family requiring easy access to skiing and mid to high end hotel with good service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark30121963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I just had an early skiing break with my son and we stayed at the Yeti for a week. I can report that the standard of service and quality of food was superb and the staff all friendly and helpful. The hotels position at Meribel's fashionable Rond Point couldn't be better and the pretty Foret ski run is directly behind the hotel so you can ski in and ski out. Well done Yeti....see you next year!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Brachernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed three nights for a walking weekend. Pleasant hotel, which during the winter is ski in ski out, and really convenient. In summer it's at the top of the village, so a car is absolutely neccessary, and due to the refurbishment of the gloomy, derelict hotel next door there's virtually no parking, so beware. Also the buidling work is very noisly so make sure you have a room facing away.
We had a large, clean and comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the ski lifts and the small terrace with pool, with the mountains beyond. Very deep and pleasant bath and good rainforest shower. Nice fluffy towels and robes. Large, high quality flat screen TV on which we lapped up the Olympics.
Didn't have dinner in the hotel as it's a fine dining, one set menu affair, with very rich food and no light alternatives. Also mostly a wealthy elderly clientelle when we stayed, so a hushed food-revering atmosphere. But there's a modern, young and cheerful bistro just a few hundred meters down the hill where the food is great and the ambience terrific.
We had breakfast in our room for two of the three days, which was very good indeed, but deciding to use the dining room for breakfast on the last day was a huge disppointment, and it made us glad we'd dined out. An incredibly rude woman fried some eggs most reluctantly, took an age to bring coffee, and then slammed down the plate on an ajoining table when it was eventually ready.I'd ordered tomatoes too, and when I asked where they were she gleefully said 'no tomatoes' and shrugged. Very poor indeed.
Professional and polite barman, and reception service also polite and professional but more than a little frosty, and not particularly friendly. Passed on information when asked, but only really engaged with us to tell us when they closed at night, and when they'd like us out of the room etc.
It's for that reason alone we probably wouldn't use this hotel again. It's not cheap, times are hard in the hospitality industry and there are plenty of other very lovely hotels in the area trying hard to win your business with a much warmer welcome and most certainly more charming breakfast staff.
Meribel gorgeous in summer though, Can't recommend the resort highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for pool terrace side or you'll enjoy drills and whining cranes all day from the building s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just spent a very pleasant afternoon having lunch on the terrace of the Yeti. It 's a gorgeous location with beautiful views, marred only slightly by the ski lifts, but hey , it is a ski resort. It has a very well put together menu, with lots of interesting salads which you could have either as a starter or main, which is common in the Uk and US, but less so in France, plus meat and fish dishes. Everything was perfectly cooked and stylishly presented, with nice little touches ( for example both yellow and green beans with the cote de veau ) which raised it above the usual. Excellent service, friendly and efficient. They are happy to let lunch guests use their ( heated) pool, and even offered me a towel. The inside dining room looks very attractive , again with beautiful views, and there is a large and cosy looking sitting area. Definitely a place to come back to for a stay in ski season.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank alexw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Yeti for a week in July and we had a fabulous stay. The Yeti is located about a mile from the middle of Meribel. Not a tremendous distance, but there's a vertical difference of a few hundred feed, so it's not a trivial walk, especially if you're just popping out for a drink or a bite to eat. It's handy having a car for getting about, but there are complimentary buses that stop close to the hotel, so it would be possible to cope without one.

Our room (302) was spacious and beautifully presented, with a lovely view across the valley. At the time that I write this, our room appears to be the one shown on the Rooms page of the hotel's website.

Partly due to the location of the hotel and partly due to the fact that we were in Meribel in the first week of the summer season (so most of the village was still closed), we chose to eat in the hotel's restaurant in the evenings. We weren't disappointed. The menu changed every day and was consistently excellent. The breakfast buffet was also very good, particularly given that the hotel was pretty quiet while we were there, again due to it being the first week of the summer season. There was plenty of food and plenty of variety, The hotel also has a pleasant and comfortable bar/lounge, although we did find the drinks in there to be rather expensive compared to other local establishments.

All of the hotel staff that we met during our stay were friendly, helpful and generally excellent.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend the Hotel Yeti and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly59CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have had the pleasure of staying at Le Yeti for six years for a long week every March.
What do you seek in a ski hotel? Ski-in…..ski-out. This is it. Set high on the slopes above Meribel Village at Rond Point you are mid-point from the Village and the peak of Saulire, the crossover to Courchevel. Ski out the door, take a lift up and go over to Courchevel or ski down and go up the other side of Meribel and over the top to Val Thorens and Les Menuires. Meribel is the center valley of the Trois Vallees and this hotel is soooo convenient to all the Vallees.
There are many hotels in Meribel, but what makes this hotel special are the proprietors, Sophie and Frederic. They have created a unique ambience of comfort and of elegance. Rooms are spacious and decorous. The public rooms and dining room combine mountain rusticity with bold, but yet subtle tasteful color. You could not feel more at home here.
But better yet…. the cuisine. Many of our friends complain that fine French cuisine is hard to come by in Paris. Now I know why. Fine French Cuisine is here at Le Yeti. Five course meals are served nightly. Nothing is amiss. Every course is a feast for the eyes, so much so that you hate to lay knife and fork to your plate least you destroy the image. Every course is a culinary masterpiece from soup to dessert. One could wax on and on. But simply put I cannot imagine anywhere else where you can dine so sumptuously and consistently.
Love this place and can’t imagine it’s equal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#9 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Allodis
Hotel Allodis
#3 of 33 in Meribel
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
Hotel Alpen Ruitor
#5 of 33 in Meribel
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Helios
Hotel L'Helios
#7 of 33 in Meribel
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Chaudanne
Hotel La Chaudanne
#11 of 33 in Meribel
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Yeti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Yeti Hotel

Address: Le Rond Point des Pistes, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Price Range: $376 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Yeti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is superbly situated in the Méribel ski resort at the “Rond Point”, a strategic spot where you will find the ski school, the “jardin d’enfants”- a special ski school for 3 to 6 year olds, chairlifts, a spot to buy your ski pass and direct access to all the skiing in the 3 Valleys. Relaxation SpaceSauna, Steam Room, Jet powered shower, Massage, Fitness Center. Opening (scheduled ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing