We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location the rest is very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Meribel
Reviewed December 30, 2011

-Rented out the apartment for 10 nights
-First and foremost the location of the apartment is very convenient
- we rented out an apartment with a capacity for 4 people (we were only 2) and it was hardly big enough for 2 people.
- All of the extra services mentioned in the accomodation advertisement
did not exist, for example swiming pool, sauna....
-The apartment walls are paper thin...sound isolation needs to be improved, as we could hear everything that happend in corridors and also having the sensation of participating in the conversations of our neighbours
-Locker in the basement for ski equipment was very small
- we had several problems with appliances in the apartment
- we did not have hot water in the apartment at all times
... so in essence apart from the location of the apartment which is absolutelly great, the rest was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel_CC_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 197 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

Stayed here in January 2011 for a week as part of a group of four friends on a snowboarding holiday. We were trying to keep costs to a minimum and this was pretty much the cheapest we could find in Meribel.

Our main concern before booking was that our apartment was officially for four but that a lot of reviews had said it wouldn't accommodate that number comfortably. While it certainly wasn't luxurious, it was fine and functional for our needs.

We had bunks in the hall-way and a fold out double in the living room/diner. There's a fair bit of innovative storage space and with a bit of common sense and organisation we were fine.

Kitchen was your alpine standard, couple of rings and a microwave with a grill in it - we managed fine. Decent sized balcony as well for a chill after getting in. Also good for chilling down beers!

Ski room is in the basement but there's a lift so that's no bother. Getting four boards and four pairs of boots in the locker wasn't the easiest but was possible with a bit of creative thinking.

Location wise it was ideal. You cross the road and head up an escalator and you're just above the main area where the lifts begin. Just over the road you have a small supermarket and there's a bigger one down the road (5-10 minute walk).

The free shuttle bus stops literally outside and you aren't more than three minutes from various lively bars.

Ticks the box on bargain accommodation if you're after somewhere cheap to eat and sleep.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank gamble999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed here in February, I love Meribel and the location of the hotel is very good. However, the noise of drunken groups of youngsters roaming the hallways at night made getting a good nights sleep virtually impossible. There are no staff in the building at night to supervise what goes on. The staff there duing the day just say that you should ring the police during the night to complain about the noise. Its not really good enough, the management should take more responsibility. Probably best to avoid this hotel if you want to be able to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay in Maeva Residence Les Ravines. We are pleased that you enjoyed the residence and its location. We regret that you experienced noise throught the night, we have a "no noise after 10pm" policy at our residences but regret that there can still be disturbances caused by outside noise, and we apologise that in this case our staff did not enforce this policy. We hope this apology goes some way to compensating for the negative points within your review, please rest assured that your feedback has been logged and passed on to the management team of the residence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Really good location but as others point out it is very easy to run out of hot water if not careful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkJALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the central location. We are sorry to hear your comments about the hot water availability. We have logged your feedback and will pass them on to head office and the manager of the residence. We strive to improve our facilities and over all customer experience so thank you again for your feedback, and hope you choose to stay with us the next time you are in France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Having read the other reviews about these apartments we did realise that they were not going to be large, however, did not realise just how compact they would be.

The apartments have a fold down bed in the living area along with a table and four chairs, which also joins onto a small kitchen area. In the alcove are bunk beds with the bathroom directly opposite.

The kitchen only has two cooking rings along with a microwave which includes a grill so not great for cooking meals. There is a large fridge and also a dishwasher which was handy.

The apartments appear to have been renovated and everything was clean but for two adults and one teenager there was only just enough room. Not sure how it would be space wise for four people.

A television is also supplied in the apartment at no charge.

Our apartment was on a high floor and looked out to the back of the resort which meant you had no noise at night. The apartments are right in the middle of Meribel so close to everything.

You are asked to clean the apartment when you leave, if not you can pay around 30 euros to have this done for you.

No major complaints about the apartment apart from the size which I felt was a bit expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank M22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2010

Many thanks for your review. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused by the room you were assigned. When researching their next holiday, we urge customers to look at both Tripadvisor and our website as it is there that they can find exact dimensions, room layout and facilities available in the residence. We also urge customers who are traveling with families or groups to upgrade to a bigger berth room to suit their needs. We hope that aside from this you enjoyed your stay and ski break at the resort. We sincerely hope you choose to stay at one of our resorts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Les Raviens as previously highlighted are at the heart of Meribel. The location places you within 2 minutes of an escalator that allows you to quickly ski down to Chaudanne each morning and gain access all of the main lifts. It also places you within 2 minutes walk of Le Pub, Scott's and La Taverne Each of which has it's own charms of an evening. Le Pub tends to have the best quality music of a night but entertainment can be had in each and is of decent quality.

Back to the apartments though. Three of us shared a type C room, which had bunk beds and a pull out sofa double bed. Room was tight and there is little or no space to store your luggage. There was only one cupboard and it wasn't big enough to put any luggage once you had decanted your belongings to the minimal shelving on offer.

It is true that we were there to ski and spent a lot of time out of the apartment. However, if after a long day you want to kick back and find your feet again, then the one two person sofa doesn't really allow you to do this.

The kitchen was small, but was equipped with a double hob, microwave with grill and decent fridge. It also had a slimline dishwasher, so no problems with just filling it up switching on and having everything clean when you return from the slopes.

Not made obvious to us before travel, is that you need to take your own towels, or else, you can hire bath and hand from reception at 8 euros per person. There is a service charge of 35 euros to have your room cleaned at the end of the week, or else the expectation is that you clean up after yourself (hoover, dust pan and brush are supplied).

Overall, great for 3 guys on a ski trip. If you intended to spend a lot of time in the apartment then you may find it a little basic. Location is ideal though and gave easy access to Meribel's night life.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Popey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

location:
on the main street of the village. To get to the slopes you have to walk up the hill about 70 meters to the escalator which brings you to the slope from where you can ski down to the main lifts station. On your way back from the slope it is not possible to ski to the door, you have to take the same escalator down. The Casino supermarket is in front of the apartments.
apartments:
rooms are clean and fully equipped (all necessary dishes, 2 hot plates, microwave, dishwasher). there are one sofa which turns into duble bed and one duble-decker bed. The room is of good size for 2 people, but for 4 it would be crowded.
Be careful that hot water is limited and you may run out of it just when taking shower. It is not a big problem for 2 people in the room - we never run out of it completely.
They do not provide towels - you can rent them.
Be aware that in the apartment you can hear all noise from the hall. If you happen to have noisy neighbours you would know when they come and go.
The ski lockers are not that big - you can put there 4 skis but only 2 boards.
overall
+ good location, clean, nice people on the reception, good value for money
- no towels, limited hot water, possibly noisy

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meribel hotels
1.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
1.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#24 of 33 in Meribel
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#7 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence-Club Odalys Le Hameau du Mottaret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines

Address: route Albert Gacon, 73550 Meribel, Les Allues, France (Formerly Maeva Residence)
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues > Meribel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
Price Range: $90 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of "The 3 Vallees" In the resort centre Sauna in the residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Les Ravines Hotel Meribel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing