We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but small!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The good things about Les Ravines - centre of town, escalator to snow slopes 50 metres across street up some steps, stop for free bus across street, restaurants across street (Le Taverne and Le Refuge very good), little supermarche across street. The apartment was clean, toilet was quiet and quick re-cycle, shower over bath good; reading lights provided over the bunk beds. Quiet dish washer, microwave. There's a TV, we did not turn it on at all so don't know what's available on it. Very efficient electric convector heater. Outside our apartment, the four person lift was quiet and quick, we were on the 5th floor.

The not so good - the unsupervised apartment building is prone to be party noisy after midnight, this happened on two of the seven nights we were there; hot water can run out in the evening, this happened once to us at around 7 pm, but OK all other times in late afternoon when we came in after skiing. Cooking facilities basic, we didn't use them, no electric kettle of course ... what is it about the French and electric kettles? and sliced bread that stays fresh for more than a day?! Anyway, we brought along our own travel kettle, we've been to France many times ...

The bad things - the 2-4 person studio is way too small for 4 adults, full stop! Unless you are perhaps four young lads or ladies out on the slopes all day and on the town all night and you just fall into bed when you eventually come in. Otherwise, no way is it comfortable for four adults, two OK, maybe with 1-2 kids who can bunk down. The pull out sofa bed was about 5 feet wide and creaky - we took off the mattress the second night and put it on the floor, much better. Because of the smallness of the room, the four of us (Mum, Dad and adult son and daughter) were aware of the airlessness of the place and had to keep opening the balcony door to let the (freezing cold) air in. There is very little storage space, so two of us operated out of suitcases for the week.

There is mention of a play room and sauna and salon down in the basement and we investigated this, for interest, late on the last afternoon we were there, took the lift down to Etage 0. Emerged into a dim quiet corridor, locked doors everywhere - play room locked, notice about limited opening hours on the door; sauna room locked, notice about booking it on the door; salon and Gents/Ladies door locked. All was as quiet as the grave in that corridor - one sensed that if you fell down dead here it would be some weeks before the receptionist up on the 3rd Floor, morning or early evening shift, would sniff the air and exclaim, 'Oh merde alors! Je pense une autre personne has snuffed it dans le basement.'

So there you are, that's Les Ravines - I'll always remember the sinking feeling the four of us had when we crowded into our tiny 5th floor studio, a very definite uh oh feeling ... we survived the week, just about ... but boy, were we glad to get out of the place! Memo to self - pay a bit more to ensure comfort and be afraid, very afraid of 'special' offers from tour operators.

And just to finish, a true anecdote - on the second last day, we were running out of loo paper (four adults, rich food, wine ...) and my wife asked, in her perfect French, at reception for another roll to see us out. 'Ah no, je regrette, vous have used up votre allocation de papier toliette, vous etes on your own maintenant ...'

You will be pleased to hear that we managed to snaffle a roll off the cleaning ladie's trolley in our corridor - just hope she didn't have to pay for it later!

Room Tip: Four adults should go for the 4-6 bed option.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MossieB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 197 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

It is what it is. Good value for sure.
I searched for many hours looking for the right accommodation for our "lads holiday" and this one had all the core requirements. It isn't the loveliest alpine getaway, but that's not what we were after (nor the other hotel guests). You get what you pay for and realistically you get a lot for the £70 or £90 a night.

Location is right in the centre square of meribel (website photo is deceiving showing all that snow). A short walk across the street puts you on an escalator up the hill to a slight slope leading to lift area. Not exactly 'ski in / ski out' but at least you dont have to drive.

Had bunk beds in the hallway and a pull-out couch to sleep 2. It would have been very cramped with 4 adults + luggage. Condition of the room was average. Not sparkling new, but clean enough.

Biggest drawback is noise. The road out front has a bus stop and taxi stop. These are idling away until midnight. Then around 3am the snowplow (backhoe with tire chains) usually clanks down the street with reversing beeps. Between midnight and 3, you're more than likely going to have young, noisy, foreign neighbors with music or shouting. Whatever. It wasn't horrible, just something to cope with. Headphones help.

Kitchen was really good. Had more than enough dishes and cutlery; also bonus nice-to-haves like peelers, a pitcher, salad spinner, wine carafe etc. TOP TIP, we ordered the week's groceries online from http://www.food-pack-service.eu/ -- which was SUPER convenient and great value. We did not arrive to Les Ravines until after midnight the first day, but the food was already delivered, waiting in boxes out on the porch (nice and cold)..

The room also came with a few basics that I did not expect: dishwasher tabs for the week + washing up liquid. Towels for 4 people and a hoover. Wifi was only 20 euros for a week.

That sums it up. It was great value for money especially considering the location ; I'd consider other options before taking my family there though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robdwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just come back from a skiing holiday in Meribel where we stayed in these apartments.

If you are 18 years old and don’t mind bunking or sleeping on a sofa bed then you will love this place. It has a FANTASTIC location both to the village and to the ski lifts. Meribel is really wonderful.

However, if you’re looking for something with a bit of style and comfort…this isn’t really the place for you. This is classed as a ‘Self-Catering’ apartment but there really aren’t many facilities unless you are happy to microwave everything of have baked beans! Plus be warned there is no kettle.

Check in isn’t until 5pm and they will not hold your bags securely.

If you want a peaceful night’s sleep do not book here. Its popular with young people and it will be noisy at night and into the early hours.

So basically if you want a cheap and basic apartment and you aren’t spending much time there then its fine but if you are looking for more then go for the Le Savoy Hotel next door!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013


This is a hotel review only. The village itself is gorgeous!I recently stayed at the hotel with my wife and 2 children. After a 14 hour drive we arrived a little early (11am) and were told that the room would not be ready until 5pm which we already knew but figured it's worth a try. When we returned we were told that the room was still being cleaned and would be ready in half an hour. Half hour later it was still being cleaned and would be ready in half an hours.. And so it continued until 7pm. When we went to the room we were expecting it to be spotless and gleaming after all that cleaning. We were hit by an overpowering smell of bleach (imagine an old persons care home where bleach had been used extensively to mask other more sinister things). We had a quick tour and the apartment went as follows :- entry into a small corridor with bunk bed to one side, bathroom to the other and a small recess with shelf for storage. The bathroom contained a small but practical bath and mixer shower plus sink and loo. In to the main living area and you are presented with a basic set up. A sofa bed on one side, round table for 4 on the other and a kitchenette in the corner containing twin hob, sink and fridge. also doors to a balcony. We opened a fresh packet of bed sheets to find what appeared to be a large muddy footprint on one and what looked like dribble stains on. Pillow case. These were swapped at reception with no trouble. The veneer on the work top had peeled in places leaving areas of approximately 5cm squared of chip board exposed. Now in we decided on a cup of tea... Ah, no kettle. We went to reception to ask about this basic item and were told that we would need to book the kettle for 24 hours, physically return it the next evening before finding out if we can use it for another night. Same went for the toaster as there weren't enough to go around. If you drive to the location, there is no car park attached to the hotel. The car park is about 200 meters from the hotel and involves flights of steps plus elevator trips so lugging the suitcases up and down was not amusing. The hotel is clearly a budget hotel and seems to attract a budget customer base. From about 8pm until 1130pm ish each night is sounded as if the apartment directly above us was having a drunken disco with loud music, lots of shouting, scamming and loud drunken 'singing' out on the balcony. Not ideal for my 2 & 5 year old.

All of this sounds very negative but if you're looking to stay in meribel on a budget then this hotel certainly doesn't offer 'value' for money but it is probably the cheapest way into what is a highly regarded area of the 3 vallees. Once settles it served a purpose and allowed us to get on with snowboarding which is why we went. There are plenty of shops nearby, plus pubs and resteraunts. The hotel is about 1/4 mile from the lifts which is a bit of a hike with children, but if you're skiing or boarding there is an escalator across the road which takes you to a gentle slope which can be used to access the lifts.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed in an appartment with a mezzanine floor, which can sleep 6, but we had 4 adults, which was just about right. It would have been cramped with more people! We ordered food through the Maeva online food ordering service, which was fantastic. They rang to confirm that they would be delivering 1 hour beforehand. Unfortunately we were still on the motorway, so with our permission they delivered the food in our appartment and put the chilled food in the fridge. Excellent service! Using the food delivery service was so much cheaper than buying food in the resort and saved us loads. The reception staff were really helpful with local information and purchasing swimming pool tickets from the hotel. The ski slope is accessible from the Tourist Information (opposite the hotel), and the return journey we used the resort bus service, which was only a few stops (and dropped us off directly outside the residence), but also saved us walking up the hill after a day of skiing. Try out the pancake place near the Chaudanne, which are with Grand Marnier, which finished the day off lovely :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaniaNwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked knowing all the possible problems after reading the comments. The flat was bigger than we expected thoygh i consider impossible for 6 people as it was said. we were 4 so it fitted ok. the problem is that we got the flat that is located in 4 th floor, so just on the level of the street with our window exactly stuck to taxi stop. We couldnt open the window ever in order not to be seen and the light in the room was horrible, dark and yellow. It is a little problem that could be easily fixed but they seem no to have concern. The bed was also not that comfy. It was clean, it´s really a pity that half of the lamps in our room wouldnt work. Having this problem fixed it would be much better!
All the rest is fine, no rpoblems with hot water, just a bit noisy, but after doing 40 km´s of snow per day you sleep anyway...
Great central location close to everywhere with a big non paid car park just few meters away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna_Koltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Went there in 2010 and returned in April 2012 and Residence Les Ravines keeps on being a best-seller if you are looking for good value for reasonable money.
Residence is indeed extremely well located in the centre of Meribel, with a huge free parking a few hundred meters away. You can be on the ski slopes with less that 5 min walking. The apartments are rather small, but well maintained and the staff at the reception is extremely friendly and customer oriented.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Fred_by_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
2.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
1.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
Hotel-Residence Le Merilys
#13 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#24 of 33 in Meribel
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#14 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines

Address: route Albert Gacon, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
Price Range: $95 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of "The 3 Vallees" In the resort centre Sauna in the residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Les Ravines Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing