We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, warm and comfortable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
london
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, warm and comfortable accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay and blown away by the location of these apartments - ski in, ski out as right on the slopes (a green run down to Mottaret right outside the ski school). For a family of five the apartment was absolutely fine - 3 kids in the bedroom and adults sleeping in the living room. Kitchen facilities more than adequate - two ring hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and dishwasher, so we ate well. The supermarket on site is small but adequately stocked, maybe pricier than others, but very convenient and did us just fine. Underfloor heating very warm and plentiful hot water. Maybe not the place if it's après ski you're after, but absolutely fantastic location for the slopes, especially with kids (avoiding the schlep to the slopes with ski boots etc). Cheap and cheerful. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    36
    31
    19
    21
See reviews for
61
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just got home from a holiday at this resort with 3 friends, was staying in an apartment for 2-5 people.

If you're expecting a lot from the apartment, you will be disappointed! It is very basic and very cramped for 4 people. There is a sofa bed in the living area ('single' sofa with single pull out bed underneath) and then a separate room with a bunk bed and single bed beside it. There isn't much storage space, particularly for those staying in the living area - there are a few shelves and that's it. You are very much all living on top of one another, but if you're not bothered about accommodation then this place is fine. The apartment gets very cold so make use of the radiator! Whilst the condition of the apartment isn't very good, it is clean which is the main thing. Also a microwave and dishwasher which is helpful for quick cooking and cleaning!

The location of the apartment is great as it is on the slopes - a two minute walk across the apartment blocks and you're there.

There's not a lot on offer at night, unless you get the free (and frequent) bus to Meribel where there's a lot to do - bar crawls, live music etc. The buses back from Meribel stop at 11.45pm and a taxi back is about 30 Euros.

We didn't really need the hotel staff assistance during our stay so can't really comment on that. However, at the end of the holiday when checking out, we were asked if we had booked an appointment for our room to be checked - which we hadn't - the only place there is a sign letting you know you should do this is by reception (if you're skiing all day you are never there). You need to book this by Thursday before departure to ensure the return of your deposit. Otherwise, as we have had to do, you will receive an email letting you know if you have been charged or not.

There's a small supermarket on site, prices aren't bad there at all. We took as much food with us as possible (pasta, rice, risotto, sauces etc) so we didn't have to spend too much once there. There's a couple of small restaurants but didn't ever see them particularly busy! As previously mentioned, head to Meribel for more of a 'buzz'.

Great place to go for skiing, apartment does it's job!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The apartments at the Hameau may be a little tired and frayed at the edges but they remain some of the best placed in the whole of the Three Vallees. The Hameau is piste side so you can ski almost literally to and from your front door. It's not the Ritz but you're not paying Ritz prices. It is clean enough, warm, and adequately equipped for people who are essentially there to ski.

Mottaret is located at the head of the middle valley so access to most of the main ski areas is available within one lift. The entire ski domain is of course vast and you'd be going some to cover it all in one week.

If it's night life you're after Meribel might be a better bet. But if you're there to ski and are happy to eat, read and sleep in the evenings Mottaret takes a lot of beating. The Crocodile bistro in the Hameau complex offers a traditional looking apres ski atmosphere and some of the best happy hour prices around. Frank at Hameau Sports will cheerily provide you with top equipment at very reasonable prices. We're just back from the Hameau after our fifth visit in as many years. We know what to expect and we're not disappointed.

A shopping tip. If you're staying in the Hameau you'll likely be doing most of your own meal preparation on the basic kitchen facilities. If possible, buy all your groceries on the way up from Moutiers at the Super U on the main road. Much better prices than those available in the station itself where the market is rather captive. The Super U is where the chalet boys and girls go for their food.

Room Tip: The apartments facing the valley have a spectacular view over Meribel. The couloir apartments stare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeD186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Upon arrival we had to wait to check in for about 2 hours, and upon getting in to the room it was quite tight for 5 males sharing. Having said that if you unpack and use the cupboard space and keep on top of tidying it is manageable. The location in relation to the slopes is FANTASTic and the ability to ski in is ideal after a days riding. there are gondolas running to and from mottaret, and buses running to and from Meribel which is handy. They secured but never charged a deposit which was handy to avoid being charged any foreign transaction charges. pricing having never been to France cannot do a comparison but found it to be reasonable for a resort. There is a local supermarket some restaurants and shops for equipment. if you are looking for a lively drinking hole then bus to Meribel is the option which is free. If you wanna stay on till the early hours of the morning then a cab will cost 27 EUR. I would definitely return to this resort if it was family or a couples holiday but may be tempted to stay in Meribel centre if it was lads holiday.

Overall though for £300 this was an absolutely fantatsic stay and all came back very happy!

Room Tip: Look when check in times are and potentially plan flight around to save waiting they have a room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Three of us have just recently returned from the New Year week, spent in Le Hameau Apartments. And our impression was that, as many have already - somewhat ironically, and perfectly accurately - indicated, you do, indeed, 'get what you pay for'. But let's just expand that familiar phrase a little into its component parts - which I think, reasonably, include reflections on the location, the standard of the accommodation and the standard of the service that one necessarily has to experience while staying in the accommodation.

The LOCATION was excellent: a very short tramp - from anywhere in the cluster of stocky wood buildings that comprises Le Hameau - sees you onto a (green) piste leading directly into Mottaret - literally two minutes. Boarders might want to note that the first 100 yards of that neighbouring piste is pretty flat - so you'll need to walk or to scoot to the start of the first 'catchable' descent. It's also worth noting that the said descent gets pretty icy, scratchy, pretty quickly.

The ACCOMMODATION: Unless you're nonchalantly accustomed to spending your winters skiing/boarding while staying in the most high end chalets of Aspen, Whistler and Verbier, etc. (in which case you won't be reading this anyway), then you'll likely find these apartments perfectly appropriate and acceptable. Our one-bedroom apartment was solid, warm, appointed with very good storage space, and the balcony overlooking the car park looked down-valley to Meribel. Others we met did have an issue with the fact that their views were less impressive, being onto only the quads between the buildings. The kitchen area was small, but perfectly workable; there was only a two-ring hob, but also a microwave - so Masterchef was out, Ray Mears/undergrad days were in. We managed very easily by thinking ahead, planning some obvious dishes and doing a big shop at the Spar down in Meribel at the start of the week, followed by a few top-ups from the local store, just rear of Le Hameau's Reception. There were blankets in abundance, and bar the reverberations from the metal stairs, things were pretty quiet at night, so good sleep was easily achievable. However: we booked a one-bed in the hope of getting a twin/double bed for the adults, separate from the kid (lounge for you, mate!), so we suspected a soupçon of misrepresentation in the literature when we then discovered that the one-bed apartment's separate bedroom comprised a single bed and a double bunk. No adult action happening there, then - especially when your kid totally lunges at the prospect of bunks, as opposed to the lounge sofa single bed or the pull-out single bed underneath it. (That's, effectively, five single beds in total.) So, take-home message is, pleantynof sleeping space, but for couples with kids/mates it's a case of limited nooky opportunity.

The STAFF SERVICE: Your only interactions with Staff at Le Hameau are likely to be upon arrival and departure, with possibly a brief, doomed, period of attempting to elicit arrangements for departure thrown in the day prior to departure. These interactions are important. So... It didn't help that the limited number of available Reception Staff were, at best, vaguely polite but totally frazzled; middlingly, vague; at worst, utterly uninterested, rude, arrogant - and all with very poor English. (The last of those points is, arguably, 'our' issue, not theirs - but given our cultural arrogance and expectations, it's worth noting, especially for those whose French amounts to only "Ou est Le Bar, innit?!") The arrival/check-in queues were a misery: at least an hour, after a half day's travel, standing in a squashed mash-up of stinking, dripping others; then, the inevitable confrontation with pissed-off Reception Staff dismally intoning their long-practised mantra: "Your room is still being cleaned; you can't get the keys for another two hours..." Then the re-gathering of aforementioned queue for aforementioned purpose. Then the handing over of €300 (or card details amounting to such) for the infuriatingly unclear deposit. Upon check-out, the challenge was to establish what were the required conditions for the return of the deposit, how would it be returned and when would it be returned (or not charged). No Staff was able to provide a clear answer, and all answers were irritable and dismissive.

So: great resort, great location, good accommodation, absolutely abysmal service. But: infuriating as most of them were, it wasn't too difficult to sympathise with the Staff. They were too few, trying to manage too many. However, the danger of such (due) sympathy is that many visitors might not bother to address the issues creating such crap conditions for Staff, that result in their being as generally miserable and unhelpful as they are. Our impression was that whatever management is operating here is lazy, incompetent, arrogant and uninterested. It is happy simply to ride with customers' frustrations while milking as much profit as possible, taking no care to change its practices while relying on our forgetting quickly and/or not bothering to complain. I think we should complain: we're paying, and they're getting very good money! It would not hurt them or tax their thinking too much, to design more-efficient arrivals and departures systems, and to be more clear and reassuring about their deposit request and arrangements for deposit return. If we don't complain, then they will carry on exactly as they are. Hell, why would they bother changing: we're paying for their own luxury ski apartments, their own season passes, their own big silver 4x4s, their own other properties, their own city pads, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LondonMarkyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've now stayed at Le Hameau over 3 times and keep coming back because it is good value, clean, comfortable and very convenient. We love being able to put on our skis, take a few steps over to the piste and be on our merry way. Coming back from a day skiing is also great because you can ski right up to the entrance. We like the self catering aspect because there are great shops in the complex and the kitchenette is perfect for rustling up a small meal. We always get a 4-bed room for the two of us - they are quite compact so I wouldn't want to share it with any more people. We only come in low season and there are times when you need to wait at reception - they are friendly but very laid back and nothing is urgent even when there is a big queue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidKlaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Certainly don't share some of the very negative experiences here. Stayed for a week in Jan 2012, having previously stayed in pricier locations in Mottaret. For a family of 4, the 2 bedroom unit with mezzanine was fine. Not as highly specced out as Les Crets where we stayed the year before, but perfectly OK and certainly not visibly grubby.
You have to pick up your bedding from reception and make your beds up on arrival, as well as taking them down when you leave. All the usual equipment was there in the kitchen.
You book this kind of accommodation for the location though, and there isn't anywhere better from the slopes....you are right on the main run just above Mottaret base, with plenty of options to get home at the end of each day. 100% ski-in/ski-out.
Getting down into Mottaret is easy enough by bus or by the small cable car. There is a decent supermarket on site, and ski hire options.
The ski lockers are on the small side....our apartment could have slept about 7....the locker certainly couldn't have held 7 sets of skis/boots/helmets.

Room Tip: Like most ski apartments....it's sometimes worth booking a unit designed for more people than ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
0.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
1.7 mi away
Maeva Residence Le Peillon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#10 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret

Property: Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret
Address: Le Hameau du Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Hameau Du Mottaret Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing